Fruits and Veggies Monday - Plant Based Veggie Lasagna

I had bought rice lasagna noodles awhile ago with the intention of making lasanga. I never did get around to it. So I though Family Day was the perfect day to give it a try. I decided to go with a Spinach lasagna found in the Forks Over Knives app but can also be found here. This lasagna was 100% home made. I started by making my own pasta sauce with a little help from a website found here a couple hours in advance. I of course added way more veggies than it called for. I even snuck in a while bunch of veggies in my sauce. The recipe had a home made ricotta, I just needed vegan parmesan. I went to work and found an almond recipe at One Green Planet. This lasagna was so delicious. Everyone enjoyed it, including the kids. It was a full serving of veggies if not more and super filling. I will definately be making this again!

image

image

image

image


**RECIPE**

RICOTTA:

Ingredients:

• 12 oz silken tofu
• 1 lb firm tofu
• 2 tsp minced garlic
• 1/4 Cup nutritional yeast
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 1/2 tsp pepper
• 1 tbsp parsley
• 1 tsp basil
• 1 tsp oregano
• 1/4 cup lemon juice
• 1/4 cup almond milk

Directions:

  1. Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Set aside.

SAUCE:

Ingredients:

• 1 medium yelliw onion diced
• 6 cloves garlic diced
• 2 celery stalks diced
• 1 carrot shredded
• 1/2 zucchini shredded
• 6 broccoli heads diced
• 1/4 cup vegetable broth
• 1/2 yellow pepper diced
• 1/2 red pepper diced
• 3 mishrooms diced
• 1 tbsp basil
• 2 tsp oregano
• 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
• 2 tsp coconut sugar
• 1 can tomatos whole pre cut
• 2 small cans of tomato paste
• 1/2 tsp salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Put 3 tbsp of water in a sauce pan over medium heat. Add onions and cook for 2 mins. Add in garlic and cook for another 2 min. Slowly add all veggies cooking for 1 min betweeb additions.

  2. Add in all spices and mix. Cook for another minute

  3. At tomatos and paste and cook for another 2 minutes

  4. Add sugar and cook for another minute.

  5. Reduce heat to low. Continue to simmer for 2 hours, stirring frequently.

PARMESAN:

Ingredients:

• 1 cup almons
• 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
• 1 tsp garlic plus
• 1/2 tsp of sea salt

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to a food processor and pulse until mixed and finely ground.

LASAGNA:

Ingredients:

• rice lasagna noodles
• pasta sauce
• steamed spinach
• ricotta
• parmesan

Directions:

  1. Spread 1 cup of pasta saice in bottom of casserole dish

  2. Add one layer of noodles on the sauce.

3 spread on half the ricotta.

  1. Spread on half the steamed spinach.

  2. Spread on 2 more cups of pasta sauce. Then another layer of noodles.

  3. Add the rest of the ricotta and them the rest of the spinach.

  4. Add another layer of noodles and spread remaining sauce on top of noodles

  5. Sprinkle with parmesan.

  6. Bake in oven for 60-70min!

  7. Serve and enjoy!


Sort:  

A lot of work, but it looks well worth it!

Its sure was.

This looks great! Do you use the forks over knives app a lot? We have the free recipes, but we weren't sure if it was worth subscribing to.

Yes we only cook from home. Hardly ever eat processed. So we use the app and the cookbook daily. One other cookbook I have and love is called Plant-Powered Families. Very worth it. New recipes all the time too.

that is super interesting you used tofu in this recipe. I have never had it before. I do make a mean white lasagna tho I do use chicken in it however.. tip!

Yes the tofu makes the ricotta dairy free. It was very good too.

I am coming for lunch tomorrow, I hope you have some left, lol. Nevertheless, I am bookmarking this recipe for later. Absolutely amazing!!! Thank you so much for sharing it with us Dear @skye1 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

You are most welcome. You will not be disappointed when you do try it. Very satisfaying! Its a far trip I am sure just for some lasagna! Lol 😂

Looks very tasty:) I love lasagna but for me it takes to many time to prepare it:( But I know that from time to time it is worth to prepare such delicious meal;)

Very true. It has veen a long time for lasagna. The last time I had it, I bought it packaged from a store full of dairy. I dont think I have ever in my life had such a great lasagna!

We had also Lasagna at the weekend. It was really delicious. We should plan to do it more often. Your's looks great.

Thank you 😊

Ohhhhhh....that definitely looks yummy ...you got any left over :))

Darn it was too good and the kids ate every last bit 😂🤣 I will have to make more for next time! 😉

Haha....kids know good food..lol

Hi @skye1! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @deadgrlsuppastar :)

@deadgrlsuppastar wrote lately about: Mono Chrome Monday. Feel free to follow @deadgrlsuppastar if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66