What to buy in March ~ FruitsAndVeggiesMonday ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ๐ŸŠ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

It's March finally and here comes my monthly "What to buy in ... " post. I'd love to inspire people around the world to by local grown foods and things that are in season in their soil, which of course differs from region to region.ย 

This article takes part at @lenasveganliving weekly #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest. It's always a pleasure to watch all the beautiful entries inspired by this contest. Everyone who would love to participate should know about the rules and read Lenas original post here: STEEMIT FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡.

So officially calendrical spring started but it's still cool and not so many things are growing yet. If you really want to buy locally, not so much changed compared to February or January. Thankfully many fresh grown and colorfull vegetables coming from Italy already. I mix my shopping list: locally, mostly things from storage and fresh stuff from not too far away like Italy, Netherlands or Spain ...ย 

But this is my list of thing that I really locally in season (or from storage). Because I got bored a little bit I pimped the frames of the photos to give the veggies a twist ... ๐Ÿ˜‰

ร„pfel - apples: they really saved my life during winter! Thankfully there are so many different, locally grown, old and new, sorts on the german markets. It's amazing how different apples can taste. I prefer juicy, tart and crispy but not too hart sorts. Yummy!

Rot- und WeiรŸkohl, Rosenkohl, Chinakohl, Wirsing - red and white cabbage, brussel sprouts, chinese cabbage, savoy cabbage

Champignons, Austernpilze, Rosella, Shiitake - button mushrooms, oyster mushrooms, rosella and shiitakeย 

Sellerie, verschiedene Arten von Rรผbchen, Rote Beete, Pastinake, Karotten, Kartoffeln und Rettich - celery, different kinds of turnips, beetroots, parsnips, carrots, potatoes, and radishes

Lauch, Feldsalat, Chicorรฉe, Kรผrbis, Zwiebeln, Spinat - leek, lambs lettuce, chicory, pumpkin, onions, spinach

What I always "need" during the cold grey months are oranges and tangerines, no matter that they are not local. They don't grow in Germany, they just don't. But I really crave them in winter. I guess I need that vitamins and the color that reminds me of a warm summer day ... โ˜€๏ธ๐ŸŠโ˜€๏ธ

Thank you for reading my post! It would make me very happy if you enjoyed it! โ˜€๏ธ

Sort: ย 

Your post has been featured in the first issue of the brand new Make It Healthy Project Magazine! Many thanks for sharing such a great post, it's invaluable to the Steemit community (and perhaps even the world!)

Thank you so much! I just noticed ... ๐Ÿ’š

Awwwwwwwwwwww, Sweetie, your March edition is here and full of hearts. Oh my, I love love your presentation so much and of course the content as well. Well done my Dear as always. Thank you so much ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

PS: I reblogged but I have to wait until tomorrw to upvote, because I am really running low.

โ˜บ๏ธ โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ

Hmm Brussels sprouts.... love your post and the heart shapes. Never saw red daikon radishes before. I bet they taste great! Have a lovely new week! And happy start of the spring. Hopefully not too cold in Germany!

It's getting milder every day ...
I love brussel sprouts as well and yeah - I too discover so many different (new to me) varieties of colorful ar different shaped vegetables recently. It's so interesting!

Hi @pusteblume, I have updated my Split Green gram sprouts recipe post as you requested. You can check that out. I have mentioned some additional and optional ingredients as well.

If anyone share his recipe pic in comments which he prepared after reading my post. I will upvote some of the comments.

https://steemit.com/foodphotography/@foodyshoody/sprouts-recipe-healthy-and-delicious-food-for-breakfast-foodphotography

Oh really? Thank you so much ! I am going to check that later today? Have a wonderful day! ๐Ÿ’š

I am going to check if my waste free shop around the corner sells mung beens. Then I will make my own sprouts... The other ingredients I should have at home. What is the special thing about this chaat masala?

You are from germany ? If yes then you can find chaat masala on https://www.amazon.de/s/ref=nb_sb_noss/257-4507219-1178446?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=mdh+chaat+masala

I have used MDH company's chaat masala which is very famous in India. This is https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005HSOWK4 MDH chaat masala link .

You can use this on raw fruits, mix in curd, salads etc.

Tausend Dank! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Thank you tons!

I love the "pimped" version of your frames. ๐Ÿคฃ And always wonderful to see you advocate for the local farmers!! We're getting close to Spring now!

Yeah, I am really looking forward to this! Today was the first day I'd call 'mild' and springlike. But the nights are still cold. When I cycled home at nine after my yoga class tonight I was happy about my hat, gloves and scarf. I can't wait for my April post. I bet, it's going to burst with new fresh veggies!

Hi Sofia, ich kannte dich schon von Youtube, wusste aber gar nicht, dass du auch auf Steemit unterwegs bist. Ich werd dir auf jeden Fall folgen. Deine Posts sind wirklich wunderschรถn und professionell. Ich kann wirklich eine Menge von dir lernen. Liebe GrรผรŸe nach Thailand, Nadine

Thanks for sharing some amazing seasonal ingredients to buy in March. When I see the fruit options, I'm glad that I'm in Southeast Asia right now :) Upvoted and resteemed โ™ฅ

Hehehe! I mean, one can buy so much more different fruits. But they come a more or less long way and this post is about regional and seasonal ... so an apple everyday ... ๐Ÿคฃ

Hehe sure, I got it :) But even when you buy exotic fruit in Europe, they never taste as good as here unfortunately. After traveling SEA for such a long time, I really appreciate a good old apple from Germany :)

I see and totally understand! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Excellent post! Thank you! I love the frames in this post! :)

Thank you, hun! ๐Ÿ˜˜

be in love with this post! all fruits and vegetables look so fresh ideal for cooking and preparing a delicious meal

Don't they? Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š

mmmh lecker, das mag ich alles ๐Ÿ˜‹

Dann ist es auch nicht so schlimm, dass wir noch bisschen auf das frische regionale Grรผnzeug warten mรผssen! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21