FruitsAndVeggiesMonday ~ Crispy Sesame Tofu on Salad

Who says Tofu has to taste like a mushy sponge? Not in this house! I made a fresh and colorful salad from mixed lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, radishes, avocado, olives and couscous topped with beautiful slices of tasty and crispy tofu and here is the way how I made them ...

I am coming back after a few weeks break to this wonderful food challenge called fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated by @lenasveganliving, the charming and likeable lady with lots of vegan recipe ideas. It's nice to see you all again.

Crispy ovenbacked tofu

I took a thick block of extra firm tofu and pressed it for a few hours between two cutting boards with a stable of cooking books on top.

I cut the tofu in three cornered slices - about 1cm thick.

I seasoned the tofu slices from both sides with a spice mix of salt, ground capsicum, mustard seeds, onions, tumeric, coriander, chilies, cumin, celery seeds, fenugreek seeds, fennel seeds, bay leave and some sugar.

I covered the tofu slices with cornstarch after dipping them in oatsmilk.

The last step to prepare the tofu is to turn it in a mixture of breadcrumbs and white and black sesame seeds.

I spread the tofu on a wire rack covered with backing paper and placed it in the preheated oven (180 degrees Celsius) and backed it for 10 minutes each side until golden brown. I served them immediately on top of the already prepared salad plate. Yummy!

The sauce I served on top of the tofu is Amba - a tangy mango pickled condiment (popular in thr Indian, Saudi, Iraqi and Israeli cuisines) A nice sriracha would work as fine.

And now enjoy!

I wish all my vegan food lovers a wonderful week and don't forget to eat your fruits and veggies!

Sort:  

Soooo yammie :) .... hmmmmm

It was! Thank you!

Good to see you my Dear, it's been a while. This is soooooo yummy; definitely my kind of food. I never heard of Amba before and it sounds amazing..........must try for sure 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you! 😊 We buy our Amba at the arabic food store ...

I am absolutely going to have to try tofu like this! That texture looks fantastic! Might have to put that on the menu next week...

You definitely have to. I think I will make this on a regular base now. Maybe with different spices or I marinate the tofu bevor covering with the crumbs and stuff ... Thank you my friend! 😊

This salad looks amazing. I really have to try the baked tofu...it looks very yummy! What a great post @pusteblume :) Glad you're back

Thank you so much for your warm welcome! I am glad too! I missed this happy little contest a lot!

Beautiful plating. I have never been able to get into tofu yet, perhaps I haven’t had it prepared right but your dish makes me want to try it again. I love the touch of sesame seeds too. Great job 👏.

I must say it took me a while too to like tofu. Everytime I tried some I prepared it wrong and the result was not very satisfying. What I always loved was raw smoked tofu on bread and topped with mustard or cooked in dishes that go well with the smoky taste like potato or bean soups. The first secret is to press out all the water first. I watched a lot of YouTube videos before I found myself some ways to prepare it yummy. I also like fermented tofu or tempeh. Maybe you try this too...

I haven’t tried tempeh yet either, although, I see it on many menus. I might have to watch a few YouTube videos myself and have a crack at preparing tofu. We’ll have to see. Thank you for igniting my tofu curiosity again. :).

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-20T23:29:21
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 795.18/800.00
Total Photos: 88
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29