Suck On This Fukkers : Fruits and Veggies Monday

Hola mi amigos y amigas!

I couldn’t let another Monday come and go without throwing down some Fruits and Veggies stuff. I know I missed the last few weeks and can see lots has happened since I last danced in @lenasveganliving ‘s Fruitsandveggiesmonday .

First of all, you got the almighty @plantstoplanks hosting, did y’all catch that she published her own cookbook? Yeah, she’s pretty big time. Then, you have a gang of new contenders like @paleotwist, making noise with her chronic tacos and her newbie rep. She puts out a bunch of actifit posts too, letting us all know that she’s a bad mama-jama!

I also see @fitinfun has joined the crew and is this weeks honorable judge. “Way to go my friend. It’s about time you got in on this Monday funday”.

And I’m just sitting over here cooking up a storm but not actually documenting anything… what’s my problem? Well, I did document this one thing and hopefully it’ll suffice for my big debut back into the coolest contest for any Monday.

425200F3-A5D1-48CF-B36E-4F8DBF1A89E7.jpeg

Quinoa Crusted Veggie Pizza

Mrs. @cicisaja, this is for you…

As some of you may know, I’m on a pretty restrictive diet lately due to some digestive issues, which has really cramped my cooking/creating style. That is until we settled a bit in Costa Rica and I got all inspired again. Yeah, I have to get more creative than usual but I say “game on britches”.

Back to the pizza… First, you want to soak about a cup of quinoa in 2-3 cups of water. Just pour those little suckers into a bowl the night before you want the pizza. Yea, yea, yea, I know, this pizza takes a little foresight.

86294B36-8572-46F4-806D-18E6540128B7.jpeg

Cover with plastic wrap, set in the fridge and enjoy your sweet dreams of gluten free pizza crust 😉.

Ingredients

Crust:

1 Cup Quinoa (soaked and rinsed well)
1/2 Tsp. Baking powder
1/2 Tsp. Pink Himalayan sea salt
1/2 Tsp. Garlic powder
1/4 Cup water
1 tbsp. Olive oil

Hold up, wait a minute… Once the Quinoa has soaked over night the crust comes together pretty quickly so let’s take a minute to consider our sauce. Of course it has to be from scratch and since @dandays and I just bought a 10lb. bag of tomatoes from a dude on the side of the road, I’d guess it’s going to be a tomato sauce.

62750083-59C0-4B45-8F9C-A5A8A74DA7D9.jpeg

Look at these juicy little bites of red perfection. I must say, Costa Rica knows how to tomato. The flavor is just right.

Now, I’ve shared my tomato sauce in a previous post so if you’re interested you can follow that recipe here. Otherwise, use whatever sauce you fancy…

21BED013-E528-40B2-9291-8B5B951BC96A.jpeg

Remember that thing I said about foresight? So far you need to soak the quinoa the night before, and I like to start my sauce in the morning so it can simmer most of the day. We’ve all watched the sopranos right? Sauce isn’t sauce unless it’s simmered for 48 hrs. 🤷🏼‍♀️ I don’t make the rules. It’s the only way to make real gravy.

Shoot… and did I mention that pizza night also so happened to be granjero del agricultur night? That definitely means what you think it means… farmers market night. Check it out…

772B96FD-3217-4042-A64F-83EC2A757A1A.jpeg

With little in the name of toppings in our refrigerator, I took another break to hit the local farmers market and tantalize my appetite. Of course @dandays joined me, both of us are mesmerized by the local markets here.

C7330C1B-3F09-4530-AFEC-CB0EB1A4DB4E.jpeg

I knew I wasn’t going to put a carrot on our pizza but I definitely wanted to get a picture of these gorgeous looking orange roots. I mean, don’t they look perfect?

E3B1D172-3052-494A-8860-6F4F1313AD57.jpeg

Okay, strawberries aren’t going on the pizza either but what can I say? I get side tracked when it comes to fresh food.

9D7B885F-1DDA-43F7-8A34-6DF726C10AF4.jpeg

The lettuce is a necessity for the amount of salads I’ve been eating lately, but that’s not going on our pizza either.

C6386D3A-3BCA-4E90-9D38-EF46A6A816DB.jpeg

Now, this dude is the man right there. He’s known as Chico Especia a.k.a Spice Guy. I had no idea how spoiled I was in the U.S. with my plethora of spices. The stores here don’t carry my usual roundup so meeting Chico really boosted my cooking game here. By the way, should you ever come across Spice Guy yourself, refrain from calling him Chico Especia. I just made that up and am not sure how cool he’d think that name was. Haha…

… poco de esto y poco de eso… this guy is like magic.

86D11ED8-7F90-4B93-9A31-5C8ECB593154.jpeg

Nope! We aren’t having an avocado pizza either. Would you get a load of that price tag? Hopefully, one day soon the money will stop looking like play money and 3500 colones will have more meaning to me. 🤦🏼‍♀️

02A0E44E-A3BB-48CA-A3F3-2DCF09FC3AA7.jpeg

I mean, it’s the same colors as Monopoly money… moving along…

09C03CFF-AD83-4EC8-BF3D-4E8CFA92E3A4.jpeg

This is our haul… and also this…

FF129B97-83C3-4C77-9F5B-7A7758A28296.jpeg

Surely I can find something to top our pizza with now :).

E3D8827D-8FD8-476E-8ABB-9BEE36BEEBD5.jpeg

Upon getting home I quickly poured some sauce into my ninja to blend smooth because now I’m pretty hungry. Preheat your oven to 400 F while you’re at it.

A5B8C0B8-C503-4C16-9782-D06A033C0FA4.jpeg

Set that aside and grab your soaked quinoa…

B4B3AE40-21BA-4BF1-9103-11FA62A7C7A8.jpeg

Rinse those little guys and use a mesh strainer rather than the colander that I have. I lost some to the oversized holes at the bottom but don’t worry, I McGyver’d a contraption using a dinner plate 🤓.

8D7A0997-D45B-44CA-988F-CCEAE03B0522.jpeg

Add the quinoa and all of the crust ingredients to your food processor and then quickly switch to your blender. My blender worked much better in this situation than my processor. If you like learning the hard way like me, go ahead and start out with your processor. Screw it, dishes shmishes :)

AAD89765-7E22-41E0-AD12-1BFB168D4B54.jpeg

Now pour the pancake like batter on a greased cookie sheet and try to make a heart out of it. C’mon, y’all can see that right? Sprinkle with a little garlic powder and put in the oven for 8 minutes.

E5E6B1E8-3038-4315-92AB-80D163D763FE.jpeg

Flip it over like a crepe (not a creep, a crepe. Pronounced like grape but with a C) and get to work on prepping your toppings.

8470D529-F26C-49EA-B765-DE03E4D08E41.jpeg

There you go, look at all of that goodness!

EF5D5406-E3E9-4EFF-8DDD-7B7B9854301B.jpeg

When the crust is ready, sauce that beast. Don’t be stingy either, give her some love.

32E3353A-F62C-4119-8267-E213EA1FECAE.jpeg

My first layer of topping was a carefully chosen sliced zucchini. Yeah, I know, you can see that heart shape I was telling you about now…

CC6A4C92-8B13-4E14-B46B-518EAFB0AEA9.jpeg

Oh yeah, garlic and basil are my 2nd layer topping. This basil is so good too. I told ya, Chico Especia doesn’t mess around.

6808662D-E323-4A66-BFEF-44FF7A6BB081.jpeg

Hey, the more onions and peppers the better in my book. Did I tell you that we also got a 8lb bag of peppers from the same dude we got the tomatoes from? Yep, so every meal this week has an abundance of peppers and tomatoes in it 🤷🏼‍♀️.

EBE05EED-77AB-41C7-9830-289CA16D3C9F.jpeg

Alright, so layer 4 is getting serious. Without any cheese to hold these veggies in place I carefully and systematically spooned more sauce over layer 3 to give something for layer 4 to adhere to. That broccoli and tomato is going nowhere…

598E137D-717F-4F0C-B07B-49A4ABDFF642.jpeg

Last but not least, I added some spinach and whatever else was left on my prep plate. The only reason I didn’t shake some red pepper flakes on top is because I use that to make my pizza sauce. The kick was there trust me.

80AF7400-2F47-4C60-AC7E-35B934589C16.jpeg

Once in the oven I bake for 8-10 minutes or until the veggies are cooked on top, and assemble two cucumber tomato salads as quickly as I can. I must say, the chopped basil, lime squeeze, shake of pink salt and fresh tomato really make these salads killer.

308B0F59-B289-40BA-89EA-D016C92993D0.jpeg

Would you look at that? A gorgeous pie for two. I cut this masterpiece in quarters and plated us up. We both sat down to gobble it up with a fork and knife and although I’m a huge “you eat pizza with your hands” advocate, this crust is more of a fork and knife situation. Just sayin…

D5A5CAEE-34B8-406B-B041-BD6C0F0F889C.jpeg

Thanks for hanging out with me today. I hope this short and sweet #fruitsandveggiesmonday post has given you a taste of what’s been happening with us during our move so far. I’m looking forward to checking out all of your Monday creations…

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

By the way, should you ever come across Spice Guy yourself, refrain from calling him Chico Especia. I just made that up and am not sure how cool he’d think that name was.

That’s #funny! I stopped reading to come down here and paste that right quick. Ok, I’m going to continue reading now, I’ll be back...

I’m back. Yeah, because $USD looks so ‘real.’ Ok, I’m going reading again now...

Pronounced like grape but with a C

this is pretty fun actually Eh, good one again, chef! Hair cuttin, Food makin, joke tellin chef! I had a crepe give me the creepy eye once... ok, I’ll be back...

Oh maannnn! I just got done rockin #despacito. What a’fa king jam! Whoever don’t like that song don’t like girls. I’m certain that’s the first song i’ll Listen To over and over again and, even just now, I couldn’t stop watching the video and I don’t even know what they’re saying! F’ing jam! <— that reminds me.. iheart the title of this article. 😉 Ok, I’ll be back again..

You’re the baddest chick I’ve ever seen. You’re such a good writer, I’m sure your readers will agree, you’re great at keeping our attention. Even on one that’s a little longer like this, I never skimmed, I was actually looking forward to more external links to click on. Thanks for continuing to post with or without the recognition you deserve. You’re a gangster with a keyboard, you’re witty, you’re constantly curating new talent, you’ve never started a fruits and veggies without giving a shout out to the whole dang community, you engage with your followers and you’re amazing in the kitchen
46C82D9C-8758-4D84-A1C9-CCF3801345F6.jpeg

:repeat: I ♥️ The title.

Great job again beautifullest. I’m the luu.. you know! iheartu all the time. Fun fact: I just typed ^ “I’m the lu”—when I typed the second “U” my autocorrect finished the whole sentence for me!

Get a room!! Totally kidding. I wholeheartedly agree with 99% of your comment. And I love that you both totally rock out amazing and supportive comments on each other's posts! I dig reading the posts anyway, then it's like a little bonus when I get to the comments...😂

Where’s the 1% I lost you? Hey... “1%?!” Huh? 🤔

Thanks for noticing @plantstoplanks, truth is, she’s just as pissed off and frustrated with this platform as I am. I won’t be surprised when she stops posting her recipes, I don’t blame her. Have you registered at Narrative yet? Maybe you get the recognition you believe you deserve so you haven’t heard of it. Anyway, it’s: https://www.narrative.org

Neither one of us can get the same amount of attention on our posts, which we spend multiple-multiple hours putting together as 50% of the people who comment on those posts! We’ll be lucky to draw $0.30 on an entire article but if you go look at the comments on my page, I’ll just refer to mine only, half of the comments to me have twice the Upvotes as my post and worth three and four times as much.

Weee... I’m so motivated. Yay...

Don't worry, the 1% was the husband vibe in the comment. Though I do love your wife, too, it is purely platonic. 😉

I can definitely understand the frustration. That's why myself and the @steemitbloggers fought so hard in that recent delegation poll I know you saw a million posts about last week because there are some killer members in that group that post rad content that is so undervalued. We may not have won the big prize, but I think there is some really good momentum coming out of it between a few of the great communities on here. I'm really hoping it can mean good things going forward for many of us small fries. You never know, but I try to keep a positive vibe going regardless. I think my biggest wish is that my darn vote would count more. I don't care so much about the rewards myself (though some recognition every now and then is validating that I'm sharing something of value)--I've got my golden crew of people I've met on here that mean more to me than any Curie vote--but I hate that even after a year and a half even a full-powered vote is peanuts.

I have not looked into Narrative. I signed up for Whaleshares, but I really don't spend a lot of time on there yet. Only so much time in the day to sit on the computer, so I am finding it hard to engage on more than one platform. Are you both on there? If so, how are you liking it? I'm not opposed to checking out another, if for no other reason than just getting my foot in the door on something that shows promise. I'm still riding the cookbook high, though, so I think a good bit of my energy here in the next little bit will be figuring out my direction for the next one. 😉

Well I can't offer much in the way of monetary rewards, but this may just be one of the longest replies I've ever crafted so there's that...🤷‍♀️😜

I promise you’re not affiliated with any of my frustrations—promise. It’s those comments on the current FAVM article, for example, that are worth more than the actual article that’s hideous.

I have thick skin, plants to planks, it takes a lot to bother me. Disregarding my wife’s time and effort doesn’t count, I have no skin for that. So, when I wake up first thing in the am and see she’s still getting ish on while comments on my articles and your FAVM article are more appreciated than her work I’m like “F this place!” I’m Still a little reserved so I choose to refrain from dropping the F bomb but I think you can tell from Pura Vida’s title she’s beginning to show her frustrations a little more. First she missed a few weeks of posting, she’s currently decreasing her engagement time drastically and now she’s dropping F bombs. All the while, weak a$$ comments are warranting value?!

Narrative is still in launch phase. We’ve been signed up over there for awhile, ever since quillfire turned me into it, they just launched a new phase last week and we actually got to select our screen names so there’s progress. I couldn’t tell you everything about it, Quill knows more but my favorite feature is, get this... 85% of the rewards goes to the content creator <— fascinating concept, right?

I didn’t intend to be a such a crybaby this am, I have a rule for myself where I don’t smoke weed until 7am. Seeing how I’m awake at 4:30, that may be too much time in between to pretend my opinion matters.

For someone who recently posted her lengthiest comment, you’re a natural! 👍🏿 Buenos dias @plantstoplanks. Congratulations on receiving a new set of keys.

edit I can’t make this up! Back there where I said “85% of the rewards” my autocorrect had “tears” instead of “reward!”
C3C9BA15-D30C-4F40-B57B-38BB8B1EFA73.jpeg

Oh, I know the frustration isn't directed at me. I'm a middle child, though, so I tend to try to fulfill the peacekeeper role even when it isn't my place, haha! I'm definitely not above the occasional (or perhaps frequent) f-bomb myself, however.

And I of course love that you stand fiercely by your lady. That's how you know you picked the right life partner, right?

Tears/rewards--same difference. 🤣🤣🤣

Yeah well that’s settled, sweetest comment given to their spouse award goes to @Dandays. And is there really anything else I can say to that? You’re the dopest. I luv you all of the time. Muah

Holy crap!

You two are in monopoly land/paradise!

I want some play money.

Wow!!! Pizza encantadora!!!

Haha… we sure are. Thanks @weirdheadaches! You have a slice at our table anytime :)

This actually brought a tear to my eye.

Monopoly-board-game-money.jpg

Now that is a market haul that makes my veggie loving heart swell with joy! Not to mention I'd fight @dandays for the other half of the pizza. I wouldn't take yours because you totally deserve the fruits (veggies) of your labor. Happy to see jump back on the Monday train! Gotta bookend the working week with the best foodie groups around, right? 😀

Totally! I love fruits and veggies and am shocked to see all of the changes in the last few weeks I’ve been absent. I know you’ll do a fantastic job with it though and hope to see Lena around just as much. I’m sure Dandays would just hand over his 1/2 to you. He’s good like that. Next time you’re in my hood I’ll take you to all of the local farmers markets. I’m sure you’d be just as mesmerized as I am. They sell everything food and I swear it all tastes more vibrant or something. Cheers!

OMG I just went through a box of kleenex...YOU'RE BACK!!!!! Yay! This is an epic post! I don't know where to start....from Chico the spice guy (kind of like Bill Nye the Science guy) Unbelievable pictures, what an amazing farmers market! So did you just buy a commercial fridge for all of these veggies....10 lbs of tomatoes and 8 lbs of peppers, yikes peppers weigh nothing!!!!! You could open a restaurant with this pizza. Nailed it...totally nailed it!!! So glad you're back! :)

Well I may have embellished about the weight of the sack of peppers but it was a big sack. I just kind of stuffed everything in there. When all you have filling your fridge is veggies it’s not so bad fitting everything in there. Yeah, I kind of go a little overboard at the markets. It takes a lot to make a green juice though and that entire haul was less than the equivalent of 35 bucks. Such a deal in my book.

I’m so glad you got the humorous undertones in this post. I was hoping y’all would think it was funny. Chico is a little grumpy man but I’m hoping by the time we leave here I will have broken him down into a new friend. My Spanish is still pretty rough so I may have unknowingly said something inappropriate while asking for coriander or vanilla 🤷🏼‍♀️ This week my goal is to get him to say “hola” with a smile. Fingers crossed :)

Nyumm..nyumm..nyummy 😍 I hate to say that im 7 hours behind to read your post😊 just wake up after a long battling on steemmonsters till 3 am😂😂 and I missed out to post on fruitsandveggiesmonday😈

Look at you having fun with the spices guy.. "chico especia, do you have some thing like bilimbi here?" 😄

Your crust is perfect and look at the toping.. yyaaayy it made my mouth watery.. any kind of pizza.. bring it on!

Thaaaannnkkk you so much @puravidaville 😉 is it the real money?

Of course it’s real money but to me it just looks like colorful paper. When we go shopping I don’t naturally equate the bills with money yet so I bet I tend to overspend. I’m hoping a couple more months and it’ll be “money” that I’m spending again.

The crust turned out great, I wish I could send you a piece. What’s bilimbi? Not only did he have a ton of spices but he had a ton of plants to make spices. I have to know the Spanish name for the spice in order to ask for it. Haha… this time I only got basil but I have a small list for this week. Thanks for stopping by @cicisaja, I’m just glad you made it over after a long nights battle. Surely, we’ll see you next Monday :)

😂😂😂 aahh you should add the spices battle on next FFF with @dandays 😉 who knows I can get involved.. so we will have a bit more fun with more participants

😂😂😂😂
Show me the huckleberry😉

That’s a great idea! Although I need the Spice Fuy to warm up to me first. Haha

😂😂😂 hey I can help you with secret spices, the question is.. how to keep it as secret from your other half😂 I think we both have a really cool stalker😂😂

How much for those avos ? Am I seeing it right? that's nutz!!

It’s 3500 thousand (pronounced million) colones per kilo. So about 1.00 dollar per avocado maybe. I have to say they keep better in the fridge when they’re cut than any other avocado I’ve known. The bigger the better too :)

It's probably the most affordable avo you will find! And for some strange reason I suspect the area to be particularly fit for avocado, Guacamole is South American, or Mexican?
I gotta google it

Guacamole is my perfect superfood. I believe it’s South American/ Mexican/ Latin American in general. So good! It’s one of the only treats I can eat right now.

I need some right now, I gotta make some right noooooooooooow!

That’s what the voice in my head screams to me every frikken day. I often talk about how I’m actively working on my avocado body, that’s why. Haha

Wow, I can not get enough of this variety of delicious fruits and vegetables, it looks so delicious. Broccoli is definitely one of my favorite vegetables!

Oh broccoli is my fave. I also love cauliflower, asparagus, leafy greens, and brussel sprouts. I haven’t seen brussel sprouts here yet but will keep my eye out for them.

Wow! I would never though of doing it this way. That is an amazing recipe my Dear Puravidaville. I absolutely love this post and I think it is one of your best yet. Your writing is of course entertaining and educational as usual, but all those market photos besides the mouthwatering pizza. I absolutely love it. Well done Sweetie 🍅🌿🍕😍🥦🍅
1 Collage.jpg

Man, that’s a really nice comment @lenasveganliving, thank you. I’m going to be experimenting with lentils tomorrow night, to make a lentil crusted pizza and see how that turns out. I’ll keep everyone posted on that. Thank you so much for the compliment, and I’m glad you got the humor in my post. 🥰

For sure, the battle songs. I could plug in the Game of Thrones soundtrack too, and be equally as fired up. Haha… good one.

I never ever ever watch tv. But, sometimes it happens. I love love love game of thrones. When i had major ankle and wrist surgery i was forced into a recliner for around 7 months. Game of thrones, a percocet, and an icecream sandwich.

Sounds like a winning combo to me. At least it would have been a few years ago… I used to watch this show before work with a can of wasabi almonds, a Hansen’s root beer and some hot tamales. Haha… nonwonder im a mess now.

Oh yeah 👍😎! Those wasabi almonds rock and can get pretty addicting. I haven't had a rootbeer in ages. I forget the brand i use to get but it came in a glass bottle, mmmmm.

Yep, when I switched to Hansen’s diet root beer I thought was being all healthy. I literally knew nothing about health apparently. Now I roast my own almonds with a little olive oil and pink sea salt. I’m never going back to the processed crap again.

Awesome and good riddance on the processed crap. Ive been back and forth a few times. You're farmers markets visits are inspiring! There are quite a few around me and they are definitely in my future :].

They can be overwhelming too. What I don’t dig are the little green worms that like to eat the same organic veggies as I do. I get home with our hauls and have to soak any and all broccoli/cauliflower in warm water for a couple hours to make sure the gross little guys back off my food. Haha. I suppose if they like it then it’s probably pretty good for me as well.

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78