FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY CHALLENGEsteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello dear Steemians!

I hope you are all having a great start of the week! Today I noticed an amazing challenge which @lenasveganliving launched and great food lover as I am, I have to participate in it! The name of the challenge is just lovely!

FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY CHALLENGE

You can check the launching post here!

Being a newbie, same like majority of us here, @lenasveganliving is keeping it simple for the time being but has plans of upgrading it in the later stages! It would be great if she gets maximum participation from us food lovers especially!

I am taking this opportunity to share photos of fruits and vegetables that maybe my dear friends have never seen before!
All my photos are shot with my Iphone!

These are ripened Starfruits and Bilimbi on the tree at my grand-parents house!
The startfuits are so sweet and delicious and on the contrary bilimbi are very sour which are great in pickles!
Bilimbi just grow directly from the bark which is so beautiful to see!

13712655_1747023708919229_487371403_n.jpg 13739379_1041890175918538_929846761_n.jpg

The fruit in my hand is actually called Buddha's Hand Lemon which I used during my time as chef in the hotel industry! It is an amazing product and we use mainly the skin in dishes!
The one on the right are Arrowroots, which I pictured at the market! I just love it simply boiled in salted water and eat it with melted butter!

13549559_252384638487217_954302737_n.jpg 13423019_275877719433914_1051784426_n.jpg

This one I think everyone will know it , Pumpkin at the market stalls and on the right Suran some call it Elephant foot yam too! It is a tropical tuber which we mainly use in pickle as well as cooked in curries!

13402725_864858330325755_1449354886_n.jpg 13398922_1207673119282778_1655008411_n.jpg

To end this challenge, I present to you these amazing Manioc which needs no description I guess and on the right Fresh Turmeric again both photo from our local market here in Mauritius!
Fresh turmeric is one of the best spices which is great for one's health! I enjoy infusing it in hot milk when I have a cold!

13397491_204855119914636_1102268276_n.jpg 13385791_1741501052795826_1554144257_n.jpg

I would like to again thank @lenasveganliving for putting this challenge up and giving me the opportunity to share these photos with you!

I really hope you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to your comments!

Till the next one!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

What a lovely surprise @progressivechef . Welcome to our fruity/ veggie challenge and thank you so much for your marvelous photos, info and introduction. I really appreciate it 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Thanks for putting up this challenge @lenasveganliving! I really like it and was a pleasure joining!
Cheers
@progressivechef

It's my pleasure and I am thrilled that you like it @progressivechef 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

I use turmeric a lot cooking for it's health benefits - especially in soups. I also take curcumin supplement. The health benefits are far reaching.

You are absolutely right @garden-to-eat! The health benefits is just great indeed! And the taste is also amazing!

Hello @progressivechef

It is always a pleasure reading your post, because they never fail to activate my taste buds.

I love fruits very much and I feel like reaching into my laptop to grab those Starfruits.

Thanks for your originality.

Let me go and look for what to eat. Nice Photos by the way.

@ogochukwu

Hahaha! I'm so pleased to activate your taste buds with my post @ogochukwu! I really appreciate that you stop by mate! Thanks so much!
Starfruits are actually one of my favorite fruits, especially the super sweet ones!

definitely some exotic (to me) fruits and veggies...I do love starfruit though!

Absolutely right mate, I am from Mauritius and we have lots of exotic fruits and veg here!

This post has received a 2.57 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

I love Bilimbi, in East Timor they make yummy hot chili mixed with it. Great post, congrats!

Ah yes with hot chili it is so yummy too!
Thanks for appreciating the post @nolasco! Stay tuned for more!

You're welcome, I will, hope you too. Cheers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef M2W from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Looks so good, I like fresh fruit.

Oh yes @shenchensucc, fresh fruits are always the best! But you get great ones in Canada though!

that is true, but a lot of them are not local growed.

You have to visit my country soon then! You will get the best one and fresh from the garden!

Thank you so much, hopefully I would have the chance.

Congratulations @progressivechef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37