Fruits & Veggies Monday/Lemon tart ๐Ÿ‹

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 5 years ago

Hello dear steemit friends!

Today I once again wanted to try something new, but not on something chocolaty, no, this time I had appetite on sour, because as they say proverbially "sour makes funny" - fruit from its refreshing side; "Sour makes fun" is quite a true folk wisdom. Certain sour foods such as lemons, good apple cider vinegar and sauerkraut even help to make the acid-base balance.

And here it is, the delicious lemon tart ๐Ÿ‹

DSC07188.jpg

Ingredients for 1 tart mold (24 cm ร˜)

For the dough

  • 125 g room-warm vegan butter
  • 1-2 tablespoons applesauce
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 200 g spelled wholemeal flour
  • 75 g birch sugar

For covering

  • 4-5 organic lemons
  • some saffron threads
  • 50 g cornstarch
  • 125 g birch sugar
  • 100 ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 250 g vegan cream

Also

  • flour for the work surface
  • vegan butter for the tart mold
  • dried legumes for blind baking
  • Birch sugar to sprinkle
  • Melissa leaves for garnish

PREPARATION

For the dough, mix the butter with the applesauce, salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Sprinkle with the flour and sugar and rub everything with your fingers to crumble. Knead on a work surface with your hands to a firm dough. Form into a ball and keep wrapped in cling film for about 1 hour.

1.jpg

Preheat the oven to 180 ยฐ C convection.

Grease a tart or springform. Roll out the dough about 4 mm on the floured work surface.

DSC07168.jpg

Design the shape with it, forming a small border. Pierce the ground several times with a fork.

DSC07169.jpg

DSC07171.jpg

DSC07174.jpg

Cover the dough with baking paper, fill up with legumes and bake in the oven for about 15 minutes.

DSC07172.jpg

DSC07175.jpg

Take the tart out of the oven and remove the baking paper with the legumes.

DSC07177.jpg

For the topping, wash the lemons hot, dry and rub the skin.

DSC07155.jpg

Halve the lemons and squeeze out the juice (about 150 ml). Soak the saffron in the lemon juice.

DSC07158.jpg

DSC07162.jpg

Mix the cornflour with the birch sugar and the grated lemon zest, add the lemon juice through a sieve, add the orange juice and stir until smooth. Stir in the cream.

2.jpg

DSC07167.jpg

Pour the mixture onto the pre-baked tarte and bake for about 30 minutes. Remove the cake from the oven and let it cool completely.

DSC07178.jpg

DSC07179.jpg

The lemon tart dusted with birch sugar and served garnished with lemon balm leaves.

DSC07188_1.jpg

Proanima collage2.JPG

Sort: ย 

I have never heard of Birch sugar and will be looking it up now. I have never eaten anything vegan before and this is a tart I could have no problem eating. Looks great and I love lemony things.

thank you very much!

I want a piece of this delightful lemon tart

Thank you, I would like to leave you a piece ;)

Another masterpiece Sweetie. I am saving this recipe, because I have small tart forms and I am planning to make mini tarts for along time. I am just waiting for my hand to fully recover, which should be very soon. I really like this pastry recipe because you are using spelt flour. Well done my Dear Heidi ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ‹
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you dear Lena and I am glad that you are already feeling better ๐Ÿ’›

Always a pleasure Sweetie and thank you too ๐Ÿ’–


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!

When I feel like having a piece of cake then something like this would be my choice. I don't like cakes that are too sweet. I have never made a lemon tart even though I've been planning for ages :) But when we have some visitors next time, I'll try it :)

Thank you for sharing your lovely recipe and good luck with the competition!

Thank you, yes, give it a try, it tastes wonderfully fruity and not too sweet ๐Ÿ˜Š

Wow that looks interesting, must be very tasty.

yes, that's it, thank you!

What a beautiful post for the contest. I am normally only a chocolate lover for sweets, but this looks so yummy. I should not look at it while hungry!

I love the idea of the saffron. This is one of my favorite flavors.

Thank you very much @fitinfunfood!

You're welcome! I just tweeted you with share2steem @fitinfunfood and I am going to use your post in a tutorial on @fitinfun to teach people how to use share2steem like I do. This post will take me a couple of hours and a lot of people are waiting for it!!!

I hope this will bring more people to see your awesome post and help get more people to the contest too.

Thank you very much!

You've got my mouth puckering in fruity anticipation just looking at this beautiful dessert! Plus the saffron addition must be so nice. I haven't used any of it in my own cooking, but I'd love to get a tiny little bit to try. Especially in something this delicious!

Thank you, you are welcome!

Congratulations @proanima! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you!

Hi proanima,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97