Fruits and Veggies Monday: The "Root" of Meal Prep

Happy Monday!!  It seems like this was another week that just flew by, but at least it means it is time for #fruitsandveggiesmonday again already!  @lenasveganliving did a good job picking the day for this challenge as it really does continue to strike the right tone for the week. :)

I was able to get back on my meal prep routine this week, but I decided to do it a little differently than normal to show you guys another option.  I believe there are a few of you on here who use this method, as well.  Instead of making full meals this week, I decided to do more of a "build your own" style prep.  We have no problem eating the same thing every day.  However I know a lot of people get bored with that so having a little bit of freedom to adjust day to day can be nice.

My title implies a little play on words in that I did pick a lot of root veggies this week to try to stick with what is closest to being in season (like my celery root or celeriac above) and the root of meal prep is really just doing a little bit of cooking ahead of time.  People can get overwhelmed with the idea of spending a lot of time in the kitchen, so just preparing a few staples on Sunday can alleviate stress during the week while also allowing you time to enjoy the weekend!

When I first started cooking I had to have a recipe to follow.  I was so new to it that I couldn't even imagine coming up with a recipe or meal on my own.  Now I absolutely love going to the market and coming up with ways to use all of the beautiful produce.  That is another benefit of not having a totally set meal plan--you can buy whatever is fresh or save money by finding what is on sale.

It does help to have a basic idea of at least the number of meals you are going to make so that you can buy accordingly.  I also check in with my pantry and freezer to see what I can pull from there before I buy anything new.  I recently stocked up on black rice from Costco, so I knew I could make a big batch of rice for a bowl base.  I also always have plenty of beans and legumes batch-cooked that I can just pull out of the freezer, which means usually I just have to get some fresh vegetables to round out my meals.

The other good thing about doing a similar types of vegetables is that you can cook them all at once.  While my rice cooked on the stove I roasted beets, celery root and sweet potatoes.  I made a few bowls for myself already with some of these and added in chickpeas, dried cranberries, pistachios and a drizzle of balsamic.  When I cooked my vegetables I left them pretty plain so we can switch up our toppings and flavors as we like each day!  My spice cabinet and vinegar assortment also stay well-stocked so there is always plenty of ways to jazz up our meals.

I will probably do most of my meals like this with some extra leafy greens tossed in, but @dksart likes to mix things up with throwing the veggies into a soup or making a few wraps with whole grain tortillas.  Whatever we make will come together quickly since the bulk of the food is already cooked!

Don't forget to use as much of your vegetables as possible, as well!  The tops of the celery root are bright and delicious, and beet greens are full of nutrients.  Just make sure you wash them well before using.  I chopped mine up to add to my meals, but you can also save them to toss into a smoothie.

I really didn't even spend that much time in the kitchen yesterday either, which was wonderful because most of the day was stunning outside!  @dksart even came for the meal prep assist by being nice enough to grill the other half of our veggies for the week.  I'll share that in another post, so I'll just leave you with a glory shot of the delicious portobello mushrooms that were one of the stars of the meal. ;)  Have a healthy week everyone!

Sort:  

Best of all, mushrooms, I love them! happy Monday afternoon! Greetings friend! @plantstoplanks

Happy Monday to you as well!!

I usually have a "taste" in my head, and then rampaging through my house to see what I have at hands, then cook with that taste in my mouth and my brain, lol..I am very strange this way :-)

I agree though, that having some basic recipes in mind help too, just mix, match, and replace what the recipes called for with what already in the house..

This is such a wonderful way to prepare ahead!

I do sometimes get a taste for something that I just have to have. :) Mostly I just get inspired once or twice a week and then I know it will keep my belly full until the next round of cooking. I'm lucky that my boyfriend will eat whatever I make him so we never have any issues wasting anything!

That's wonderful to have an easy eater! I now cook for my mom and brother! Mother is a finicky eater, but my brother, he doesn't care..He eats what I made or he can stay hungry..including vegetarian meals...

At least you have one easy person! :)

I used to to the same, like following tehe exact recipes when I started cooking, and I still love browsing for recipes and I save many of them, but I never prepare it the same way as written in the recipe. I always cook them according to my tase, and most of the time, I don't even use recipes, I just cook something I feel like cooking from whatever I have in the kitchen.
Great post again @plantstoplanks, I can totally relate to it :)

I think I am pretty much the same way with recipes now, too. Some I'll try to make as close as possible if they look really great, but there's always something I'll change up. Mostly just to use what I have on hand instead of buying something new just for one recipe! Your creativity always shows in your delicious foods! 😀

I like having things ready to fix quickly during the week. good idea!!

It really helps make meal time easier during the week if you have a few things ready!

Great post my dear! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you Maru!

As always I really enjoyed reading about your prep for this week! Some wonderful tips there about making the most of all the plants and preparation/meal ideas. I love your photos too, they make every single veggie you have there look really appealing :-)

Thank you so much for taking the time to check out my post! The support always makes me want to continue finding new ways to spread the veggie love! :)

This looks wonderful. I love that you suggested that we prep a few things so that we're prepared when cooking. Also it's great that you're using all parts of the vegetables, including the leafy tops.

Thanks so much for checking it out! I enjoy my time in the kitchen, so I'm glad to be able to share my little tidbits where I can!

Oh yes, this is the way to do it!!! Sound advise my Dear that everyone should read and apply to their meal planing schedule, instead of ordering takeout the last minute, lol. Thank you so much for shraing your wisdom and beautiful photos with us every week 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

There really are so many different ways to make meal prep easier! It's fun to try out different methods even when I know my usual way works. Nice to be able to practice what I preach all the way around! 😆

I totally agree my Dear and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

i envy you! LOL.. i so wish I could be so much more organized like that! haha I have no time to prepare a meal like that or even pre-plan anything in advanced.

To be fair, I don't have any children so that does help a bit with time. I just try to make the most out of the time I have and prioritize what is important to me right now. Doing just a few batches of things like I did this week was really fast since I kept it super simple! But I do also know plenty of people that eat well and cook every day, so there is no one perfect method for everyone. 😀

Yes.. i have a zoo i herd every day... lol thinking of employing a cow bell when its dinner time lol.. mainly i forget about dinner til its about 20 mins til that time.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 14:57:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 109.45/200.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78