A Flashback for Fruits & Veggies Monday! Celebration Edition ;)

Happy Monday!  My dear @lenasveganliving shared a lovely cake for her #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest post this week.  Little did she know, it's not only a special 30th week of the competition (bravo!!), but also a special day for me personally.  I celebrate 36 years of life today!  Thank you Lena for such a lovely birthday cake. ;)

I am not one for over the top celebrations, but last year I decided to mark the halfway point of my favorite decade of life so far with a party at our home.  Usually when @dksart and I host anything, we keep it simple and do pot-luck.  However, for my party instead of having everyone bring something to me, I wanted to share the beautiful food I love with all of the people I care about most in life.  If you really love your friends and family, don't you want to give them food that will keep them around for as long as possible?

I didn't take a lot of photos, but I tried to make a full spread with something that everyone would like.  Of course you can never go wrong with a big bowl of beautiful fruit.  In a pinch those mixed packages you can get in the produce department aren't terrible, but I like fresh cut so much better.  It tastes much richer and it is easier to get organic.  Garnished with a little fresh mint from the garden and a drizzle of fruity white balsamic--doesn't get much better!

I also sliced up fresh veggies to dip in homemade hummus.  The other bowls included a chickpea and roasted red bell pepper salad, sorghum salad with garden herb pesto and shallots, shredded raw broccoli and Brussels sprouts salad, and a black bean and mango salsa/salad.  Veggies galore!  I think the only thing I didn't make fresh was some organic blue corn tortilla chips and some olives.  My dear friend made me a beautiful vegan peanut butter chocolate cheesecake, but I totally forgot to take any pictures of it!!

This year we did host family yesterday, so I made a few yummy contributions to the meal.  Nothing quite as elaborate as the year before.  To be fair, I was exhausted after all of that preparation, but it was absolutely worth it to see all of my loved ones enjoying so many dishes loaded with the power of fruits and veggies.

I love my spuds, so I popped some simple sweet potato and russet potato fries into the oven.

I also made some chickpea and sweet potato veggie patties from the latest Vegan Richa cookbook (my January review of it here).  They were really simple compared to some of the veggie burgers I have made, which is always nice.  The flavor was a bit different, as well, with a little rice wine vinegar and ginger as some of the main components.  Overall quite a delicious contribution to the meal.  I'm happy to have some leftovers for lunch today. :)

I did get some of my usual meal prep in yesterday, but I wanted to share with you my version of the perfect party spread.  Though I still love food, celebrations are more about spending time with people I care about than overindulging in things that just don't make me feel good.  I still indulge from time to time--I had a decadently delicious piece of chocolate cake from my favorite vegan restaurant on Saturday--but I'm happy that with age has come the wisdom to celebrate my body and health instead of detracting from it.

I hope you all have a fantastically healthy start to the week!


Sort:  

Happy birthday to you Katie! I do hope you have a wonderful day full of good things, kind words and smiles everywhere you turn :-)

I'm don't know if you'd be interested, but you know a few weeks ago I was on @pennsif's Alternative Lifestyle Radio Show and I mentioned you and the running project, which people seemed interested in, and he's got a couple free slots this Fri 30th if you were able to go on the show and promote the project? Just an idea! If you fancy it, you can find @pennsif on Discord, or leave a reply on his latest post. Say I sent you! :-)

Thank you so much for the wonderful birthday wishes! I am enjoying my day so far. Already got my sweet phone call from my niece, and lots of positive energy all around!

I need to check out that show! I meant to listen to the one you were on, but for some reason I have a hard time remembering when I get a quiet moment. I definitely need to. Someone else had asked me a while back, so perhaps it's time to take the plunge. ;) It would be great to be able to put the word out a little more about the running project. Thank you for thinking of me!! I thought of you yesterday and this morning as I was enjoying my birthday homemade fries. ;)

Happy Birthday Katie!!! That table looks amazing! I wish you have an awesome day!💗🌺🌸

You have such a kind heart, Maru! Your sweet words mean so much! I wish I could have shared that beautiful spread with you, but perhaps some day our paths will cross over a delicious vegan meal. :)

Would be so nice!!🌸💗🌺

Now I know your name Dear @plantstoplanks because @woman-onthe-wing just mentioned it her comment, lol.

So HAPPY BIRTHDAY KATIE I wish you all the best, lots of love, abundance and everlasting joy and I wish I could send you that cake I posted, because that one is so healthy you can eat it for breakfast.............just not the whole,cake at once, lol.

However, you had lots of delicious food for your party and I would love some of it right now!!! And by the way, I will be making fruit and veggie platters for my grandsons second BD party this week and I could use your help........... I will be exhausted too, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Oh gosh, I didn't realize you didn't know my actual name. :) Thank you so much Lena! I love that my birthday fell on the best day of the week. I can't wait to see the platters for the twins' party. I'm sure they will be stunning. I'll try to send you some good energy to make it through, though I am sure it's all worth it for the little ones. :)

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Thank you so much my very dear friend! 🤗🤗

I guess, It's may fault I didn't know, because I never asked, lol. But I ma happy that your BD is at the same time too. It makes the 30th anniversary even more special.

And thank you so much Katie, you are so sweet. I will need all the good energy I can get, lol.

This all looks very delicious, dear friend, you have done a lot of work, I wish I could eat with you :)

Thank you so much! Good food is even more delicious when shared, so I'm sending you a virtual plate right now. ;)

I hope you have a very Happy Birthday! Blessings to you for the next one!

Thank you so much! I appreciate the kind wishes! :)

Happy birthday!! :) You did such a great job with all that food! I'm sure your family loved it.

Thank you! I don't think anyone left hungry. :)

channiversaire.png dear katie ! ^_^

and congrats for you prize ! ;-)

Thank you Barbara!

Oh my god, it was your birthday???? Happy Birthday Katie. I hope that @dksart spoiled you rotten. I hope you didn't do all that prep work !!!!

I did all that prep work last year. Totally worth it when all my omni friends talked about how delicious everything was. Very chill birthday this year. Thank you!

Happy Belated Birthday!

I love pot-luck meals, you always get the best food at them. :D

Thank you! It's nice to have a variety of dishes, and it makes it much easier as a host when everyone brings something, too. :)

I was shocked by so many colors, textures and flavors you publish, and I get hungry every time I see them! I love everything you've put in, happy Monday friend! @plantstoplanks

Aww, what a nice compliment! Thank you so much! Have a great week!

Thank you dear, I love to see your recipes! the same for you! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33