Veganuary Inspiration--"Vegan Richa's Everyday Kitchen" Cookbook Review

in #veganuarycontest7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!  I'm back with another cookbook review today.  I am sorry if some of these are only available in the US so far.  Hopefully they will end up being more widely published as I think they are quite amazing. :)  Today's selection is the second book from one of my favorite bloggers--Richa Hingle.  If you cannot track down either of her books, her blog has tons of amazing recipes!  Definitely check it out if you need a little extra #veganuary inspiration!

Though once again I have only made a few recipes out of the book so far, I can already tell it is going to be one of my favorites.  If you like flavorful sauces, this is your book.  She arranges each chapter around a number of main sauces, then gives you different recipes using the sauces as a base.  I love that Richa not only uses her Indian heritage for inspiration, but pulls the best flavors from all over the globe in this book.  There are curries, pizzas, vegan burgers and desserts.  Some of the sauces look a little involved at first, but the process for the ones I have made so far is actually pretty easy to follow.  If you have a well-stocked spice cabinet, you are good to go!

I also very much appreciate that she gives either substitutions for allergies or a whole alternative recipe.  There is regular pizza crust and also gluten-free.  I avoid using refined oils in my cooking so I appreciate in this book and on her blog she usually has ways to adjust for that with a different type of fat or binder.  Nut allergies?  She's got subs for that, too. :)

The first recipe I made out of the book was the Tinga Black Bean Soup.  I use black beans a lot, but up to this point hadn't really found a solid black bean soup that I really loved.  Problem solved.  The Tinga sauce is packed with goodies like tomatoes, chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, thyme and oregano.  You can either make the sauce ahead of time, or let it simmer while you prepare the rest of the soup.  I was really happy with the outcome, so I will happily make the soup again or try the sauce in another application.

Last night I made Chickpeas and Potatoes in Spinach Curry Sauce.  I did use carrots instead of potatoes and roasted some cauliflower to add to the final bowl, and I also served mine over red quinoa.  Delicious!  The sauce came together in a heartbeat in the blender, and it cooked up beautifully with the chickpeas and carrots.  I tried to plate it as nicely as I could to do the recipe justice! ;)

I have quite a few other recipes bookmarked to try out soon!  If you only have access to the website, definitely check out this stuffed mushroom recipe.  I have had many non-vegan friends love it!  I have also had good luck with baking some of the muffins and breads on her site.  Vegan baking can sometimes be tricky, but she has it down to a perfect science!

I hope you guys get a chance to check out this book or the website!  This is my latest contribution to the #veganuarycontest by @lolzwithlisa.  Check out her latest post and contest info here: https://steemit.com/veganuarycontest/@lolzwithlisa/veganuary-week-3-how-to-enter-the-veganuarycontest

Sort:  

I like the recipes!

Vegan Richa has some amazing recipes! I'm just happy to be a good enough cook to do them justice!

I've always wanted to get her Indian cookbook. Now it looks like there are two books I need to get!

I'm going to have to get that one, too! If for nothing else than to support her since I am such a huge fan of her cooking. :)

I have a lot of cookbooks but I rarely use them :D. I love soup though and that one looks delicious :)

I have recently gone through and made a pile of ones I never use to donate. They are mostly ones from before I went plant-based. I try to only get ones that I know I will really enjoy now. :)

I love coming up with my own recipes, but many times it is just as nice to open up a book and follow directions!

That's great, I'm a clean out maniac :D I always look for things I don't need any more and get rid of it.
I'm really bad at coming up with my own recipes :D I always need one to start from and then I might be able to twist it into my own.

I tried to follow the Marie Kondo method of tidying up, but got stuck on books! :) Snowed in today, so maybe I need to try to start again. Haha!

Looks like this book has very nice recipes! I will check it ou! Thank you my dear friend for sharing it! I wish you have a great day! Congratulations

It's a great book! Have a fantastic rest of your day, as well! 🤗

Great book review and pics @plantstoplanks! I'm hungry ;) I'm putting a link to this in the SteemUsa nominate-a-post :) Great job!

Aww, thanks so much! 🤗🤗

My spice cabinet is overflowing with yummy herbs and spices that I need to use!

Thank you for this review, I have been considering buying a vegan cookbook that can help me make a larger variety of meals and "Everyday Kitchen" really stands out so far.

Where did you buy her book? If it's on Amazon I need to check it out 🌱

I got it on Amazon! It's a great variety. I love her Indian recipes, but she puts a great spin on all different types of food so it's not just one type of cuisine in this one!

contemplating on whether or not i should get this cookbook haha

This one is worth it for the sauces alone! :)

Sound like a wonderful cookbook my Dear 😊

It's definitely a Christmas gift that I got this year that will keep on giving! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57