Fruits and Veggies Monday: SPROUTING at Home has never been easier :)

Why are sprouts important to us?

Sprouts are a source of food that represent a huge amount of vitamins and nutrients than they do in an un-sprouted form. Typically, a week after sprouting, the sprouts will have the highest concentration and bioavailability of nutrients.

They contain a significant amount of protein and dietary fiber, as well as vitamin K, folate, pantothenic acid, niacin, thiamin, vitamin C, vitamin A, and riboflavin. In terms of minerals, they contain manganese, copper, zinc, magnesium, iron, and calcium. Many of these component nutrients increase dramatically as the sprout continues to develop. Along with all of these components, sprouts are also a rich source of enzymes that are essential for health.

IMG_20170904_124146_987.jpg

10 Benefits of Sprouts:

  1. Improve digestion
  2. Boost metabolism
  3. Prevent anemia
  4. Improve heart health
  5. Prevent neural tube effect
  6. Weight loss
  7. Boost immune system
  8. Prevent cancer
  9. Reduce allergic reactions
  10. Eye care

You wonder what is the easiest way to sprout at home?

I've tried a couple of methods already. First, I soaked the legumes overnight, then left them in the kitchen on a drainer, rinsed them twice a day, but after a while they were fully covered by little bugs , so I needed to throw them away. Then I tried to store them in a jar, I covered the top with textil and stored the jars with the whole facing down, so the water could run out, but then they became stinky.

20170512_084521.jpg

And guess what? I found the easiest version of sprouting by mistake. Once, I wanted to make hummus, so I soaked some chickpeas in water overnight, then I rinsed them, but I had no time took and prepare them right away, so just left them in an airtight container in the fridge, and totally forgot about them. I took them out 3 days later, and what I found was a container full of chickpea sprouts :D I was super happy, you can imagine!!! Since then, this is how I sprout legumes :)

IMG_20170925_203429_670.jpg

Method:

Soak the chickpeas, lentils or beans in water overnight. I usually use a big container, I fill 1/4 of it with legumes and the rest of it with water. The next day, I pour out the water, rins the legumes and put them back into the container. I cover them with the top of the container and leave them either in the kitchen or in the fridge. It takes them more time to start sprouting if you keep them in the fridge, but they can get stinky in room temperature, so that's why I leaving them in the fridge. You don't even need to rinse them during the next couple of days if you keep them in the fridge. After 3-4 days, you'll have your own homegrown sprouts :)

IMG_20171110_090438_546.jpg

You can add sprouts to your daily meals very easily. Just add them into your salads and boost your immune system with them :)

Salad with lentil sprouts
IMG_20171202_000012_046.jpg

Salad with broccoli and mung bean sprouts
IMG_20170905_155407_215.jpg

I hope you'll try this simple way to sprout at home and you'll add these healthy living ingredients to your daily meal plans :)

This post is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday this week held by @lenasveganliving. Thanks for this awesome contest, I enjoy participating in it every time.

Sort:  

Wow thanks for sharing. It's amazing what we all discover by accident. I always use the jar method (covered with a coffee filter) as sprouts grow so fast here. Mung or adzuki only need one day of soaking and one day of growing and rinsing! Never had any issues with smell or bacteria growth. Have a great day!

I tried that method of sprouting too, but for some reason it didn't work for me. At least I found a way to do it :D Have a wonderful day, too! :)

I always used a sprouting jar which worked just fine for most of the sprouts, but your method also sounds super easy - especially if you don‘t want to buy a special jar for it 😉 Buckwheat was my favorite!

Oh yes, I like sprouting buckwheat, too :) I usually have some at home. I love making creamy porridge of it.

Sounds wonderful, do you just blend it with some plant based milk? I haven't yet experienced a lot with recipes for sprouts. They just don't survive that long in my kitchen for getting super creative since I love them in my dinner salad so much :D

Yes, sometimes just with plant based milk, sometimes woth banana. Check out this recipe for example:
https://steemit.com/food/@plantbasedmiri/raw-banana-buckwheat-porridge-recipe-the-perfect-breakfast-e04548bea6aae

It is sooo yummy :)

Wow, sounds fantastic!! Such a shame I don‘t have a blender at hand, since I am currently on Koh Payam, staying in a simple bungalow 🙈 But next time in a well equipped kitchen - this will be in my breakfast bowl 😉

good food and post follow now

I really like mung bean sprouts. I try to always have them at the table. they help with digestion since they contain enzymes that help in the process of digestion

I love mung bean sprouts, too, with all the healthy benefits, and I love their taste, as well :)

Wow! This is just amazing! Really?!! I have a sprouting glas with a kind of sieve on top so one can turn it upside down and the water runs out. But it didn't work well with every kind of seeds. I definitely have to try this out! You are a genius! I think these kind of seeds that get slimy like cress or arugula I still will grow on moist kitchen papertowel.
Tipuvote!

Isn't it awesome?? :D I read a lot about sprouting and tried so many methods, when I finally found the easiest one by mistake :))

That's incredible, indeed! Great, you found that out!

I really like your contribution to the contest! excellent success! @plantbasedmiri

Thank you very much for your kind words dear @gersson

Oooooooh these photos are so amazing! What a creative cook you are! Wonderful information here, I haven't done sprouting very much but you really inspire me to do it some more, thanks!

Thank you so much my Dear, and I'm so happy I gave you some inspiration :)

@echowhale team swimming by with your upvotes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56