The local huge market, Part II! - Fruits & Veggies Monday by @lenasveganliving and Foodphotography Photo Contest by @juliank and @photocontests

Hi there, Steemians, have a happy week!

Continuing my visit to the Taibessi Market, the huge market in Díli I've started to post about last week, here are a couple of photos more with interesting veggies and fruits, with a legend!

Mercado Taibessi bananas detail.jpg

This kind of square-shaped bananas aren't for eating as the usual bananas we buy in our countries. These ones are cooked, and we eat them either boiled and after dipping them in the local chili (called aimanas, very HOT!) ou fried, sliced and eaten as potato chips. I love them both ways :)!

Mercado Taibessi baria-2.jpg

Locally made tempeh (delicious!) is what you see wrapped up in plastic. We can buy 6 of them by 1 USD! Then the local tomatoes, that taste... like tomatoes!!!
In the middle, those long veggies looking like rugged zucchini, are called BARIA. I don't know the name in Portuguese and even less in English. I had never seen them elsewhere in the world. And haven't seen them wherever I've been so far in Asia! They taste sour and strong, and people usually cooked them in stews, together with other vegetables. They can also be rawly sliced and be added in the "budu" kind of spicy salad I've told you about last week.

Mercado Taibessi vendedores 6.jpg

Chinese cabbages and lettucces. This market is the kingdom of the cabbages, like my friend said, lol! There are cabbages everywhere, of all kinds, either at the stalls or sold by the street vendors, like this one! And... they're all organic, too... and they're all about 0.25 USD each, if not cheaper.

When I talk about these cheap prices, that doesn't mean East Timor is a cheap country. On the contrary, it's very expensive, especially for the expats that live here. There are 2 economies, one for the locals and the other for foreigners. This market is not the kind of place foreigners go, so they can pay 3 ou 4 times more at the markets where they usually buy.

But I love this one... especially to take photos. Street photos. People photos. Timorese love to be photographed and I love to photograph, so it's a win-win situation. I love to capture their smiles and poses, and, even more, to take candid photographies, when they don't even notice I'm there... :)!

Like this one :)))

Mercado Taibessi vendedores 30.jpg

Hope you have enjoyed this post! Many more photos to come!
Have a great and healthy week!

This is my entry to the

Fruits & VeggiesMonday -initiated by @lenasveganliving

and

Foodphotography Photo Contest initiated by @juliank and @photocontests

Cheers to all!

Yours,
Isabel
@nolasco

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

From the preview I thought it was some birds feathers, not bananas :D

Ahah, now that you say :)))... Thanks, my friend!

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

Thanks so much, Lena! My first! I'm so happy! Big hug!

You are most welcome my Dear, I am as happy as you are 🌸💖🌸

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T05:33:33
Account Level: 7
Total XP: 7665.07/12800.00
Total Photos: 382
Total comments: 376
Total contest wins: 116
And have also received a 7.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nolasco
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-local-huge-market-part-ii-fruits-and-veggies-monday-by-lenasveganliving-and-foodphotography-photo-contest-by-juliank-and


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much!

Hi, thank you for supporting the steemkitchen #tag and community.

www.steemkitchen.com is live in Beta. The first decentralized recipe and food centric blog site on the internet that rewards the contributors in a crypto currency called steem that can be traded for any Fiat Currency.
The users of Steemkitchen reward each other by means of upvoting to choose the size of the reward.

We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas on improving the site and features you would like to add.

Please consider joining us at our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Thanks so much! I will check it out :))! Congrats!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Lovely and so natural capture of people smiling together @nolasco. If I am not wrong the green veggie is also called bittergourd in south asian countries. Its good for people having diabetes. Nice post. Keep it up.

Aw, thanks for letting me know, I had no idea :))))! I wish you a wonderful day and sorry for the delay, I've been so busy... ! Cheers!

I would love to get my hands on that tempeh, besides other things. This is a wonderful market and you captured it so well 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Do you know I thought about you when I saw the tempeh, nice and fresh and... so cheap, Lena ;)? Because, at least in Portugal, it's very expensive and not easy to find... here is part of the daily menu in Timorese dishes...! Thanks so much for your comment. Many more posts of this market to come! Have a wonderful rest of the week!

That is so sweet of you and you are right, it is not easy to find and it's also quite pricey. Although they are two brands made in Canada, for some reason they are not available in supermarkets.

You are most welcome Nolasco and I look forward to see more of your photos. Have a wonderful week as well :)

Thanks, my dear Lena! And thanks for choosing my post as one of the winning posts <3 <3!

What a wonderful market this Taibessi market @nolasco

Heaven of the veggies & organic food i guess :-)

Thanks for sharing this blog :-)

Indeed! It's a paradise! I'm the one who is grateful, Lucian!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90