Steemit Fruits and Veggies Monday - Veg Jewels Oat PancakessteemCreated with Sketch.

20191007_094624.jpg

Hot off the griddle
Selling like hotcakes
What are we talking about?
Pancakes of course!

Mondays come and Mondays go and I've come to the conclusion that I simply do not agree with the phrase You can't teach an old dog new tricks, as this old gal here has learnt quite a few tricks all thanks to our amazing chef and photographer @lenasveganliving's Steemit Fruits and Veggies Challenge, now being hosted by our very own personal trainer, nutritionist and equally amazing chef @plantstoplanks, and the wonderful foodie community here!
20191007_080519.jpg
I hear some of our non-vegan foodies looking at my ingredients asking, 'Where's the eggs? You can't make a light and fluffy pancake without an egg!'
Not true as I discovered again today when using Chia egg replacement - these were the lightest, fluffiest and healthiest pancakes I've had in a long while.
20191007_094528.jpg

The humble pancake graced the pages of the National Geographic Magazine, where we are told that it was part of man’s diet as far back as 5 300 years ago when Otzi the Iceman took his final hike. Otzi's last meal featured ground einkorn wheat and bits of charcoal which suggested it was some kind of pancake cooked over an open fire.
I’m sure old Otzi’s pancake was not light and fluffy and probably looked a whole lot different to the pancakes we know today!
National Geographic goes on to tell us:

The ancient Greeks and Romans ate pancakes, sweetened with honey; the Elizabethans ate them flavored with spices, rosewater, sherry, and apples. They were traditionally eaten in quantity on Shrove Tuesday or Pancake Day, a day of feasting and partying before the beginning of Lent.

Here in South Africa we serve our pancakes with Cinnamon Sugar, Syrup & a squeeze of Lemon; but my personal choice is just Cinnamon Sugar.

Pancakes.jpg

I made an Oat Veg Pancake for lunch using Oats & Stone Ground Flour with a Chia Egg and Water - I hear many gasp WATER, but my Gran taught me that water makes a much lighter pancake and I know from experience that she was right!
I have made hundreds if not thousands of pancakes throughout my life; used to be called the pancake lady as that was my job at many local fundraisers; be it for the church, retirement homes, children's homes and homes for disabled. I handed the reigns over to a much younger pancake lady when I broke my ankle a couple of years ago. My standard pancake recipe with water not milk, was given to dozens of would-be pancake makers.

FAVM Herbs page break.png

Before I could make today's pancake, I went foraging in my little herb garden and found:

  • Kale
    20191007_074952.jpg

  • Young Leeks
    20191007_122132.jpg

  • Vine Tomatoes;)
    20191007_074844.jpg

I sauteed chopped Leeks and mixed Veggies in a dash of Canola Oil and poured the pancake batter to cover it; once cooked I filled it with Sweetcorn, wilted Kale and pickled Onion Rings, sweet and simple but really delicious!

RECIPE

  • 1 Chia Egg
  • Approx 400ml Water
  • 250ml Stone Ground Flour
  • 5ml Baking Powder
  • 2ml Salt

Beat chia egg & water, add sifted dry ingredients and oats and mix till smooth.
NOTE: You may have to add a little extra water to get the right pancake batter consistency.

Filling

  • Kale leaves, blanched in a little water
  • Frozen Mixed Veg
  • 2 Baby Leeks - diced
  • Cooked Sweetcorn
  • Onion rings
  • 125ml Balsamic Vinegar
  • 5ml Maple Syrup

Add the Maple Syrup to warmed Balsamic Vinegar, pour over onion rings, cover and let it rest for at least an hour.

Sautee mixed veg & leeks in a little oil in pan.

Pour batter over and cook both sides.

Fill with Corn, Kale & Pickled Onions.

20191007_150529-COLLAGE.jpg

20191007_094942.jpg

20191007_094911.jpg

20191007_094619.jpg

BON APPETIT

FoodFightFridayLiz.gif
Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Thus pancakes look mighty delicious 😍

Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much!

Wow, that is some excellent idea... thanks for that dear friend!

Thank you so much my friend @mondoshawan, I really appreciate the c-squared share as well!

Another impressive entry my Dear Lizelle; I definitely have to try these! What a great recipe and yes, I totally agree; water is just fine! 🌿😍🌿
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so very much @lenasveganliving, I'm sure you will enjoy it!

Always a pleasure Lizelle..........I have no doubt 😍

May this are very delicious and tasty. Thanks for share full process of recipe..I would show my wife and tell her that would make me like this.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope your wife is going to make this for you, it is real easy and delicious!

It was delicious and easy too, thanks @ericvancewalton!

Oh this is one really juicy recipe and healthy too!
Never really tried it with chia eggs (which I believe you soak it from chia seeds) as the binding agent. I think I am going to give this a try for my mom after her surgery (when the egg is a no-go apparently during recovery)

1 tablespoon chia seeds plus 3 tablespoons water = 1 egg. Hope your mom recovers well, thanks for stopping by!

This is absolutely wonderful @lizelle. Good to know the chia egg works! I'll definitely be making this savoury pancake when the kids visit next week. Beautiful presentation, so colorful and appetizing :) Hadn't heard about dear Otzi the iceman, love it!

I will definitely be making this again, it was a nice lunch, the chia eggs really surprised me!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thank you!

Pure kitchen magic! I totally agree that there's enough to learn in the kitchen to last a lifetime! I never get tired of seeing new tips and tricks. Especially with pancakes. I only got into savory pancakes over the last few years, but now I enjoy them just as much as the sweeter versions. You can't beat this combination with all those yummy veggies!

We never stop learning not so! Thank you for your lovely comments @plantstoplanks:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36