Fruits & Veggies Monday - Herbal Tonic Vegan WinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

A tipple or two never hurts, but more than that and you may end up with a headache or two ;)
I'm talking about Wine and red wine at that, which does have some very positive health benefits!

IMG_20190730_121548.jpg

Quoting from Medical News Today:

Evidence suggests that moderate consumption may help people live longer, protect against certain cancers, improve mental health, and enhance heart health.
Red wine contains Resveratrol and this is what they say about it:
Resveratrol is a compound that some plants produce to fight off bacteria and fungi, and to protect against ultraviolet (UV) irradiation.

Today I will be sharing with all my Fruits & Veggies friends a very simple recipe for a Herbal Tonic Wine - a blend of a Vegan Merlot & a Vegan Sweet Red Wine infused with Rosemary, Cinnamon, Ginger, Star Anise, Peppercorns & Cloves.

IMG_20190727_142847.jpg

I'm learning something each time I plan a post for #fruitsandveggiesmonday, and this week I learnt that animal products are used in wine making, would never have known!

So I did a search on VeganSA to see which of our local wines are vegan.

Being Proudly South African, I must first tell you that we have some of the best wines in the world, grown in the picturesque Western Cape with magnificent mountains as a backdrop. Should you ever travel to Cape Town, wine tasting should be on your itinerary as you will not only taste good wines, but you'll also see stunning landscapes along the many wine routes.

I chose wines from two vineyards :-

  • Leopard's Leap - a wine producer in the stunning Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape. Interesting to learn that these wine makers also support the Cape Leopard Trust, an NGO that works on conservation of the endangered Cape Mountain Leopard as well as other predators of this region.

  • Namaqua - this wine producer is in the coastal town of Vredendal on the Cape West Coast with panoramic views of the Maskam Mountain.

I chose a Leopard's Leap Merlot and to break the dryness, a Sweet Red from Namaqua's Everyday Collection for my tonic wine.

IMG_20190729_160258.jpg

HERBAL TONIC WINE GUIDELINES
One can alter this & experiment with favourite herbs and quantities.

  • 1 bottle dry Red Wine
  • 1 bottle sweet Red Wine you may prefer just a dry wine, so can omit this - Namaqua sweet red is not nearly as sweet as a dessert wine though.
  • Rosemary sprigs
  • Cinnamon Sticks
  • Fresh root Ginger
  • Star Anise
  • Peppercorns
  • Cloves
  • Orange Peel

IMG_20190729_160336.jpg

METHOD
Pour wines into large glass jug to mix, pour back into bottles, but not all the way to the top.
I'm always collecting pretty bottles and saving them for something homemade.
20190728_094331-ANIMATION.gif

Add herbs & spices and seal.
IMG_20190727_142847.jpg

IMG_20190727_143229.jpg

Make a pretty label, leave to stand for at least a week before use; giving your medicinal wine a good shake at least once a day.
IMG_20190730_110442.jpg

Prescribed dosage ;);)
1 small wine glass at night.

IMG_20190730_121615.jpg

Caution - Over-dosage can result in all kinds of calamities!

IMG_20190727_142832_1-ANIMATION.gif

FAVM divider.png

A sincere thank you to the creator of #fruitsandveggiesmonday, @lenasveganliving, to our weekly host the lovely @plantstoplanks, both lovely ladies are such an inspiration with their kind feedback and of course the gorgeous food coming from their kitchens!

A massive shout out to @donkeypong for the generous sponsorship in the past and of course that wonderfully talented artist @barbara-orenya for the gorgeous wonkies!

Thank you one and all for giving us this opportunity!

Check out this week's POST, follow the rules 100% and show us your fruits and veggies:)

FAVM divider.png

lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

O wow, I never thought of adding herbs to the wine. I will have to a bit more research on it, but you really have some amazing herbs and spices collection. I think moderation is the for pretty much everything in life. Except maybe smiling. Go nuts with the smiles. hehe

Thank you for sharing your recipe with us. Have an amazing day. :)

I think moderation is the for pretty much everything in life. Except maybe smiling. Go nuts with the smiles. hehe

Love that @awakentolife🤩
Thank you so much for stopping by and brightening my day with your comments!

You are more than welcome my friend. I am happy it has brighten you day up 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

I learned that most wine is not vegan from Lena @lenasveganliving when I first met her! I had no idea!

Traditionally the most commonly used fining agents were casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). These fining agents are known as processing aids. They are not additives to the wine, as they are precipitated out along with the haze molecules

Seriously!! Who knew???

Thank you for such a wonderful post, showing off how to make this wine and for the beautiful way you always display things. I learn something every time I come over here!

Incidentally, my wine store carries a lot of SA wines and I have had the pleasure of taste-testing them. Before that, I had no idea it was truly a wine country there! Thank you again!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Ah thank you @dswigle, always great seeing you here :) And I'm so glad you're familiar with and that your wine store stocks SA wine! Thank you for the tip, much appreciated :)

What a wonderful idea @lizelle! Customizing your own wine, brilliant. The combinations are unlimited, and what a great gift. Love it :) You're a genius my friend!

You're right my friend, one can experiment with herbs and spices, just go easy on cloves and star anise as they can be overpowering. I will edit my post.

That sounds such an interesting wine while on blood thinners these days i ave given up beer which was my drin of choice but an occasional glass of this may be worth trying sometime I may just have to try making my own based on your post

Try it but go easy on the cloves and star anise as it can be quite overpowering, but it really is a very pleasant drink!
Thank you for stopping by:)

Thanks for the tip when I do it I will start with small amounts and see how I like it ;)

Well, I definitely didn't know that there was such a thing as vegan wine. Should remember that when I have vegan friends over :)

It does look really tasty with all those herbs in it. I bet the star anise gives it a really nice touch, if you like anise flavour that is.

It was news to me as well! One has to go quite easy on the star anise and the cloves as they can be quite overpowering!
Thanks for stopping by @daan.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR WELL DESERVED AWARD 🥑😊🍓
The most Educational entry.png

Ah thank you Lena, really appreciate that you and Katie continue giving us this opportunity every week with FAVM, I was quite shocked to hear that animal products are even used in beer and wine making!

Oh yes they are and in many other products that is hard to avoid, such as tires for example. Always a pleasure my Dear Lizelle, we are happy that you bring to us one of the best entries weekly 🥑😍🍓

Thank you Lena; my word even tires, I did not know that either!

Oh and yes! Lots of things!

I don't drink alcohol, but this looks very lovely Lizelle. Also thank you for razing awareness about vegan wine options 🍇😍🥂
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you very much for Lena, I really enjoyed putting this post together :)

Always a pleasure Lizelle 😍

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much @helpiecake & @enchantedspirit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done @lizelle for finding a solution

Hhhmm! I can smell the herby wine tonic from here @lizelle ☺️
I never thought wine have animal ingredients in them.
Very interesting post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33