Home Grown Veggies

home grown.jpg
Continuing with my last week homegrown fruit and veggies, these beautiful bitter melons and cherry tomatoes were grown by my brother. He started the bitter melons from seeds and they climbed on the fence. If you can eat these melons, they are super healthy for you.

home grown 1.jpg
Since the bitter melons grown on the fence, some of them got caught in between. This particular one cracked, and I thought the color was beautiful.

frugal living.jpg
I love bok choy, and started these ends of the bok choy back in May! They seemed to do well in water and when the weather was steady enough, I took them outside.

home grown 4.jpg
Two out of five really took off and gave me enough for a stir fry. The other three were eaten by some kind of bugs/insects/slugs.

home grown 3.jpg
I also started the romaine lettuce in a little bowl, again, it did so good in water but once I put it in the pot, it died a couple of days later.

home grown 2.jpg
These were all the leaves I got out of it. I thought it would do well in the dirt, but I was wrong. Something was not right I supposed. Next time, I would just keep them in water.

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T09:48:48
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1425.42/1600.00
Total Photos: 189
Total comments: 108
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

Home grown veggies are the best ... .

They are..Thank you!

I have never seen such melons! Look amazing! And planting your own bok choi? What a great idea!

Thank you! The bitter melons are bitter so I can't eat..I cooked for the family though.

I love your gardening experiments Icy; it really amazes me how plants can grow. Also, these are no cost experiments, so if something doesn't workout, no big deal. You and your family actually gained quite a bit. Very impressive 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks Lena! We wait for summer to come so we could grow these, and it is too short especially when the weather is not cooperating :-)

Nice to have fresh food from the garden, Icy. Never have eaten bitter melon but the color inside is wonderful. You’ve quite the green thumb starting the bokchoy and lettuce.😊

Thank you! I would grow so many more bok choy if I have room and longer warm weather.

Those look like a successful experiment @icybc! I also love bok choi. I am amazed that they are still sprouting after 3 months. What does the bitter melon taste like? Seeing the inside it's hard to believe it's bitter. Reminds me of our African horned cucumber

Thank you! The bitter melons taste very bitter to me, and I couldn't eat it! I cook it for the family, without tasting it :-)

Interesting. So you eat it as a veggie? I've never tasted one before

Yes, I sliced it up and stir fry with onion, or I made soup with it! It seemed to lower blood sugar for my mom.

Wonderful tip! Thanks @icybc

This is so cool. I had no idea you could grow Bok Choy and romaine like this. You’re right, those melons are absolutely beautiful. Great contribution @icybc, we’ll done!

I'm not familiar with bitter melons. Gotta check them out. The bok choy ends in water is very pretty almost like sushi :) Very fun post @icybc

Thank you! If you like the taste, bitter melons is loaded with health benefits..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50