Fruits And Veggies Monday - Vegetables Soup With Dumplings

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

It is #FruitsAndVeggiesMonday, hosted by the wonderful @lenasveganliving!
veggies soup 3.JPG
This is the finished bowl of veggies soup with dumplings from the recipe I found on Tasty Vegetarian video. I thought I should try something new to do, especially when we have three consecutive days of rain last week.
veggies soup 1.JPG
As for vegetables, the recipe called for onion, garlic, mushroom, carrot, and celery. So I got all my vegetables cut and prepared for the onslaught of cooking :-)
veggies soup 2.JPG
Begin with saute' chopped onion, garlic, and sliced mushroom! I happened to have 4 shiitake mushroom caps, so I used them instead of common mushrooms in the recipe. Shiitake mushroom tastes like meat but so much better health-wise.

Season this with salt, pepper, oregano and thyme!
veggies soup 4.JPG
The recipe called for 2 bay leaves, tomato paste and vegetable broth, but I didn't have any on hands! I used plain water instead. I figure the vegetables will cook down with water anyway, thus, I didn't fuss too much about it. It turned out wonderful as I expected it would.
veggies soup.JPG
The dumplings were made with all purpose flour, baking powder, warm water and olive oil. I, being a weird one, added some chopped cilantro into the dough, and just dropped them in the soup by spoonful.

The result, as you can see, is delicious, tasty, and gives me a different taste for the week.

Eat well and live healthy!

Text And Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved!

Sort:  

Very tasty food menu and high vitamin I want to be able to try his food

Thank you!

You are welcome icybc

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 14:50:19
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 632.84/800.00
Total Photos: 73
Total comments: 104
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

Mmmmmm this looks so good!
Ive never made dumplings before. They look so yummy I will have to try sometime!!
Lovely photos!

Don't let the word "dumplings" scare you off! It did for me until I found out it only asked for four ingredients: flour, baking powder, warm water and oil..As long as the dumplings is moist enough to form and then spoon off in the soup, you're done :-)

Thank you!

Wow, sounds easy, thanks!! :D

That looks like perfect rainy day food! I love that veggie soup is so versatile you don't have to worry if you miss an ingredient or sub out a few things. I bet that extra bit of herb in the dumplings is delicious.

I agree! The dumplings were good, and the soup broth was also delicious!

Thank you!

I'm pretty sure I just need to start coming to your house to eat. ;P

Wonder how far is the drive :-)? Thank you!

What a super delicious soup Dear Icy. Those dumplings look amazing and shiitake mushrooms are my favorite. I just had some with pasta yesterday. I only wish they would be cheaper, lol. Thank yo so much for sharing this yummy and super healthy recipe with us 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

The price for shiitake mushrooms is triple the common mushrooms here. So I only got 4 caps! They are really delicious no matter how you cook them..Thanks Lena for your kind words and generosity!

I am used to seeing recipes for dumplings asking for suet, but it is great to see you have achieved them with simple ingredients, and not even needed vegetarian suet! Great post, thank you :)

Vegetarian suet? I didn't know that even exited :-) I can't take credit for it, and I found it on Tasty Vegetarian video, and then just modified them to what I have at home...Thank you for visiting..

This looks like the perfect comfort food! Tipuvote!

Cold and rainy weather is soup weather :-) Thank you !!

You are welcome!

This looks so good!

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44