Cauliflower Salad

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

#fruitsandveggiesmonday is hosted by the talented @lenasveganliving!

cauliflower salad 1.JPG
This past few year I have seen people using cauliflower for so many different things, and I am quite intrigued with the ideas of playing with it. Since vegans and vegetarians are getting so strong with healthy living, the price of cauliflower haven't dropped in my part of the world. It costs up to five dollars a head.

However, I found an easy recipe to try, so I must buy one.

***Cut the cauliflower in their flowers shape, and steamed until they were soft enough without breaking them when handling them.

cauliflower salad 3.JPG
***Chopped up 1/2 a purple onion and set aside.

cauliflower salad 2.JPG
In a mixing bowl, combine:
***2 tablespoons of almond milk Greek yogurt
***2 tablespoons of vegan mayonnaise, if you don't have some or can't find it in the store, you can make your own, which you can find in this link.
***Salt and pepper
***2 tablespoon relish, or chopped dill pickle
***Sprinkle of paprika
***Some chopped fresh dill
***2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard
***Add your purple onion

cauliflower salad.JPG
***Mix cooked cauliflower and sauce together, add more salt and pepper to your taste, CHILL FOR AT LEAST 20 MINUTES in the refrigerator, and finally sprinkle some more paprika and fresh dill on top before serving.

This was my first time making cauliflower (potatoes-like salad)! I must say, they were so good, so tasty and very refreshing.

Text and Photos @IcyBC All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-24T11:31:36
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1581.42/1600.00
Total Photos: 213
Total comments: 108
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

An excellent use of such a versatile vegetable!! I love dill, so you definitely have me licking my lips with that addition. We've tried to grow cauliflower in our garden, but haven't had any luck yet though it would be great because they can get a little pricey.

Thank you! They are pricey and I never remember they were this high before..

I'm a massive flower of Cauliflower in cheese sauce, although that's partly due to me being addicted to cheese! This looks like a super recipe though, I like the combination of Paprika and Fresh Dill it looks amazing finished like that - I'm not sure my culinary skills are up to this though.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you! When my children were young, cauliflower and cheese sauce was how I got them to eat their veggies :-)

mmmh this looks yummy, i love cauliflower

Thank you!

Interesting @icybc Last photo just says potato salad. Looks good.

Thank you..

Congratulations @icybc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you!

What a fantastic recipe Icy. So delicious and super healthy. Well done my Dear 🍏🍒🍌🍍🍑🍇🍓
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you, Lena!

Interesting! I never thought to use cauliflower like this. It turns out quite pretty too- the perfect addition to any bbq.

Thank you! I am learning how to use the same common veggies for different things or dishes..It was wonderful!

You did great!

What a wonderful salad! We love cauliflower and I am always looking for new recipes. Really looks yummy, much better than using potatoes!

Thank you! I thought I will try something new with cauliflower and since I love potatoes salad, this was a great substitute!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35