Vegan rainbow sushi made with pearl barley

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Woop woop its fruitsandveggiesmonday again with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks. I have posted something similar before but this time it is even healthier, after seeing @lotusfleur post with surfing I have been inspired to fit back into my wetsuit and hit the surf. Sushi rice has a lot of hidden sugar and little fibre, so I swapped it for pearl barley wich has the right fibre to carb ratio, and it tastes awesome, I think I actually prefer it even. I went about making the pearl barley the same way as sushi rice except it took about an hour to cook, I used sushi rice vinegar but left out the sugar. I used 500g pearl barley and 800ml water a pinch of salt and once it was cooked I added 50ml sushi vinegar and let it cool down for a couple hours.

The day before I made the most important part, my fake smoked salmon or valmon, vegan salmon. I used a potato peeler and made some carrot wafers, crumpled up 2 sushi nori sheets, 3 tablespoons liquid smoke, 50ml soy sause, half a teaspoon smoked paprika and a pinch of salt, I brought it to the boil and as soon as it started boiling I switched off the stove and left to cool down and put it in the fridge for the next day, this was my best batch so far.

image

When the rice was nice and cool I sliced up beetroot, red pepper, avo and cucumber.

image

Then rolled them up.

image

And chopped them up.

image

image

Thanks for stopping by and have an awesome week.

image

image

Sort:  

I love vegan sushi and this one looks fantastic indeed - amazing job @gguy773

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

Nice! Sounds like a great swap! I don't mind some of the heartier rice, but I really enjoy the texture of things like barley, kamut and farro. I haven't tried my own sushi yet, but one of these days you might just inspire me!

Thanks, yeah you might like it, maybe I will try a black rice sushi, not sure if I will see the rice though 🤔

Great for Halloween! ;)

I'm very selective when it comes to food cos of allergies but you make me crave for some. Even the looks is appetite stimulating

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much @dimsyto

Ah this looks delicious!
I should make some sushi again, I definitely want some after seeing this ;)

Thanks @mermaid, means a lot coming from you, I have seen your sushi, and it da bomb 💣

Hehe, thanks, but you're definitely on the same level or even better ;)

Awesome Sushi Daddychef @gguy773 😍😍😍 Luv It! I like vegan sushi rather than one with raw fish😊

Thanks @cicisaja, yeah I never liked the raw fish one, it freaked me out 😬

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I have never eaten sushi, but they look very tempting!

Thanks, it is quite tasty, my daughter is always begging me to make it, and she is super fussy

These is absolutely fabulous sushi rolls Greg and your photos look wonderful as well. The Orchids in the background are very nice touch. Great recipe Chef and I hope you are going to fit in your wetsuit soon 🥑😊🌿
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks, yeah a couple pounds and I will be hitting the surf, needs to warm up a bit too, I hate the cold.

Oh yes, we are all waiting for the warmer weather.......you are welcome 😊

Brilliant valmon salmon!

Barley?! Who knew

Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24