UMFINO AND PHUTU WITH CHICKPEA SCHNITZEL

image

Hi everyone this is my fruitsandveggiesmonday entry, a bit of a mix bag if you will, Umfino is a traditional Zulu meal, basically leafy greans with onion and potato stewed, already vegan so no work there, phutu is a maze meal and it's similar to couscous. The schnitzel on the other hand is German, but this one has no meat so it is a chickpea schnitzel.

Ingredients for imfino

250g kale or spinach
4 small potatoes
1 onion
2 garlic cloves
1 veggie cube
Pinch of pepper

First I chop onion and garlic and saute

image

chop up the kale and into the pot it goes

image

Chopped up potatoes and 400ml water

image

Then some veggie stock and pinch of salt

image

This has to cook for a While, the potatoes need to over cook to thicken the sauce

Ingredients for chickpea schnitzel

2 cans of chickpeas
1 cooked potato
Half a cup of bread crumbs
Pinch of salt
Pinch of pepper
Pinch ground coriander
Pinch of garlic powder
Pinch of dried parsley

First I boil a potato with the skin, and throw the chickpeas in the oven a bit, till golden brown

image

image

Mash up the potato

image

Then put in the chickpeas with a pinch of salt, pepper and ground coriander

image

Mix well and put in the food processor

image

Leave it in a bowl

image

Get some crumbs and add a pinch of garlic powder and dried parsley

image

Then I just try and make them look like squished meat

image

Put them on trays

image

And bake till golden brown

image

And that is the outcome

image

Sort:  

Very creativ cooking. Who does not like a Schnitzel :D

I know right, thanks blockchainnerd

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I think you did manage to get that schnitzel look down pretty darn close! Love any meal with potatoes in two places, too. I'm a spud-loving gal all the way! I would definitely enjoy a plate of this. 😋

Thanks plantstoplanks, I didn't even realise I did that, I must be subconsciously obsessed with potatoes 🥔

Well they are just about the perfect food, so I don't blame you. I'm actually about to whip up some mashed potatoes here in few for dinner myself...

Looks like a good plate to me 😋

Thanks puravidaville

Wow, a chickpea schnitzel!!! Finger licking good for sure Greg. This meal looks fantastic and it's super healthy too. Well done my Friend 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thanks Lena

Looks interesting and yum!!! I have never had chickpeas that way! :D

Thanks just something I came up with in the spur of the moment

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34