Pecan burgers on the BBQ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

image

Happy fruitsandveggiesmonday with @lenasveganliving and @plantstoplanks.
Weather has changed and it looks like spring has begun earlier this year, flowers are out.

image

image

My peach tree is starting to bud.

image

And here in Northern Scotland it is a cool 14 degrees Celsius or 57.2°F if you from across the pond, which is definitely warm enough for me to BBQ /BRAAI, I can do it in any weather, here is a photo of me at Poland in well below freezing.

image

OK enough about my love of Fire, this is what I whipped up for this weeks fruitsandveggiesmonday, peacan burgers, as usual quick and easy.

Ingredients

150g pecans
250g chickpeas
1 onion
2 garlic cloves
1/2 a cup plain flour
1 tablespoon tomato pure
3 tablespoons soy sause
1 tablespoon liquid smoke
Pinch of cayenne pepper and smoked paprika

First pecans, onions and garlic.

image

Blend it up a bit and add the remaining ingredients and blend some more.

image

I like to form the patties in bread crumbs, it prevents from sticking to the grill and tastes awesome.

image

Once the patties are formed I bang them in the fridge to firm up a bit.

image

Then it's time for the fun part, FIRE 🔥. I like a wood fire for BBQ/BRAAI, it just tastes better.

image

If it is too hot I just regulate it with the lid like so.

image

So what is on my BBQ/BRAAI I hear you ask, well I got some sweet potato, mushrooms and my burgers.

image

I put mushrooms and burgers in a oner with melted cheese, ah yeah!

image

With some tomatoes and spinach, it is a monster of a burger.

image

Any way, that's it from me with my early spring time special, thanks for stopping by.

image

Sort:  

I love vegan burgers yumyumyum

Thanks, nothing like an awesome burger.

Howdy from Texas sir gguy773! Your post caught my eye when I was on Lena's blog because I've never heard of Pecan Burgers before, do they taste like Pecans or similar to meat? They look fantastic and I'd like to try them, the BBQ method over real wood has to help too as far as the flavor. Well done sir, they look great and the post is full of really nice pictures!

Thanks @janton, yeah they taste closer to meat than nuts Strangely enough, yeah you can't beat a wood fire.

howdy today sir gguy773! Thanks for that information, now I'd like to try those even more. Are you in Scotland?

Yeah, I am in Inverness, home of the Loch Ness monster

Howdy today sir gguy773! Oh I see, very interesting. But no one has actually seen that thing for many decades right? Are you a native Scot?

Congratulations @gguy773! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Ah yeah, this only looks delish. I didn’t know you could bbq some homemade veggie burgers. Bravo @gguy773. That burger is a beast !

Thanks, the trick is letting them set in the fridge for a bit and the crumbs.

I’ll remember that !

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

wow, this looks so good, but I'm afraid I must go to bed now with an empty stomach :)

Thanks, what about cake in bed, that's what I would do 😁

you're right I did it 😁

That's awesome! You living the life.

Well well well @gguy773, only a South African will braai in the snow, absolutely gorgeous entry! I would love to try making your pecan burger patties, sounds delicious!
PS Congrats on the @curie :)

Thanks @lizelle, no getting between me and a braai, not even being a tree hugging vegan will stop me.

It is still freezing here in Canada no spring in sight, so your burger would really hit the spot,lol. Looks absolutely yummylicious. Another great recipe Chef 😏👌
1 Collage.jpg

yaaaayy... another amazing things with bread crumbs all over the place @gguy773, Awesome !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46