๐ŸŒฝ โ˜ฏrganic Carl's Glass Gem Popcorn ๐ŸŒฝ ๐น๐“‡๐“Š๐’พ๐“‰๐“ˆ ๐’ถ๐“ƒ๐’น ๐’ฑ๐‘’๐‘”๐‘”๐’พ๐‘’๐“ˆ ๐‘€โค๐“ƒ๐’น๐’ถ๐“Ž ๐’ž๐ŸŽ๐“‚๐“…๐‘’๐“‰๐’พ๐“‰โ™ก๐“ƒ

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Carl's Glass Gem Popcorn



This is an entry for the Fruits and Veggies Monday Contest by @lenasveganliving!




This Beautiful transleucent popping corn was originally created by a man named Carl whom was inspired to honor his Native American Heritage by crossing various types of Native heirloom corn varieties to create this beautiful corn you see pictured here which was grown from seed carefully cultivated to retain the genetics of his creation. To Carl, this is a way of keeping his ancestors alive.

The corn pictured here was grown by us here at Applesnitch Farms 100% Organically. We chose to grow this corn along with several other heritage corn varieties because preserving the genetics of such a nutrient dense vegetable is vitally important these days with all of the genetic engineering taking place that threatens heritage seed stocks.


In addition to being beautiful this corn can be popped and eaten as popcorn, (see below) as well as ground for cornbread and other dishes such as grits. Due to the rainbow of colors in this corn it is far more nutrient dense than conventionally grown corn. Each color kernal contains different vitamins and minerals, and it is high in protien when compared to conventional corn.

glass_gem_corn_contest.jpg


From the Field...




corn_tassles.gif


To the Table, this corn is ethically produced with future generations in mind!




The idea is to teach children through making healthy food fun! Below is pictured the results of our popping corn experiment! As you can see when compared to Conventional (often GMO) popping corn, this corn looks a bit different... It looks as if it is burned, but it is not! Due to the higher protien content and not having as much starch content, this corn pops but most kernels will not pop into big fullfy white bits! They do heowever pop open a little bit and this softens the kernels so that they are edible, with a deliscious flavor! Sort of like a corn nut idea, but way better flavor and texture! (I used way too much oil as I expected the kernels to pop a little bigger than they did! Lol! I encourage you to give this exciting corn a try! (I can't wait to make cornbread with it, but I have to use this harvest for seed!!! ;)



glass_gem_popcorn.jpg

If you have enjoyed this post, be sure to follow my work, and give an upvote/resteem if you are able! Thank you for you time!



applesnitch_logo_s_banner_1.jpg

If you are interested in Following My Permaculture Project:

https://steemit.com/@erinn

Visit our website
Follow our work, and see product updates! (work in progress)



products_brereton_collection.gif



If you like my imagery and are interested in nature inspired art

See more of my work Here

Itโ€™s a big site, so if you are looking for our designs on products start here:


pr_giffs_c1_g1_rs.gif


Like, Share, Follow Studio Ananael on Facebook

Like and subscribe to the Studio Ananael YouTube Channel

Studio Ananael Twitter

Studio Ananael on G+

Some of my recent posts

Antique Heirloom Apples at Applesnitch Farms Permaculture Food Forest
Moonlit Pumpkin Patch at Applesnitch Farms Permaculture Food Forest
Organic Painted Mountain Corn
Organic Thimbleberry Blossoms (Wild Edible)
Organic Anasazi Beans
Organic Mullein Plant (Medicinal Herb)
Avian Fleur Design
Willow Whimsy
Moonlit Laurel Blossoms
โ˜ฏ Tuscan Blue Rosemary ( โ„)
โ™ฌ Fae See Fawn




Edited to add some of my most recent blog posts. :)
#minnowsupport #minnowsunite #gardening
































Sort: ย 

Hello @tomole! Thank you for showing appreciation for my post! :)

Welcome to our contest Dear @erinn I am very happy joined us. I absolutely love your entry and I am totally blown a way by the beauty of this rainbow corn. It's almost too pretty to be eaten, lol. However the nutritional value is equally impressive so I would love to give it a try.

Not to forget the story about the creation of this corn is very fascinating and heart touching. I diffidently love to learn more about Applesnitch Farms so I hope to see you next week again. Thank you so much ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

Hi @lenasveganliving! Thank you for the opportunity to share my blog! Thank you also for taking the time to have a look at it! That's awesome :) ๐ŸŽ‰

I have to admit, I did find myself wondering if it was a bit too much to try making a decoration with this corn!I'm not sure I'm quite ready to do that yet! But I may! I didn't think it was real corn the first time I had seen it!


One thing I found to be particularly interesting is that in the culture Carl is from, they view the corn as thier ancestors! I spent some time in contemplation of that! Food has a story, and it is much more than some product on a grocery store shelf!


I will definitely be following your blog and entering your contest again when I feel I have something of value to contribute to it! Thanks again!

You are most welcoem my Dear and I totally understand how special this corn is. I also can imagine it as a decoration in the kitchen, if it's dried.............that would be really beautiful.

All the best to you and hope to see you next week again. You have definitely a lot to contribute ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:53:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 26.25/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51