Vegetables From The Garden For FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday โ€ข 5 years ago

Hello dear vegans, here we are with a new edition of STEEMIT FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION ๐Ÿ’ ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‡ created by my dear friend Lena @lenasveganliving and hosted by my other dear friend Katie @plantstoplanks.

Today I'm going to show you the vegetables in our garden. Let's start with the onions as those are very important.

IMG_20190528_110240a.jpg

Each year we have at least three types of onions, yellow, white and red. This means at least two kg of cloves or sets. You may ask why? Well, let me tell you a secret. The more type you use when cooking, the better your dish will taste as each type had a different flavor and mixed together you get an amazing result.

IMG_20190622_144252a.jpg

This is the red one. I'm always buying the cloves from the same old man from the farmers market. I know what he's selling and the price is good, so I'm not changing suppliers.

IMG_20190622_144215a.jpg

This is the white one, a Dutch type that is not really good for raw consumption unless you like the strong flavor. However, it lasts longer and it's excellent for cooking.

IMG_20190619_105814a.jpg

Beans, we are having at least three types but at this stage you can't see anything except from the green leaves and the flower. Next week I'm going to show you some actual beans.

IMG_20190622_144354a.jpg

This is the other type, unfortunately I have no idea how these are called in English but those who have a garden, may recognize them.

IMG_20190622_144201a.jpg

This is the third type.

IMG_20190622_144147a.jpg

Sweet corn!!! I love sweet corn, can't wait to have some but it's still a long way till we get some.

IMG_20190624_081807a.jpg

There is a cute little pepper there, you just have to find it.

IMG_20190622_144054a.jpg

I don't know how many types of pepper we have this year but must be around five.

IMG_20190624_081822a.jpg

Basil, which is an important herb, it is needed for tomato juice. These seeds were planted directly outside and didn't do well.

IMG_20190624_081556a.jpg

This is the second attempt, looking good already. There's plenty of time, nothing is lost.

IMG_20190622_144007a.jpg

Do you recognize this cutie pie?

IMG_20190619_110550a.jpg

What about this cutie?

IMG_20190624_075123a.jpg

Yes, that's right cucumbers. These can already be eaten, so we don't have to buy cucumbers from the farmers market.

IMG_20190622_080638a.jpg

Yay, pickles!!! Who wants some pickles? I do!

IMG_20190619_110644a.jpg

Tomatoes are still green, can't wait to ripen.

IMG_20190619_110628a.jpg

All the hard work we put into this starting to pay off. It's nothing better than to go out in the garden, pick whatever you can find and start cooking. I often do that and it's fantastic. You choose the ingredients according to what you have and you know it's yours.

Last year we had some unexpected guests and I wasn't prepared to have them for lunch. There were still two hours till they arrived, so I did what I do best, improvise. I went out to the garden, picked a little bit of this, a little bit of that, and put together a vegetable soup. Got some potatoes and made a potato salad with eggs that I got from the neighbor lady. I also needed something for dessert, so I picked some pears that we had back then and made a sponge cake and the lunch was ready.

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday. I hope next week I can show you more. Stay tuned.

Sort: ย 

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARD!
Most Beautiful Fruit & Veggie.png

Thank you very much dear Lena! ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ“

Well deserved my Dear Erika, I hope to see you next week ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’

That's a really nice garden! It looks like it's doing really well!

Thank you. So far so good, can't complain.

Looking great! Thanks for sharing some of the other things you've got growing. It really is so much fun to be able to go out and make a meal right from the ground. We're pulling off some more tomatoes finally, but the cucumbers are still the champions, too. I think I'm going to try to grow some basil inside as what we planted outside didn't make it. Might be too hot here already. I'll be excited to see those beans when they're ready!

Many thanks Katie, it is hard work but totally worth it. Basil was a failure for us too but plan B worked. Maybe the soil wasn't good. Growing them inside in a pot may be a good idea. Good luck with the project and with the garden as well ๐Ÿ˜Š

Definitely hard work Erika, but everything is looking great. I love that photo of tiny and fuzzy cucumber ๐Ÿฅ’๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŒฟ
5jmvkoxih6.jpg

Thank you dear Lena! I'm glad you like our garden ๐Ÿ˜Š the cucumbers are cute indeed.

Always a pleasure my Dear Erika, I love to see the progress in your garden every year ๐Ÿ˜

Everything is looking great! The beans that grow up the poles are simply called pole beans in English.
Your garden really is huge!

It's not that huge really or I'm just used to it, I don't know. Thank you for the English name of the beans. I still have a lot to learn.

Your English is perfect and simply the fact that you are looking for the English words for different types of string beans shows how amazing your language skills are!

Last year we had some guests from Germany, neither of us speaks German, so I had to speak English. I took them out to the garden and explained them which is which in English. That knowledge I've been accumulating by posting here came in handy. Otherwise I would have been forced to use web translation for the words I don't know.

I would think speaking would be more difficult than writing is?

You got a 7.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

@erikah, you have a beautiful huge garden. I just started my small garden in a raised bed. I planted some cucumbers yesterday. I hope mine will look as good as yours.

Thank you and good luck with your garden, I hope you get cucumbers soon.

Thank you and good luck
With your garden, I hope you
Get cucumbers soon.

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย - erikah


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Itโ€™s funny looking at s garden that gets different weather. Everyone here is getting a late start with the cold May and June. Your garden looks ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Thank you.

Hi @erikah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.838 which ranks you at #397 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 398).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is really helpful. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50