Ramsons - Wild Garlic for FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION

Today I'm going to post about this wild garlic (Allium ursinum) and this is my entry to FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY COMPETITION run by our dear friend @lenasveganliving.

This plant has lot's of names, it is known as ramsons, wild garlic, buckrams, broad-leaved garlic, wood garlic, bear leek, or bear's garlic etc. It's pretty new to me, this is only the second year I use it. We don't have it in the garden, unfortunately, so I bought it at the market.

IMG_20180408_162129a.jpg

Usually I have it on a sandwich or as a salad but yesterday I made a tomato sauce with it. It is called wild garlic but it's not as strong as garlic. I made a sauce for two, used about 7 - 8 leaves and got a very nice flavor. I'm planning to buy more and keep it in the freezer. I'd rather use my own spice, don't buy spice mixes.

IMG_20180408_170710a.jpg

Turns out ramsons are rich in vitamin C, sailors used to eat them to avoid vitamin C deficiency which would have led to scurvy. It is possible that the plant was brought to Finland by the Vikings. Wild garlic leaves are also used as fodder for cattle, their milk tastes slightly of garlic, and butter made from this milk used to be very popular in 19th-century Switzerland.

Sort:  

Very interesting! I've never had this information. I'll be more attentive!

Cool. Never heard of them before. Wild garlic sounds interesting.
Vitamin c means sour. Can be used as topping too. Thanks for bringing new food to my dictionary. 😂
Mouthwatering picture

My pleasure, I'm glad I can show you something new :)

WOW....that is definitely a new one to me i would have never took it as a garlic leaf more like a kale or spinach leaf certainly a interesting one will have to google that one and read more about this new garlic leaf that i have never seen before. Nice one interesting post and that pasta just made me hungry...lol :)

Thank you @hangin, I would definitely recommend it :)
It's better to have your own spice, instead of buying something full of colorants and other chemicals.

Your so right my mum says the same thing and always tastes better :)

Glad to hear that :)

Oh yum, that looks like an excellent way to use them! I can't say that I have tried them before either, but I will happily include anything that healthy into my diet if I can find it!

You won't regret it, it's delicious!

Most éppen medvehagymalevest eszek! Imádom nyersen és levesnek is!

Levest még nem készítettem, de következik.

Oh, I would love to try that butter! My ramps are beginning to come up.
(Wild onions) but I don't think I have seen wild garlic...just the terribly invasive garlic mustard.

The leaves are similar to the Lily of the valley, which is poisonous. There are many types and I would only buy it from a secure source.
I've never seen such butter but I would taste it.

Very interesting Dear Erika. I would love to try it..............even my sister mentioned this garlic (she lives in Slovakia, where I am from), but I never saw it here in Canada. Your pasta looks very yummy 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you dear Lena, I hope you can find some and you can taste it. I'm sure you'f love it 😊

Great post, I love this plant. Associated with coriander, wild garlic is an interesting remedy to use in case of heavy metal poisoning (lead, aluminum, mercury, cadmium ...).

Cred ca se numeste leurda, nu? Se gaseste numai primavara, daca nu gresesc.

Da, ai dreptate, este leurda si se gaseste numai primavara. Trebuie sa mai cumpar :)

Si eu. Inca n-am cumparat dar tu mi-ai reamintit. Multumesc!

Cu mare placere!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53