Kohlrabi Pottage with Tomato Juice for Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Kohlrabi is not a popular vegetable, I know. Let's see if I can change that :) I love it fresh as a snack, cooked as a soup and now I've tried out as a pottage and I'm very satisfied with it.

ll8al2xpgv.jpg

Ingredients for 4 servings:

  • 6 medium kohlrabi,
  • 2 chopped onions,
  • 3 tablespoons of oil (sunflower or vegetable),
  • 1 - 2 tablespoons flour
  • dill to taste,
  • salt to taste,
  • 2 teaspoons of red paprika powder
  • 330 ml tomato juice.

Clean/peel the onion and kohlrabi and cut it into small cubes.

Heat the oil and cook the anion while stirring for 4-5 minutes. Add the kohlrabi, cook a bit further.

Dust with salt and red paprika powder, slowly add some cold water (to cover the kohlrabi), add the dill.

Cook on a medium heat until the kohlrabi is tender. Mix the flour with the tomato juice, add to the kohlrabi while stirring. Cook for a 4 - 5 minutes.

Season with salt (if needed) and freshly chopped dill, serve it with toast.

There's another version prepared with milk instead of tomato juice but I guess this is better. If you're using milk, you might want to add some vinegar.

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by @lenasveganliving.

I'm also supporting the Make It Healthy Project run by @woman-onthe-wing.

vpsqd9msv4.jpg

steemit-border

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Sort:  

I have a couple kohlrabi in the refrigerator...this will be a good thing to do with them! Thanks for the idea!

My pleasure, I'm glad you like it :) Let me know!

This soups looks amazing, it reminds me of soup my grandmother used to make. She was using kohlrabi in soups a lot and she always had them in her garden. Great recipe Erika 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Many thanks my dear Lena! I'm glad it reminds you of something nice. Have a great day 😘♥️

Always a pleasure my Dear and CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
3.png

Thank you so much! I'm very happy!

I love kohlrabi! I haven't used it in this way yet, so thank you for sharing! I'll have to make it next time I get my hands on some. :)

Please do and let me know if you like it. :)

I enjoyed my kholrabi stir-fry very much thanks to your tips a while ago, and am delighted to see another recipe! Tasty, nutritious and easy for anyone to prepare, and I was so happy to feature this as Recipe of the Week in the Make It Healthy Magazine! Thank you Erikah :-)

Oh, what a great honour to be featured again! Thank you so much! I'm very glad to hear you are using in real life what I'm posting about! I'm heading to see your latest edition! 😘

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks @pixresteemer! I really appreciate it!

I don't have kohlrabi very often but I really enjoy it when I do. Your soup looks super delicious, I'm sure it tasted amazing!

Thank you @nina.ser, I hope you are going to try it out one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46