FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY : Sambal Mustafa🌻

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday5 years ago (edited)

Hellow Foodies and Steemit Fellows😉

Love to see you all on monday especially the FAVM community😊 where you can enjoy the beauty and wonderful photos of fruits and veggies around the world also great recipes from talented chefs.

Im not a photographer nor a chef 😊 I just love to have fun on monday😉

If you happened not familiar with #fruitsandveggiesmonday, you should check on this POST. This competition is initiated by @lenasveganliving and hosts by @plantstoplanks on @vegansofsteemit every monday.


w5kfm2xqcy.jpg

Sambal Mustafa actually a sweet crispy potatoes in chilli sauce.

You have seen the wet version of this food from our last week's judge @anggreklestari, because I like to have something crunchy and last longer than the wet one, I cooked this Sambal😊

the common one usually use anchovies to get the salty taste too.

I made this on saturday (Indonesia Western Time or GMT+7), it took nearly 4 hours to complete the cooking process (I was trying to use the cooking oil to fry the grated potatoes efficiently😊). Okay.. Let's start cooking (because I need to do another real cooking for my family soon).

What You Need to Make Sambal Mustafa and How to?

ywcmfwnp9k.jpg

Grated the potatoes and clean it till the water is clear.

We need to prepare;

  1. A kilogram potatoes
  2. 10 red chillies, 8 cloves Garlic , 6 cloves shallot, 10 pieces of kaffir lime leaves, 3 big clumps of lemongrass and 2 eyes of tamarind.
  3. 100 ml cooking oil to mashed with the seasoning and enough amount to deep fry the potato.
  4. 4 table spoon full sugar and a tsp salt
  5. 200 grams tempe (slice and deep fry)
  6. 200 grams ground peanuts (deep fry)

Let's start and proceed♨🚀

pk8227amaj.jpg

the ingredients to make the sambal.

Mashed the chillies, onion and garlic with 100 ml cooking oil and a tsp salt. We can do this when the grated potatoes already on the frying pan. Since I don't have the deep-fryer tool, so I will use the only metal wok I have😊 inherited from my belated MIL (never met her, she passed away in 2006).

gybg2n8m6b.jpg

the second tips to get a crunchy fried potato is don't bother to stir it up while it's on fire😊 when you heard the cooking oil not too noisy babbling, turn the potatoes to the other side and move it out and dry it when the cooking oil is so quiet.

9gm77yba3y.jpg

yeap.. I like my tempe thin and crispy too😊 so, I'll hardly known where is it after mix it up later😆 make sure you don't over-fry the ground peanuts😉

3 hours to prepare all the fries😁😅😆 I hope that when you re-cook this, you will take it less longer than mine😊. Now, time to proceed the Sambal☺

8if20xo6q4.jpg

we don't use any water or other liquid except the cooking oil😊 that's the secret why this sambal will stay crispy after few days (sometimes a month)

Stir-fry the mashed ingredients for a few minutes till the smell of the chilli and onion softer, than add the slices fragrant green and white things, also the 2 eyes of tamarind. Fry it and stir it up and down😊 you can make some noise with the wok if you want to😆 right when you see the sambal is shiny red and you can smell the fragrance of lime-lemon, time to add 4 table spoon full sugar and make sure you mux it well and lower the heat too.. so it won't be a caramelized sauce (it will be hard and won't cover up all the fries). Then pour the fried peanuts, tempe, mix it well and then the fried crispy potato. Mix it ... that's fine if you crash it a little, not too beautiful but will be delicious to eat😊. Turn off the heat and let ut cool before you keep it in a food container with lid.

sb9qplw498.jpg

you got this Sambal Mustafa😇 you can eat it with rice or just change tour popcorn while watching the sport with this. TASTY, sweet, salty and crispy (if you like it spicy too, just add more red chillies😊).

not so tips and tricks😊

  • If you don't have the kaffir lime leaf, you can use the dried basil or oregano.

  • if you don't have tamarind and lemongrass, then use minced ginger and galangal.

  • you don't need to keep this in the fridge, it will be fine in home temperature. Though I call this Sambal Mustafa, it's actually just another crispy-crunchy snack like potato chips😊

  • and if you don't have potato, you can subtitute it with yucca/cassava or sweet potato. If you choose sweet potato, better skip the sugar

  • if you don't like tempe, you can skip it too and if you are not a vegan, use the fried anchovies, it will add a salty taste and yummy too.

By The Way, Who is Mustafa, cici?

Well.. I have many friends named Mustafa but I don't know who was the one created this recipe😁 and I assumed that this sambal called as Sambal Mustafa because when you see this in the middle of other kind of fries, you will definitely choose it.

Mustafa means The Chosen One, it's not Mourinho or Harry Potter.. but Mustafa😉😆

You may call this spicy potato too😊 you are free to name your dish and foods you've prepared I think😊 and I will follow the trend, many people in Indonesia call this Sambal Mustafa or Sambal Goreng Kentang. I think you have your own words for this, because this is not an original recipe from my country too.

by the way😊 this is not My FIL's favourite, he can't eat crunchy crispy foods😊 so it's mine and my hubby's favourite😆 we can have our daily meals just with rice+sambal mustafa for months😆.

Have a Happy Monday and See you around😉☕🍥🍢🍡🍘🍠🍌🍎🍇🍆🍅🍄🍋🍊🍏🍈🍉🍐🍑🍒🍓🍍🌷🌰🌽🌾🌝

Sort:  

Try something else😂😂 make spicy popcorn like this too😉

Ndak tahu.. ndak ngikutin dan belum baca juga. Setahu saya, meskipun sbd nggak dipake lagi pun, bila masih ada di wallet.. tetap bisa dikonversikan kok. Laahh.. setiap payout masih dapat SBD bukan steem.

Sbd itu akan berkurang nilainya bila harga steem menguat. Sedangkan saat ini harga steem sangat lemah. Jadi santai saja.

wow, that sounds really delicious and healthy @cicisaja!

You can try and modified it @proanima .. delicious ..Yes, but healthy? I doubt it.. because it's sweet and frying😊

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your day😉

I think we need to add more anchovies my dear @cicisaja, because we both love it but that's fine with the tempe. Will you make the other kind of this which using the roasted coconut one?

Well.. I'd love to.. If Kang Jawir brings the good anchovies and the price is a lil low😂😂.. do you mean the serundeng? Okay.. I'll make it before Ied.

I think you're right... serundeng😉 if you still have a plan to cook lontong for the Ied, then don't forget to make Sambal Mustafa and Serundeng, I think it will be perfect with your Rendang too😉

You always make me smile when I read your posts. Though 3 hours to make this, wow! That's some dedication to getting those potatoes nice and crispy, haha! I always have a hard time getting them that way when I make hashbrowns (you cook them in a similar manner). I think I'm usually too impatient to let the potatoes cook out all the moisture. 😜

Well.. if you can't create a quality pist..why not an entertaining one😉 that's what I learned since I joined steemit and all contest @plabtstoplanks 😁.. me too.. I found that washing the potato till the water clear and not mess up when the cooking oil babbling really worth to try😆. Thank you.. so it is harshbrown in your language😁

Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Yumy yummy 🙌

Sampe sekarang masih penasaran sama si mustafa. 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Aku siy nggak penasaran.. kayak lagu pak pung pak mustape itu.. pasti dia jago masak😁

Nice post. You put a lot of work into this

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @lionsmane, for this kinda food.. I can do that all day😆

Hi, @cicisaja!

You just got a 0.16% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29