SUNSHINE SALAD

IMG_6144.JPG

You don't need to live on a homestead or even have a back yard to grow your own herbs and salad greens. When I lived and worked in England it was usually in apartments with only windows to the outside. I always had pots of herbs growing in the sunny window sills. These I used liberally in salads or in my cooking. My first home had a postcard size verandah (patio) on which I had slightly bigger pots of herbs. The best discovery was growing sunflower salad. To this day it is one of my favourite mini gardens to grow and eat.

IMG_6206.JPG

You don't need green fingers or much space to eat fresh and healthy. Just a selection of seeds and grains, water, shallow gardening trays and some river sand. Please join me for another colourful #fruitsandveggiesmonday adventure with lovely @lenasveganliving and her enthusiastic contributors.

IMG_6295.JPG

For a tray of about 50cm x 25cm (and about 8cm deep) you'll need 1.5 cups of unhulled sunflower seeds. These you soak overnight in a bottle of water. I dissolve a teaspoon of himalayan salt in the water before adding the sunflower seeds. It revitalises the water and gives the little sunflower seeds a boost. In the morning rinse the sunflower seeds and allow to stand for another day. In this time the growing begins. You can get your tray ready by covering the base (where the holes are) with a few layers of newspaper. Then half to 3/4 fill the tray with clean river sand. After rinsing the sunflower seeds again on the second day spread them on the river sand. They should make a rather dense layer. Over the sunflower seeds sprinkle a thin layer of river sand which just covers them.

IMG_6431.JPG

Keep them well watered and within 2 to 3 days you will have the beautiful green heads popping up, wearing their sunflower hats! It is important that the tray of sunflower seeds gets some sun but also shade. And they must be kept wet. Not drowing, just damp. Depending on your season and climate the sunflower sprouts should be ready to harvest within a week of planting. The little plant is at its maximum nutritional potential in that first week. It is important not to harvest them after they are leggy and have a number of leaves. You want them tender and still full of goodness.

IMG_6122.JPG

While our sunflower seeds are growing let's prepare the rest of this tasty summer dish! Our favourite salad dressing is this zesty tahini sauce. I like to grind my own sesame seeds to make tahini but it is not always possible. Remember I cook like Jamie Oliver, with dashes and pinches and guesstimates. So, you'll also need:
1 cup tahini
1/2 cup water
1 lemon juiced (or 2 to 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar - with the mother preferably)
2 to 3 tablespoons of olive oil.
A dash of salt
A dash of cayenne
A dash of ground cumin seeds
A garlic clove or two

IMG_6204.JPG

Measure out 1 cup of tahini. Add 1/3 - 1/2 cup water depending on how thick or runny you want your salad dressing. Mix until smooth. Stir in the lemon or apple cider vinegar and olive oil. You'll notice it thickens. Add all your spices and crushed garlic. Refrigerate. To fill my husband I add a generous portion of roasted vegetables. Today I was pressed for time and so I simply chopped up a sweet butternut and roasted it in a pan, with coconut oil and some of our freshly harvested garlic.

IMG_6137.JPG

When you are ready to eat your sunshine salad use a pair of scissors and snip the lovely sunflower sprouts off at the base, near the bed of river sand. You may need an invaluable little assistant for this part! You can add other herbs or salad greens. For today's sunshine salad I picked rocket (arugula) as our garden is exploding with this peppery herb. Rinse well and dry.

IMG_6127.JPG

Pile the greens on your plate. Add the roasted veggies and garlic. Of course what is a salad without avo? I put one whole avo on each plate. We also enjoy our olives so they invariably top off a salad. Sometimes I add chai and pumpkin seeds. Liberally drizzle your zesty tahini salad dressing and .... voila! Even my carnivorous husband loves the sunshine salad. It is delicious. It is easy. It is packed full of flavour and nutrition! Happy #fruitsandveggiesmonday everyone!

IMG_6143.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hi buckaroo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

WOW!! Thank you so much @curie!

There is nothing like homegrown greens, to bad I don't have enough sun for them to grow on my little two windows. Especially at wintertime, there is no chance :(

Your salad must is magnificent full of powerful nutriments and yummy flavor. Not to forget, the valuable information about growing greens and beautiful photography with cuteness. Well done Tracey 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you so much Lena

I am sprouting different greens at home but I have never heard of sprouting sunflowers seeds. I will definitely try it this week as my husband will love it. I can't even imagine how this plant will taste like and I'm so excited to try it out :)

In the past I was spending a lot of money on buying my sprouts but it is so easy to do it yourself that I keep telling people not to buy them because everyone can manage their own sprouts.

I love roasted butternut squash. We have them now in abundance and eat them at least twice a week :)

I am one of a very few people who don't like avocados. I eat them like twice a year but I can't say that I would enjoy them. I can have some guacamole with fries but I can't really enjoy avocado just like this.

I like your dressing. There is nothing better than using tahini for dressings :)

Thank you for sharing and good luck with the competition!

Plenty of people buy sprouts. But I think it's because, as you, they don't realize how simple it is to grow your own! I hope you and your husband get to eat your own sunflower sprouts @delishtreats. They are surprisingly sweet and tender. I love them. And you can replace the avo with something else - or simply leave it out!

You are speaking my love language with this one!! 😍 Tahini dressing is definitely one of my favorite salad toppings! I have done some other sprouts before, but not sunflower seeds yet so I'm going to have to add them to the list to try. This definitely would bring sunshine to my day if I had a bowl in front of me right now.

Oooo @plantstoplanks I think tahini everything is a love language all of its own! I have a delicious carob and tahini candy that I must share with you. Scrumptious!

Let me try to do it for the next week or two.....

That is really quick and healthy salad, it is good to have some herbs ready to go, like sometimes in summer I like to buy the pots with different herbs they can survive few weeks and you always have fresh greens for salads. Unfortunately in my family, my hubby doe not like salads much, but I love to prepare many different sorts, on and off my son is happy to try new tastes. Looking at your ingredients it is something that I will try to prepare on weekend. Thanks for sharing :)

When I was in the city I also bought those pots of herbs. They are great for something fresh in food! Thanks for your sweet comment @stef1 and I hope you get to try this

This is fantastic. Thank you for showing us how to sprout our own micro greens :). That salad doesn’t look too shabby either. I also make a tahini dressing that looks pretty much exactly like yours. So yum 😋!

I love micro greens @puravidaville! As @plantstoplanks says that tahini dressing speaks a lot of people's love language!

For sure it does!

Uhh, wow. That looks so good.

And very nice letting folks know they can homestead in an apartment if they set their mind to it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Apartment homesteading! Can you imagine @nateonsteemit this may be a revolutionary new lifestyle! I somehow think the composting and chickens or goats may be a problem ....

Lol just a small problem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I never knew that we can make delicious food from sunflower sprouts @buckaroo 😯 I love its roasted seeds (which we call it as kwaci). Thanks for the tips of growing the sunflower seeds😊 we bought some seeds 2 months ago but none of us really have time for gardening.

Avos, roasted butternut squash and fresh sunsprouts with tahini dressing.. uhnm😃 intriguing.

Such a yummy combination! But time is always the secret ingredient @cicisaja! I love roasted seeds too.

mmmm look yummy. do you think it could be good idea put some orange slice? idk why I have that vision on my mind... I love found this particular dishes, looks amazing how people who love to cook make wonders with so simple ingredients... also I love avo.

Sliced orange would give a lovely zesty taste @wisejg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27