GOLDEN GLOW - FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

IMG_0918.JPG

Arguably one of the most potent herbs in existence, tumeric is truly remarkable. It is the main spice in Indian cuisine and used across the world in a variety of culinary dishes. Tumeric looks very similar to its cousin, ginger, except for that special golden glow. Tumeric has been used for centuries in ancient medicine but in recent years it is gaining popularity for a number of health reasons. The chief one being as a powerful anti-inflammatory. Tumeric's secret weapon? The extracted compound; curcumin.

IMG_0096.JPG

While we can get the organic tumeric powder from the dried rhizome, here in South Africa, the actual plant (or root) is as scarce as the proverbial duck's teeth! Until a few weeks ago when I stopped at a new fruit and veggie store. Imagine my delight when I found a basket of fresh tumeric! I bought some and have been nursing the golden roots ever since. The smaller tumeric I have soaked in water and will plant once sprouted. The bigger roots have been sliced into delicious soup! My favourite type of cooking is the Jamie Oliver style. A dash of this. A pinch of that. A dollop of the next thing. And a few bunches of this, that and the next thing. If it is wholesome and smells right then into the pot it goes! My nose tells me how to cook.

IMG_9823.JPG

GOLDEN GLOW VEGGIE SOUP:
A bunch of leeks and a few garlic cloves
A bunch of carrots
A bunch of turnips
A bunch of celery
A handful of fresh thyme, rosemary and oregano
A small handful of seaweed
A couple bay leaves
A pinch of himalayan salt and dash of paprika
A small tumeric root
A wedge of ginger

Coconut oil is amazing and I use it largely for cooking so I fry the garlic and leeks until brown. Add the spices. Add chopped up veggies and seaweed. Cover with water. Bring to the boil and simmer for about an hour. I add the rosemary with the water. Remove once boiled (also the bay leaves). Add the thyme and oregano (they are far more delicate in flavour). Eat chunky or blend. You can also add a scoop of coconut cream for that creamy texture. It freezes beautifully. Right now we're in a very cold winter and the golden soup is gobbled up within a couple days.

IMG_0098.JPG

Thanks to the lovely hostess @lenasveganliving for the colourful #fruitsandveggiesmonday. A big thank you to the sponsors and judges as well as all the other healthy foodies for such inspirational posts!

IMG_9824.JPG

Sort:  

I am very happy you were able to buy turmeric and made this amazingly delicious soup; not to mention super healthy. Well done my Dear, I really enjoyed reading you story as well.🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving. I hope that in time I will have my own crop of lovely tumeric roots

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

YIPPEE!!! Thank you so much

Well deserved my Dear 🌸💖🌸

I am sure you will and keep us posted :)

What a beautiful post. Can I encourage you to use the tag #naturalmedicine? It seems to fall really nicely under that tag - food is such a brilliant medicine, particularly turmeric. Where do you get your fresh turmeric from? Seaweed is a nice touch too. My hubby always buys it and then never uses it, and I don't quite know what to do with it, so this would be perfect! - K.

Thank you @naturalmedicine and nice to "meet" you! I will most certainly use that tag. A lot of my posts are about natural medicine. This was the first fresh tumeric I have ever had. It's never been available in South Africa. Which is why I want to plant some of the roots that I'm nursing. You can use it in plenty of cooking or if you make a smoothie (fruit or veg)

FABULOUS!!! That'll be great. There's a lot happening in next few weeks on this account, so I'd love for you to keep in touch and follow so you can be part of this - I always love your posts! - K

Wonderful! Thanks for the compliment

This looks great! I definitely find writing up recipes a challenge sometimes for the same reason. I don't always measure everything perfectly, or each time I get a vegetable it may be a slightly different size. A beautiful soup like this always comes together well, though, so using your senses as a guide is a good way to get a tasty outcome!

Absolutely! Soup with different veggies, is like salad, never the same but generally delicious

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T05:59:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 162.50/200.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Following your nose is the best recipe I know!
I make golden milk each morning with turmeric, black pepper, coconut oil, vanilla pod and delicious hemp milk. A fantastic start to the day.

Hemp milk in the golden milk is a wonderful idea! I must admit although I make golden paste to cook with or take medicinally (and feed to my goats or husband as necessary) I haven't ever made golden milk. It is a fantastic way to start the day

Wow my sister, your posts are rocking it proper, you killing me, you killing me dead :P I should start coming to you now for some steemit advice eh.. mwah ps ur post was on 98 thanks to shaka and creativetruth let me tip it over one dolla love you long time ;) mwah mwah

Thanks Craig! Wouldn't be here without you....guess I owe you that ferrari

Horee sheet I just saw you wallet someone delegated you 75 SP ? WOW you are causing a wave or six here nice one sister!

WHAAAAAT??!!! That's why I suddenly have such a strong vote. That's amazing

Ya look at your wallet now to find out who gave it to you? Delegation is not permanent so it will go at some point prolly a week or month but whoever that was thanks is in order ;) x

Yes when can I expect delivery? ;P Sister power up please asked you a gazillion times, do it your upvote will be worth more. mwah

howdy @buckaroo! now that is some awesome soup right there! and so healthy, I love the way you just throw great stuff in there, lol. it's the best way to do it. thanks for making my mouth water! God bless you guys!

My favourite way to cook @janton

Beautiful! Fantastic photos too, they really show the turmeric in all its golden glory! :-)

Thank you. It IS golden glory!!

I totally agree with you. Turmeric is really good for health. It has medicinal values. I do use turmeric powder in my everyday cooking.

It really adds such a lovely flavour and colour to food! Thanks for your imput

M-m-m made me hungry looking at all that good stuff you put into your soup. Delicious and nutritious. Where abouts are you from that you are experiencing winter now? Have you got a long enough growing season to grow turmeric in your garden?

Nice to "meet" you @porters. We're in South Africa. Our summers are very long. And extremely hot where we homestead

Nice to meet you too! You are the exact opposite to us in northern Saskatchewan, Canada - we've short growing seasons and cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91