Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #63 | Orangetti Broccoli Cheese Bake

DSC_0146 (2).jpg

Happy Monday my Fruits and Veggie Friends!


I hope you all had a great weekend filled with rest and relaxation! We all need a little rejuvenation once in a while. After a great morning bike ride with Mr. Bird I feel rejuvenated! Ready to hit the kitchen!


It’s time for a bit of Fruits and Veggies Fun!


Bu wait! Before we get started, I want to give a huge thanks to our host @lenasveganliving! Here we are celebrating week 63 together, dear Lena’s Fruits and Veggies Monday Challenge! So grateful to be able to assemble each week to celebrate healthy eating among so many great Steemians! And cheers to our guest judge @puravidaville! She packs quite a punch in the kitchen; her entries each week continue to amaze me! Both she and Lena are so inspiring and uplifting!


It’s a squash kind of week this week. Have you noticed the markets are full of every kind of squash? Acorn, Butternut, Chayote, and Spaghetti squash. Too many to choose from!


How about Orangetti Squash?


DSC_0094 (2).jpg


For those of you who aren’t familiar with an Orangetti squash, it’s much like the spaghetti squash but sweeter and lighter. I love it. The spaghetti from this squash is delicious! I hope you’ll like it!


todaysjourney.jpg

Lets make Orangetti Broccoli Cheese Bakes!


You’ll need

  • Organic Orangetti Squash (1)
  • Broccoli Florets (1 cup)
  • Red Pepper flakes (1/2 tsp)
  • Onion (1 medium sliced)
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms (1 cup sliced)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves (3-4)
  • Non-dairy Mozzarella cheese (1/2 cup)
  • Nutritional Yeast (1/3 cup)

I began by slicing the squash in half. I know you typically slice them lengthwise…I like the cute little serving bowls and I think you get longer spaghetti noodles this way! Scoop out the seeds. Don’t discard them! These are wonderful baked just like pumpkin seeds!


DSC_0098 (2).jpg


Place these (face down) on a baking sheet, add a couple tablespoons of water, cover with parchment paper, then aluminum and bake at 400 degrees for 50 minutes. Pierce with a fork to make sure it is tender. Set aside to cool.


While the squash is baking, wash and slice the onions and mushrooms. Beautiful aren’t they?

DSC_0105 (2).jpg


Saute the onions until they’re translucent then add the Baby Bellas, cooking until they begin to release water.


DSC_0132 (2).jpg


Now sauté the Red Pepper flakes in a drizzle of Olive oil for just a few minutes. Make sure you stir the whole time…toss in the broccoli and garlic along with 2 tablespoons of water and cook for 2-3 minutes. You want the broccoli tender! Set aside.


Hopefully the squash has cooled by now so, using a fork remove the spaghetti strands from the sides of the squash. Oh, be careful that you don’t pierce the skin of the squash! Of course I’ve never let that happen, right? Place the spaghetti in a big bowl; add the broccoli florets and the mushroom/onion mixture. Mix well. Sprinkle the Nutritional yeast over all, salt and pepper and mix it again, separating the spaghetti noodles in the process.


DSC_0137 (2).jpg


Now spoon this mixture into the cooled squash shells and top with your favorite non-dairy cheese.


DSC_0138 (2).jpg


Place the squash under the broiler to just brown the cheese! Time to eat!

DSC_0158 (2).jpg

This is so satisfying! I hope you’ll enjoy my Fruits and Veggie Friends

DSC_0144 (2).jpg

I hope you all have a great week filled with healthy Fruits and Veggies! Good luck to all!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

THIS even looks yummy to me and I don't like 1/2 the things in it :D
knowing you if I went to visit you would have me liking all kinds of veggies I never did before!!! :D

I love your posts!!

hehehe...you are too funny! It would be so fun to share these dishes with you! I know you would love them! You are so kind and supportive, truly appreciated @snook!

That looks just really good. I generally speaking eat Acorn Squash this time of year, but maybe it's time to look into Orangetti.

Your presentation and photography is just awesome, too. Thank you!

You are so kind, thank you! I like this better than Acorn...I hope you'll try it some time. The spaghetti concept is fun to toss with pesto or pasta sauce. Thanks for stopping in!!

Such a delicious recipe and delightful presentation my Dear. You are really in the Autumn mood, even in the warm Florida. And how yummy this squash must be, if you say it's even better than spaghetti squash which I love. Well done my Dear, absolutely love it 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

My God, you’re an animal! These squash bowls are fantastic. Is there anything you don’t do? Such a kitchen magician. I bet they were perfect after a nice bike ride. And you’re the one with the TKO @birdsinparadise. Great job!!!

HAHAHAHA! Okay, now that really made me laugh @puravidaville...even had Mr. Bird laughing! You are too kind... no magician here....just love mixing up those mystery dishes....:) Can't wait to see what you're cooking up!

The color on the Orangetti squash is absolutely gorgeous. I really like how you used the shell of the squash as a bowl. Olive oil, garlic and chili flakes are one of my favorite flavor combinations. This is fantastic @birdsinparadise.

Thank you @loveself, the bowl-concept was kind of a last minute thought! They were cute and colorful ;) I too love the EVOO/Garlic/Chiliflakes too especially with the veggies. You're too kind my friend!

What a great way idea to cut the squash that way! I've seen it used longways and stuffed, but I think your way is much cuter. I used my two small ones this weekend that would have been perfect like this. I still have one monster spaghetti squash to use soon, too. I don't know that I have had that particular variety before. I pretty much love all kinds of squashes, though, so I'm sure yours would be delicious, too!

I liked the little cup concept, lol. Oh, you are set then if you have a monster squash waiting for you! These small squash were quite enough for Mr Bird and I...very hearty! I hope you find one at your fall markets! I would love to hear :)

A veggie delight! Stuffed veggies is a fantastic idea. I always forget to do it. Thanks for the reminder @birdsinparadise. I have a stir-fry on the menu for later but I'm going to find something big an hollow to stuff ;)

You are too funny! But I know, stuffed is good, an all in one meal! It is a tasty mixture, I hope you'll try it and let me know what you think! Stir fry is awfully nice though...lol :) Thanks for your sweet support!

Gorgeous food as always my friend! You have such varied squashes, never heard of many of the ones you've been using of late, sounds delicious!

Thank you @lizelle. I love trying new veggies and fruits when I find them! Do you have squash where you live? What kinds? This was indeed a full meal! I appreciate your kind inspiration :)

We do have quite a variety but in the stores one mainly sees butternut, hubbard squash, gem squash and of course white pumpkins. I love how you made a bowl with yours.

a wonderful, delicious recipe.

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words @proanima!

This is too beautiful to eat @birdsinparadise 😉 lovely pictures💖😍 that mushroom would be mistakenly considered as meat for a non-vegan eater😅

You are so right my friend! Very meaty mushrooms ;) Tasty too! Thank you for your kindness, I truly appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56