Fruits and Veggies Monday | Tikil Gomen with Flatbread

DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Good Monday my Fruits and Veggie Friends!


I hope you all had a relaxing weekend because here we are with another great round of Fruits and Veggies Monday! Last week was amazing, I don’t know about you but what a great round of entries. I hope we have the same again this week. Thanks to our host @plantstoplanks and founder @lenasveganliving for giving us this healthy venue to share and learn from one another. Thanks to you both! A big congrats to our winner @biglipsmama, best wishes for this week as our guest judge.


While my kids were visiting...


I bought over whelming amount of fruits and veggies. I know that is hard to believe, but I wanted to share as many new fruits and vegetables with my little grandson. It was so fun, he ate everything I gave him from Avocados to Mangoes, Dragon Fruit to Spinach…nothing was rejected.


As a result my fridge and fruit bowls are overflowing!


Since I had plenty of Cabbage, Red Potatoes and Carrots on hand I thought I would share a favorite Ethiopian dish called Tikil Gomen. Turmeric, Cumin, Garlic and Ginger spice up this sassy healthy dish! It’s pretty quick to make, and even better the next day! Serve it with a nice piece of flatbread and you are good to go!


todaysjourney.jpg

Tikil Gomen

All you need

  • Cabbage (1 head)
  • Red Potatoes (4 medium)
  • Onion (1 medium)
  • Carrots (2 large)
  • Garlic Clove (2-3)
  • Fresh Minced Ginger (1 tsp)
  • Turmeric (1 tsp.)
  • Cumin (1 tsp.)
  • Pepper (1/2 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (to taste)
  • Vegetable Stock (1/3 cup)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (2 tbsp.)
  • Bird's Fresh GF Vegan Flatbread

The chopping…


begins with red potatoes! Make sure you wash them well! Don’t peel them, did you know ½ of the fiber in a potato comes from the skin? Red Potatoes are loaded with Vitamin B and potassium! In fact, one potato at 110 calories contains more potassium than a Banana! Wow!

DSC_0002 (2).jpg

Carrots are next…


I like to buy organic veggies as much as possible. I wash everything well and chop it up, no need to peel these guys! May not be pretty, but they’re tasty and so good for you! We all know they contain Vitamin A, my mom always told me to eat carrots to improve my vision! (Hmmmm, and I still had to wear glasses)
DSC_0004 (2).jpg

And now cabbage…


washed and chopped!
DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Onions and Garlic…


not to be forgotten. Sliced, chopped and minced!
DSC_0013 (2).jpg

Time to Cook!

  • Sauté the Onions in the Olive Oil until they’re slightly translucent. Add the Carrots and spices and let everything cook for about 5 minutes. Oh my, the fragrance is amazing! Now add the cabbage, cover and cook for another 10 minutes. The cabbage was wilting like a rose on a hot summer day at this point! Toss in the potatoes, add the veggie stock and simmer for about 30 minutes. I took a few minutes to whip up a few pieces of Flat bread, I knew Mr. Bird would like a little side of buttered bread!
    DSC_0027 (2).jpg

The kitchen smelled like heaven at this point, the potatoes were ready, time to eat!

Voila, Tikil Gomen and Flatbread!


DSC_0061 (2).jpg


I was very conservative with the spices today as Mr. Bird is a bit sensitive to spice. If you like a more savory dish, feel free to double up on the spice! Either way, I think you’ll enjoy this quick and easy dinner. Have a fabulous week my friends!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

@catweasel and I, on the other hand, are crazy about spicy food. I usually take a new recipe's spicing recommendations as "a suggested starting point" and go from there. I literally did laugh out loud at a recipe I found on the back of a spaghetti package for sauce that included "1 t. Italian seasoning." Are you freakin' kidding me? Let's just say I put a little more than that in mine ... and nobody's died of it yet.

damn that looks so goood! OMG. It's early morning here in Hanoi and we are about to go for a breakfast - and this looks smth that I would like to have right now. cheers

Hey, breakfast works too :) Glad you enjoyed it @travellit! Have a fabulous day

This looks so delicious and packed with flavour, a real tasty and quick dinner, thank you Mrs Bird!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @lizelle, as always you have such kind words :) I truly appreciate your friendship! It was quick, you know sometimes quick is best! Juggling the flat bread at the same time added a little element of stress though, lol

Such a vibrant and flavorful dish my Dear. I have eaten Ethiopian food and I loved it, so I know I would love this one too. I am also happy to hear that the little one has such a good appetite for fruits and veggies. I know those are one of the most happiest moments to see babies enjoying their first food. Good job grandma 🥑😍🥭
1 Collage.jpg

You're the best dear Lena, thank you :) It was so fun sharing all the fruits and veggies with the little guy, he was open to all of them! As you can imagine, we had quite a few silly moment ;) Love these little gifts don't we grandmother Lena!

This is really looking delicious. I feel like eating it while reading it! We always peel the potatoes due to too much soil. So I should try one day to be diligent to wash it properly and leave the skin on. Thank you the for the tips on the fibre. =)

I know how you feel about the soil and the veggies...so I really scrub them, lol! Organic is best too, that way you don't have to worry about the pesticides, even better if you buy from the farmer! Thanks @iamjadeline :)

@birdsinparadise, this is another recipe to add to my to do list. I love all the ingredients and seasonings. Thanks for this great recipe.

Wonderful! I hope you'll try it and let me know if you make any additions/delitions. Like I said, I was pretty conservative with the spices for my husbands sake...I usually add more to my plate! Thanks so much!

Awesome. I love the simplicity of the dish and yet looks so delicious.

Simple is often the best don't you think? Healthy food combined with nice spices and herbs...mmmm Thanks @rifkan :)

That's pretty yummilicious!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, thank you @littlenewthings! You're too sweet! :)

This recipe seems very yummy @birdisinparadise. I´ll have to try it very soon, seems not to dificult. I´m not so good cook

It is so simple, I'm sure you could whip this dish up in no time! :) Thanks @byronmushrooms!

I to am not big on to many spices but this sounds like a good mix of them that I would probably like, looks so good ;)

It was actually pretty mild I thought @tattoodjay. My husband doesn't like anything too spicy so I try to be careful (often I just add more spice to my plate, lol) Definitely a comfort meal! It would be a wonderful warm meal for a winter day!

My Wife used to do the same make plain for me, and she would add more to hers , now its the opposite she can hardly have any spices at all, so sometimes I separate mine out and ad a little extra before dishing it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91