Fruits and Veggies Monday | Sunday’s Sweet Strawberry Scones!

DSC_0035 (2).jpg

Good morning my Fruits and Veggies Friends!


Are you ready for another great week of Fruits and Veggies? Well, I am! Thanks to our great host @plants to planks and founder @lenasveganliving we are able to exchange heathy foods from all around the world! How cool is that? Thank you to both of you, we truly appreciate this opportunity!


The Bird’s nest is hopping these days!


Family began arriving last Wednesday and the Grand baby Bird will arrive this Thursday! Meals are a hot commodity around this place! I'm flying around my kitchen like a Bird on fire! Breakfast, lunch and dinner! Breakfast however, is one of my favorite meals. In fact both of my girls will tell you, I used to serve them breakfast in bed each morning before school! Yes, I did spoil them, but you know breakfast is so important!


Strawberries are in season...


so I'm having a great time using them in so many recipes! This morning I decided to make a tasty morning pastry I knew my daughter would enjoy!


DSC_0004 (2).jpg

Sweet Strawberry Scones!

All the Sweet Ingredients!

  • Fresh Strawberries (1 cup chopped)
  • Gluten Free Flour (1 ½ cup)
  • Baking Powder (1 tbsp.)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Vanilla (1 tsp)
  • Coconut Milk (full fat) (1/4 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (1/4 cup)
  • Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)

I was in a bit…


of a hurry because I wanted to have everything ready when the family woke up! I mixed everything but the strawberries together into soft dough. * If it seems too dry, feel free to add a touch more coconut milk.*
DSC_0002 (2).jpg

The Strawberries…


sweet strawberries needed to be washed and chopped.
DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Now toss in…


The strawberries and mix carefully. I didn’t want to mash the berries! Pour the dough out onto a parchment lined baking sheet and form the dough into a disk about ½” thick. Cut into 8 wedges and place the baking sheet into the fridge for 30 minutes. At this point I’m looking at the clock thinking, Great, won’t be ready in time, ugh!
DSC_0013 (2).jpg

Not a Bird…


was stirring when I put these little pastries into the oven. Yikes didn’t want to forget to separate them nicely before going into the oven! Bake at 400 degrees for 23 minutes
DSC_0016 (2a).jpg

Just in the nick…


of time, they were ready! Nice and golden!
DSC_0018 (2).jpg

Voila, Sweet Strawberry Scones and fresh juice!

DSC_0041 (2).jpg


My daughter preferred these with a Strawberry compote, yum! For me, just a touch of dairy free butter! Either way, it’s a lovely breakfast for a wonderful Fruits and Veggies Monday! So great to see you all this week! Thanks for stopping by the Bird’s nest!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


)


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

I would never have thought of making Strawberry Scones, they look so pretty mrs Bird! Wish I was a Bird offspring, lovely post my friend!

Oh you'll have to try them one day, with all of the fancy pastries you make! I think you'll love them @lizelle! You are a sweetie, thank you :) Hopefully no power and water issues at the cottage this week!!

This is A Warning for you Mrs. BIRDS!

If you keep posting a killer things like this😈 I will Never Mute You! You have made me crying and craving for the scones in the middle of the night 😭😭😭😭😭

I Love You Mrs. @birdsinparadise 😍

hehehehe, you really made me laugh today, thank you! My daughter read this with me and thinks you are the sweetest! You were up cooking very late that night to read my post! Thank you @cicisaja, I would make some for you :)

Mrs. Bird I cannot believe you made strawberry scones!!! I just saw them on Netflix show I was watching, lol. However, I had no idea how to make them so I thought I have to search online. And today, soon as I logged on Steemit, first thing I see are your scones. Truly unbelievable and delicious. I am definitely saving your recipe. Absolutely love it. Thank you my Dear Troy 🍓😍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

hahaha, what perfect timing Lena! I hope you'll try them!! You're so kind, I love hearing from you., as I've said before it would be amazing to live near you! (Oh the food we would make and the photos we would take!!) Thank you my sweet friend!

I can totally imagine my Dear Troy and you are very welcome 🍓😍🍓

They look so delicious and I'm a person who really crazy about scone!

They're wonderful aren't they? Nothing like a hot scone with butter, oh my! Thanks for stopping by @roselifecoach! Appreciate your kind words today! :)

The pleasure is all mine @birdsinparadise. :D

Yummy! I bet if nothing else the smell of those baking is enough to get all the birds up and moving for the day! I was so excited to see strawberries at the market for just this reason--they are so delicious in just about everything. I made some spinach muffins with mint and strawberries yesterday to have with tofu scramble this week. Now I just can't wait for picking to start in another week or two to really load up on the ruby gems! Enjoy this time with all of the birds back in the nest!

Oh my spinach with mint and strawberries! What a great idea Katie, I'll have to try something using those ingredients, that would be awesome with breakfast. I think I told you I found a u-pick place about 30 minutes north of me....we're planning to check it out shortly. I am sooooo anxious to see what they have. Do you have a large freezer for all of the extra berries you pick? Thank you so much, it is so great to have my daughter here, I love cooking for her! :)

The mint turns out really subtle, but it's lovely with the strawberries added in! The greens just get blended up with banana and the other wet ingredients of the muffin batter, then you mix it in with your dry for some lovely green muffins! I've done lemon balm with blackberries for another delicious combination. Hooray for u-pick! Then you can really load up. I do have an extra chest freezer which comes in handy this time of year, and since I batch cook all my beans and freeze them. It's a little empty at the moment, so I'm ready to fill it back up soon. Hopefully I'll be able to bring my little niece picking this year for her first time!

I’m with @roselifecoach on the love of scones. These babies look so delicious and as I was reading this I could almost smell the strawberries. Then I actually could smell strawberry but it was the waitress bringing strawberry crepes to her table at this restaurant I’m at,lol.
Must try recipe, thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol, that is good,...oh wait so it wasn't my strawberries you smelled? Perfect timing of the waitress. Glad you enjoyed them, sounds like you were in the right spot to be hungry! Thanks for the kind words!

Wow, this is the first time I've seen a scone shape like this! Look so awesome!

So glad you enjoyed them! They're easy to make, I hope you'll try them some time :) Thank you!

Yea I love it. Will try it someday when the naking mood is on!

Hmmm miam miam yumyum yummy yummy !!

@luigi-the-gnome, so good to see you and so good to know you loved them!!! Thank you for your yum, yum love today!

I don’t think I have ever seen strawberry scones but love the idea of them and they look so good

If you enjoy strawberries you would enjoy these! A nice slightly sweet pastry, nice with your morning coffee or tea @tattoodjay! :)

and I do love strawberries and you make them sound so good :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46