Fruits and Veggies Monday | Fruity Carrot Cake with a Liquid Dose of Sunshine!

DSC_0042 (2).jpg

Happy Monday my healthy Fruits and Veggie loving friends!



Here we are celebrating another great week filled with healthy treats thanks to @lenasveganliving and host @plantstoplanks! Dear Lena started this Fruits and Veggies Monday gathering well over a year ago and since that time there have been thousands of posts dedicated to promoting healthy eating! I know I can certainly say I have learned so much and truly appreciate the way our community continues to thrive! Thank you both!


Monday at the Bird nest began as usual with my morning glass of fresh juice! Many of you know I love making fresh packed with fresh veggies and fruits! Today was the same, and became the inspiration for my post today!

DSC_0009 (2).jpg

Fresh Carrots, apples, cucumbers, lemon, fresh spinach and blueberries! Yum! I poured a fresh glass just before adding the blueberries and spinach! Packed with antioxidants, fiber and vitamins, I love starting my day this way! My daughter gave these cute glasses to us last Christmas; I would say they're perfect wouldn't you?

DSC_0001 (2a).jpg

Of course when making juice you always have a fresh bowl of juice pulp! As you know I hate waste, especially when it comes to expensive fruits and veggies! Look at that beautiful pulp!

DSC_0002 (2).jpg

Then it hit me! How about Carrot Cake?


Mr. Bird and I enjoyed our juice and left for our morning bike ride. Along the way I thought about my cake, I certainly had enough carrot pulp and perhaps I could try something grain free! By the time we arrived home, I had a plan!


I know what you're thinking... Bird you have to use flour!


No, there are truly many alternatives, lol My grain free choices were Almond flour (2 ½ cups) and Tapioca Starch (1/2 cup) and I added those to a medium mixing bowl along with Baking soda (1 tsp), Maple Syrup (1/2 cup), Birds Coconut Yogurt (3/4 cup), Vanilla (1 tsp), Cinnamon (1 tsp) and Allspice (1/2 tsp). With a healthy bit of stirring I was ready to add the Carrot Pulp! Just 1 cup now!
DSC_0005 (2x).jpg

Of course I didn’t forget the Organic Raisins (1/3 cup), yum! I love to dehydrate my own, but I didn’t have time today. These will just have to do.

DSC_0012 (2l).jpg

And of course Walnuts! It just wouldn’t be a carrot cake without walnuts (1/2 cup)! Chopped nicely, please!

DSC_0007 (2w).jpg

I wanted to try something different today so I pulled out my Angel food cake pan, fun right? While the cake baked for about 40 minutes (350 degrees) I worked on the topping! Yes, topping my friends!

DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Vegan cream cheese was my choice, I love Kite Hill. Their cream cheese is made with Almond milk. (Nothing like adding a little protein to your topping, right?) We enjoy the taste and always have it on hand when family visits. I wanted to make a cream cheese topping with a lemony twist so I juiced a fresh lemon and grabbed my blender. ½ cup cream cheese, 1/3 cup coconut yogurt, 2 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice and 2 tbsp. of Maple syrup, into the blender and blend until creamy. It tasted pretty amazing, nice and thick and so creamy!

DSC_0016 (2).jpg


I tested the cake to make sure it was done, (a toothpick works well) and allowed it to cool completely. The smell was heavenly! Now it was time to decorate! The flowers around the yard are blooming right now so outside I went to pick just the perfect blossom!


With a quick sprinkle of coconut, a dash of carrot and a fresh bouquet the cake was ready! I have to tell you carrot cake is one of Mr. Bird’s favorite cakes. He was definitely perched close to the kitchen, just waiting for a sweet carrot treat!


Voila! What a healthy way to start your week!


DSC_0051 (2).jpg


Oh by the way, this cake will freeze well! Slice it into bitesize pieces; it’s perfect for that unexpected guest! Family will be visiting the Bird nest soon so it’s time to begin preparations! My grandson will be here and I’ll be making several healthy treats! I plan to spoil him in every healthy way, lol. I’ll be sure to share. Thanks for stopping by today, and have a wonderful week of fresh fruits and veggies!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif

steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

❤️ cake are also vegan 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow. I admire you!

And always love to see the beautiful colourful vegetables and fruits. And the carrot cake is a double wow to me. By the way, I love the cup. It is perfect for juice. =)

Isn't that juice glass cute? I wish I had more than 4! So glad you enjoyed the cake. I made slices and wisked it to the freezer, little treats for the weeks to come :)

Absolutely heavenly my Dear Mrs. Bird, you are truly a master of nourishing pulp recipes! Not to forger the elixir that comes before the mouthwatering and beautiful cake!!! You made my day 🧡🎂🧡
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you my sweet friend :) Well, I know you probably tire from my pulp recipes but I do have fun sharing, especially when they taste yummy! You're amazing, always so supportive and kind! You always bring a smile to my morning!

I could never get tired of your pulp recipes, quite the opposite my Dear. Always a pleasure 💚😊💚

Those juice glasses are adorable! Definitely a sunny way to start the day. I always love seeing how you use your pulp, as well. Such a great way to let nothing go to waste! I love the Kite Hill brand, as well. Minimal ingredients, but excellent taste. I've used it on the rare occasion I really want some creamy mashed potatoes, but I love the idea to use it for a nice topping like this, as well. Your grandson is a lucky little man with you as a grandmother! :)

Don't you just love those glasses? I wish I had more than 4!! They're to serve my favorite juices. I'll have to try using the Kite Hill with mashed potatoes, great idea. My daughter is a huge "cream cheese" fan but being dairy intolerant she found this brand to be the best, lucky for me as that's all we use now :) Like you auntie, it's fun to spoil those little ones with healthy treats. I know you love your Fridays!

Now that I said it, I think it might be a mashed potato kind of week here, too! ;) The chive one really is fantastic in them, so I'm sure you would love it!

Magical carrot cake from the Bird's nest! I really admire how you come up with all these healthy but delicious treats my friend! Every so often when I find myself wanting to make something overly sweet I stop and think 'what would @birdsinparadise do?' Thank you for showing us there are healthy alternatives, this sounds so delicious!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awwww you are too too kind, that is so nice of you to say. It's funny how we all learn from one another....all around the world! I love it. Thats the best thing about Steemit don't you think? You have encouraged me to try new recipes I would have otherwise never known about, such a blessing! Thank you my friend :)

You are totally unbelievable! Just when I think that you have outdone yourself, you do it again! This carrot cake was amazing looking and not only that, totally healthy.

I didn't realize you dried your own raisins! That is truly impressive! :) You blow me away with your cooking/ creating skills! Honestly!

Thank you! Again and again!

!tip.20

Awwww, you are way too kind @dswigle! Big hugs to you for your thoughtful words, I don't deserve them! Oh you have to dry your own raisins....you will never buy again, I promise!!!!! My daughter says eating them is "like a party in your mouth", lol Your sweet comments truly brighten my day, thank you so much!!! (I'm still watching for your foodie secrets, I know you are holding back on us!!!) Have a wonderful weekend!

Food + Cooking + Photography = Your post is perfect blend of all that.

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

You are so kind @appreciator :) Thank you for the wonderful words and feature, I am truly humbled.

An AWESOME looking carrot cake!! Still shaking my head at the staggering amount of sweet sugary stuff you lot eat tho... LOL... Americans are sooooo into their sweets. LOL.

The carrot pulp is an awesome base for veggie patties.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

hehehe, well I think that's why Mother Nature created all of our fruit trees! What would our birds and bees do without them. I love spreading a little sweetness around...and when I can healthy treats all the better! Love veggie patties, another wonderful use for that veggie pulp :) Thank you @artimislives, I truly appreciate your sweet support!

😮😍😋👍🙏👍😋😍😮

Posted using Partiko Android

lol, thank you @thereikiforest! They say a picture speaks a thousand words :) Thank you!

That looks like food from heaven!💞💛😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @jenina619! Glad you enjoyed :) Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59