Fruit and veggies Monday - Sauerkraut

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Today, I would like to share with all my Steemit vegan and veganish and non vegan friends, on how to make your own Sauerkraut.
20180204_121452-1344x2389.jpg
Eating a little sauerkraut every day with your meals or on it's own is very beneficial to ones health, as it is a antioxidant, low in calories and one of the healthiest and most natural probiotics. It is also high in fiber.

I just love to make it, more so since I am learning more and more about the vegan diet, and all my heart felt thanks go to @heart-to-heart and @lenasveganliving, they have inspired me tremendously these past weeks, thank you both so much.
20180204_115638.jpg

You would need one medium size cabbage

20180204_115855.jpg
Cut off all outside and shabby looking leaves, we want to use the lovely succulent, clean portion of the cabbage.
20180204_120033-1344x2389.jpg
Cut out the crown or core, in other words the hard part , and throw it on your compost heap with the rest of the ugly parts.
20180204_120207-1344x2389.jpg
Cut the cabbage in half and slice very thin sliced strips. Try and get them as thin as you possibly can, and don't slice your fingers!!
20180204_120544.jpg
You would need a large mixing bowl and a level tablespoon salt.
20180204_120932.jpg
Mix the salt in with a clean hand until salt is rubbed in well.
20180204_120621-1344x2389.jpg
I use my garlic crusher to pound the cabbage, or you can use any thing that will flatten it, you will notice the cabbage shrinking quite a bit.
20180204_120949-1344x2389.jpg
Take some cabbage in your hand , lift it above the bowl and squeeze it, if the water runs out freely, then it is done.
20180204_121222-1344x2389.jpg
Take a clean glass bottle and fill it up with the cabbage, press the cabbage down inside the bottle as you fill it so that it is compressed, some of the liquid will flow out the bottle, this is called dill. One medium cabbage makes around 2 and a half bottles of sauerkraut.
20180204_121421-1344x2389.jpg
Take a piece of left over cabbage, I would say, about as big as the top part of your bottle's neck and press it in over the top, covering the cabbage inside the bottle, this is just to keep out any bacteria that might develop inside the top of the bottle.
Screw the lid of the bottle on loosely, this will give a little lee way for the gas to escape while fomenting takes place.
20180204_121923-1344x2389.jpg
Place the bottle of Sauerkraut on a plate or tray so that the excess liquid will run into it and not on your storage shelf.
Place it in a cool place or cupboard for around three weeks or longer, depending on your taste. To slow fomenting down, place in refrigerator.
I must confess , my sauerkraut fermentation only last a week and a half, I can't resist the tasting through the process. I have to make at least three bottles at a time.

I hope you have enjoyed this post.

Original content by @artywink

Please up vote, comment and re-steem if you like my post.

All property of @artywink

Again, I want to say thank you to @lenasveganliving and @heart-to-heart you are both awesome, I just love you.

Sort:  

One of these days I'm going to make some myself! I'm lucky that my boyfriend is Polish, so his mom will give us some a few times a year. :)

its do easy @plantsoplanks just a wee bit messy though. It is do good for you. thanks for the comment.

Just like my grandmother used to make.........now I am a grandmother, so I guess it;s time for me to do it , too.

Thank you so much Dear @artywink these are perfect instructions that I should be bale to follow, lol. I am very happy you joined us my dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

And i am sure you would make it so dilicious @lenasveganliving , just like grandma. thank you for your support.

Thanks for the howto @artywink, never knew it was so easy to make sauerkraut, will definitely try and make some :)

It is do easy @Lizelle. thanks for comment much appreciated

I like sauerkraut, but I've never done it myself, thanks for your mail

Its worth a try @proanima. tganjs gor stopping by.

I had no idea it was this easy to make! Right then, thanks for the post @artywink because next shopping trip I'll bring back a cabbage and make some! :-)

It is so easy @woman-onthe-wing, and very good for your health. thanks for the support.

I love Sauerkraut and so I love your post! I can buy fresh made Sauerkraut on the green market whenever I want, so I never made some myself. But I would if there weren't this opportunity. I make my own kimchi and some other fermented vegetables every now and then.

Thats so grest @pusteblume it is so good for you.thankyou for the vomment , much appreciated.

Great post

Congratulations @artywink! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85