FruitsAndVeggiesMonday: Meet The Mighty Jackfruits That Grow In Adudance In Our Garden

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170523_075445.jpg

Merry Christmass fellow steemians. Though we live in a country that doesn't celebrate Xmas we were invited by some expat friends in Kampot to join them for the festivities and had an amazing 2 days.

Nonetheless, as promised I would finally make some time to enter the #FruitsAndVeggiesMonday hosted by the wonderful @lenasveganliving. Almost a month ago we moved into our new place in Kep which has 2 hectares of land with a variety of different fruit trees. Though there isn't much in season right now, jackfruit grows year round and in the past month, we have been able to harvest a few.

DSC_1561.JPG

What the heck are jackfruits?


If you never heard of jackfruit, allow you to briefly introduce you to this tropical fruit. It is absolutely one of a kind recognized for its unique shape, size, and taste. The fruity, strong flavor and fragrance of its sweet arils - which look more like big garlic bulbs - can be picked up from a distance. It's not as bad as opening a durian, but jackfruit will spread its fruity fragrance through the house.

Jackfruit is rich in energy, dietary fiber, minerals, and vitamins and free from saturated fats or cholesterol; making it a sweet and abundant treat for everybody to enjoy here. And the best part, they are so easy to grow and if you don't have a tree at home they are so cheap on the market. And the fruit is so big that 1 feeds a whole family!

DSC_0068.JPG

The fruit belongs to the family of Moraceae and genus of Artocarpus. Though it doesn't look like it at all, it is closely related to figs, mulberry, and breadfruit. Jackfruit's scientific name is Artocarpus heterophyllus. The jackfruit tree can grow as high as 30 meters (almost a 100 feet) and each tree can bear as many as 250 large fruits a year. Jackfruit comes in many sizes ranging from 3 to 30 kg (6 to 60 pound). It has an oblong or round shape.

DSCF1182.JPG

Unripe fruits are green and hard to the touch. When they are ripe they turn light brown, become a little softer and make a more hollow sound when you gently knock on the fruit and they start to spread a strong sweet, fruity fragrance too.

That my fellow fruit and veggies loving friend was the jackfruit! Have you ever tried it before? You loved or hated its strong taste? Enjoy the rest of the Holiday Season!!!!


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For more green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

Sort:  

Wow! You made me salivate! It's my favorite fruit! I went last time in my aunt place, I found her eating this delicious fruit, i taste the first one, the second one, after i find my self finished all the plate hhhhh, I can not to describe how much yummy.

Hehe. Wish I could send you some. We have so many trees in the garden.

You are lucky to get the trees of jackfruit! I love it, thank you so much for your kind words.

Awesome photographer has been very nice thanks to give you such a beautiful photo in front of us

Thanks @licky. Glad you like the pics... let's thank Mother Earth for all this beauty ;)

Excellent fruit thanks for bringing such fruit into my knowledge bank. Was already wondering why the absence but I guess you were having a swell time! Nice one dear. Keep it coming. Merry xmas

Thanks my friend we had a lovely time. I hope you did you!

Sure and keep having fun!

That just made me hungry...
And you just got yourself a new follower.

Thanks @bitton for the support. Just had a look at your steem tools... and I was glad to find out nobody hates me on steemit... didn't now steemit had so many tools.

I never had the chance to try a fresh jackfruit before. Around here it starts to get a welcomed substitute for meaty dishes among vegans and vegetarians. I had it ones in a restaurant but never cooked with it myself yet. But I am going to try it next year (which could be soon ... 😜)
Thank you for introducing this interesting fruit to us. Some of the facts were very new to me. I really enjoyed reading your post!
I wish you a happy and healthy new year!

You to all the best in the new year. Still have to try it as meat replacement but with all those fruits I'll try it soon. Def share your recipe too... looking forward to some jackfruit inspiration. xxx

Thanks my friend for all the support!

Ah jackfruit is so tasty. I think there is a bubblegum secretly flavored from this fruit, maybe zebra gum? Something.

One time when living on Hawaii, I ate too much jackfruit, maybe some latex resin from the skin too by accident. I got sick and was coughing up small amounts of blood for 3-4 days.

Ohh wow. Never was a fan of gum. But I wouldn't be surprised that they use jackfruit for it! Never heard somebody getting sick of jackfruit. Thanks for sharing. Next time I'll be more careful when opening the fruit and getting the sticky white goo all over the place. Happy Holidays ;)

Maybe not to worry, I overindulged since my only other option for food was kale at the time. Enjoy!

I love jackfruit! So lucky to have it everywhere!

Neighbors are happy with all the trees here too ;) Thanks for stopping by!

This is absolutely marvelous entry Amy. Such a beautiful photography and invaluable information. I love Jackfruit, however, I never tried fresh one from a tree. It must be absolutely heavenly. Thank u so much for joining us 🎄🍓🎄🍍🎄

Thanks @lenasveganliving. It's so nice to have that many trees. I'll be cooking some jackfruit dishes in the near future. Never tried it as a meat substitute before but I heard it taste great! Enjoy the rest of the Holiday Season ;)

Sounds awesome Amy, I can't wait 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70046.82
ETH 3511.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.85