What to buy in August - Part II Fruits

in #fruitsandveggies7 years ago (edited)

Today is #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving. In my post before: What to buy in August - Part I Vegetables, I explained my motivation to write an article about this subject. I would like to inspire others to think about twice what to buy and when is the right season for it. In our modern world everything is available everytime. Many people buy all the stuff that is available without thinking if it makes sense or not: Strawberries in December for example (but they don't even taste good then - at least in Germany!) or kiwis and apples in a plastic containers ... the list could be endless. 

Because of regional differences depending on which part of the world you live in, this might be no exact guide for you to buy your fruits and veggies in season. If you're not living in Middle Europe or maybe parts of Northern America you at least can take this as an inspiration to think about what's in season nd what to buy in your neck of the woods.


Here follows my list of the fruits:

peaches, apricots, plums, grapes ~ Pfirsiche, Aprikosen, Zwetschgen, Trauben


pears ~ Birnen


mirabelles ~ Mirabellen


rasberries, blueberries, raspberries, brambles   ;-p ~ Himbeeren, Heidelbeeren und Brombeeren 


currants ~ Johannesbeeren


summerapples ~ Sommeräpfel


reneclaudes ~ Reneclauden


walnuts ~ Walnüsse


These are the things that are in season in the middle european August. This list doesn't claim to be complete. Feel free to tell me if you think I missed something important. Thank you in advance!


Also check on my first article "What to buy in August II - Vegetables" https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggies/@pusteblume/what-to-buy-in-august-part-i-vegetables


I wish everyone a fresh and fruity week! 

Sort:  
Loading...

wow what a tasty selection! I totally agree about buying what is in season. So many yummy berries to choose from - I would be tempted to freeze a bunch for later too ;) Upvoted and resteemed!

Good idea! Thank you for your support!

What a wonderful post, thank you so much....here is still only Sunday, but I am going to post something now, so I am not the last one lol. 🍓💚🍓

I look at your photos and think of so many recipes and things I am hungry for!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42