What to buy in August - Part I Vegetables

in #fruitsandveggies7 years ago (edited)

Today is #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving. Inspired by this I am going to start something I plan to continue for at least the next 11 months: What to buy in ... 

Because I am vegetarian and a fighter for a thoughtful, peaceful and sustainable lifestyle I try to buy foods that are (vegan and) regional and organic produced, which are not wrapped in ridiculous huge amounts of plastic and not least vegetables and fruits that are in season.

Because of regional differences depending on which part of the world you live in this might be no exact guide for you to buy your fruits and veggies in season. If you're not living in Middle Europe or maybe parts of Northern America you at least can see this as an inspiration to think about and buy what's in season in your neck of the woods.

At first my vegetable list:

any kinds of tomatoes ~ Tomaten



hokaido pumpkin ~ Hokaido Kürbis


zucchini ~ Zucchini


fennel ~ Fenchel


garden radish ~ Radieschen


any sorts and colors of salad ~ Salat


green beans and savory ~ Grüne Bohnen und Bohnenkraut


green peas ~ Erbsen


bell peppers ~ Gemüsepaprika


mini bell peppers ~ Snack Paprika


turnip cabbage ~ Kohlrabi


cucumbers ~ Gurken


chanterelles ~ Pfifferlinge


spinach ~ Spinat


beet roots ~ Rote Bete


horse radish ~ Rettich


brokoli ~ Brokkoli


cauliflower (I love the new colors!) ~ Blumenkohl


swiss chard ~ Mangold


aubergines (I didn't now that there are so many differnt kinds!) ~ Auberginen


carrots (last but not least, and what I love most that the old sorts are back on the green market) ~ Möhren

These were the things that are in season in the middle european August. This list is without any claim to completeness. Feel free to tell me if you think I missed something important. Thank you in advance!


Also watch my second article about "What to buy in August II - Fruits" https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggies/@pusteblume/what-to-buy-in-august-part-ii-fruits


I wish everyone a fresh and crispy week! 

Sort:  

Wonderful photos, makes me hungry 😋 Now following by a fellow vegetarian, please follow back

Nice post! upvoted w pleasure!

Thank you so much! I appreciate it! 😘

Omgosh, where do you live? Do you know the name of those mushrooms in English? I remember them from back home, they are extremely expensive here and they have them only in very special stores. Amazing variety of vegetables, thank you so much for this wonderful post 🍓💚🍓

Wonderful photos! When you label your photos, can you tell us their German names, too,?

✅ Done. In both articles. 😊👍🏻

What a great learning tool! When I was traveling frequently, I got so I could order from a menu and almost know what I was getting! I had forgotten so much and this is like a refresher course!

Happy, that I could help ... 😊

Upped and steemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42