You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Talk About Friends On Steem... Or Lack Thereof

in #friendship5 years ago

I've only recently met you mister Matt but I have a similar view.
I tend to give everyone the benefit of the doubt...which some might think naive.

But that is kinda how friends are made in real life. I've been burned.. sure.
But just being on steemit for the last two years has led me to things I never knew were possible.
I gave a "talk" at the first ever Hanoi Steemit meetup in Vietnam.
the good doctor.jpg
the whole group.jpg

I interviewed curator extraordinaire @carlgnash
https://steemit.com/blog/@doctorcrypto/ep-1-of-4-curation-interview-with-a-top-curie-curator-carlgnash
I would have never thought of myself doing things like this a year earlier.

I feel like with the horrible markets, people lose interest....no money.
So now that the fair weathered steemians have dissipated, It may be easier to find the good ones before the price shoots up again. :)

Let's go grab a beer!

Sort:  

Congrats for stepping out of your comfort zone. What was your talk in Vietnam about?

Ironically, I'm of the mindset that the horrible markets people would actually help people be more inclined to take communication into the real world and/or pursue meeting to redeem some more value from this place, especially if it fades away. Steem is the perfect bridge for that and common ground. It takes time to get to know someone, but for some of us interacting on Steem/Discord for years, it just feels like the logical next step if there was substance to it.

Thanks for chiming in and leading by example.

Most of the folks in Hanoi were new steemit users and this was more of a how-to session.
My talk consisted of showing them different tools like SteemWorld that could show them different stats that steemit didn't at the time.

I've gone to a local Portland steemit meetup here. That was more of a schmooz and booze type situation.
I did however, end up with a part time job that paid in steem from that one. :)

I agree! Getting people to communicate honestly is an actual strength of this blockchain. Fewer people are talking shit when money is involved.

Don't forget though...It takes effort to communicate :) Some times it is easy to turn it off. :)

Have a great day! communicate with ya later.

hey that interview was a lot of fun! Glad we got to meet in person before I left Oregon :)

Yes man! Always fun to meet wonderful peeps and see their vision. :)
I'm enjoying your new life adventure...vicariously of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.87
ETH 3805.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49