Friendship, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #friendship6 years ago

adult-affection-beach-936018.jpg


No one is an island. We all need one another. No man can make it out here all alone. True friendship has no class barrier.

We all need someone or people we can call friends. Why we need them is totally dependent on us, but whatever reason we need them, it has to be a mutual feeling and we should be able to do the same for them.

Most of the time, when we say someone is our friend, we sometimes focus on what we can get from them, rather than what we can give to them. Friendship these days are quite overrated.

Don’t say you love me unless you mean it.

As I have said before, I don’t like using idle words. If I call you my friend, be very sure I will hold you so and seek your happiness. Friendship requires a lot of effort and put efforts should be deserving of the accolade or the title. Friendship is sweet. A good friend isn’t the one that will come and check you up in jail (Don’t worry, you won’t have any reason to be there, just for illustration purpose), a good friend is the one that will sit down with you, look you up in the eyes and say: We messed up.


bonding-daylight-enjoying-708440.jpg


Most friendships these days try to stick around only when they are going well for you. Little stick around when you hit a bit of a temporary rock bottom. In a world where a lot of blame goes around, and loyalty seems to be a thing of the past, the true essence of friendship is being pushed back.

We should be able to do for others what we desire of them to do for us. I wouldn’t ask you to do something for me if I know I wouldn’t be willing to do that for you. It’s called friendship, not “forceship”. It has to be mutual.

I admit that we have different abilities and talents, all I am saying is, you don’t have to do exactly what the person did for you, seeing that we all love differently and we have ways at which we show affections to one another. The moment you call someone your friend, let your thinking change from “what you stand to gain”, to “what you stand to give”. Always have the giving mentality, because when you do, it makes the relationship easier.

Friendship is like a boat, willing to carry as many people as possible, that desires to go with it, but your attitude also has to be right. True friendship indeed has no class barrier. You can be friends with someone younger than you, people older than you, or even your age group. It is not about the years, but about the feeling that comes with having someone you can be yourself around.


adorable-adventure-autumn-colours-573273.jpg


I have a little girl as a friend. Whenever the mother brings her to my side, she leaves her mother’s hand, runs as fast as she could to where I am, and clutch to my legs with a sweet hug. Friendship means a lot to children. Children could meet a person today and would start calling that person a friend. The moment you also call them your friend, It sticks into their head.

The first day I saw this girl, I told her how cute she is, and I told her she is now my friend. The mother made me understand that day after, she would ask her and say, Are we not going towards that side today, mummy? I want to see my friend. That is what it means to them. What we should always ask ourselves is, what does it mean to us?

Your attitude as to how you handle your friends says a lot about how you value friendship and speaks a lot about your motive behind it. I love my friends. You don’t necessarily have to speak with them every day, but make sure you check up on them once in a while. There is a value we need to place on friendship. There is so much in the value of friendship done with the right motive.

Take a pause today and remember those whom you call friends that you have checked up on for a while. Don’t wait for them to be the one to check up on you all the time, take time to check up on them too. Imagine, if in friendship, we have people with this kind of giving and checking up on mentality, everything will be in a ceaseless flow.


forest-friends-friendship-591216.jpg


There are some friends we can actually outgrow, especially when their influence gives us negative vibes or they make us worse. There is some kind of toxic friendship we need to shed. Friends should make you better.

Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

That's the point... Friendship is a choice not to be enforced.

If you are not enjoying your friendship with someone, it shows the two of you are not doing it rightly. But, it is never too late to make things work if the two of you so much desired it.

I flow well with little children too, they jump on me and dirty my clothes at time, I enjoy it even when their mothers complain of staying my clothes with their innocent nature.. Smile

Little children are priceless. They value friendship more. It was last two year, an old neighbour from long ago reminded me of what I did when I was little. She said my friend, which is her own son, hasn't paid for an exam then. She said my dad told her that I "disturbed" him a lot to pay for the friend and he did. Funny part is, I didn't remember.

Lol... It's an inborn ability in you, how many can you even remember.... Lol
You are a blessing to your generation bro.

So are you, brother. Thanks a lot.

@olawalium you started be a regular writer for @communitycoin any very unusual topic.....but very true too.....in the mean world now a days...people expect favours..in the name of friendship

It is such a great privilege and honour, which I won't take for granted.

Exactly. People expect that all in the name of friendship and they don't even want to give back. Relationship doesn't work like that.
Thank you very much.

Some even makes it feel its their right, for you to favour them also in the name of friendship...

Hahahaha demanding friendship. They really don't understand what friendship means. It's sad.

Friends are so important in a man's life. In some cases, some friends can sacrifice all what they have, which a family can't do. We shouldn't take the friendship for granted. Thanks @olawalium for making us know the value of a friends.

Yes, we shouldn't take friendship for granted and if it means something to us, we would always go the extra miles for them. Thanks a lot brother. I appreciate you.

I like the friendship and forceship part, friends should make us better and not drain us, thank you my padi @olawalium this is a good one, checking on everyone right away 😉

Yaaaaay!. Please do...you will feel better and they will appreciate it too. Thanks a lot my dear, you are always sweet.

You are welcome, anytime 😉

Its a good thing to appreciate friendship, friends make a lot impact in life either good or bad, is left to us to chose. i cant take friendship for granted. i @christii appreciate you all.

The amount does not give value to friendships, but the quality of those who really deserve to be called that.

Quality over quantity anytime and any day. Thanks for stopping by. Appreciate you.

Quality over quantity anytime and any day. Thanks for stopping by. Appreciate you.

@communitycoin has done a great job by choosing you @olawalium. You never disappoint. Wow

This means a lot to me. Thank you so much @Oredebby. Your support is appreciated dear.

A friend in need is a friend indeed .do your best for friends even if you've got nothing from them

Friends need to make you feel better and it has to be mutual, and yes, we should always do it with a giver's mentality. Thanks brother.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

tanks for the writing, the words “Take a pause today and remember those whom you call friends ” made me stop a while to just say hello to my friend and my family.

Wow!. I like that and you would be so excited about it with the happiness by which they received it. That's impressive. Well done. Thanks for your time and for doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48