ONE FORTY THREE

in #friendship7 years ago (edited)

Memories of a dearest friend...20180322_091823_001.jpg

My head was empty. All emotions had escaped, then abruptly they returned.
With innocence, I opened the dresser drawer. All of them had been emptied except this one...the bottom one.

Before me I saw a familiar pair of cut-off denim shorts.

I pressed them against my face and took a deep breath, then placed them back inside.
Behind my eyes a game began: could I close the drawer before breaking down in tears?

I lost.

Slowly I closed the drawer, feeling alone.
Screenshot_20180322-083003.png
A shove in the side...a box of rocks.
Where am I going with this? I'm not really sure.
Sometimes its easier to speak about happiness and write about sadness.

In this case, nothing came easy.

Screenshot_20180322-102604.png

We tried so hard for it not to have made a difference.
Our love was too strong for it not to have eased a bit of pain.
Like fishermen on a stormy lake, we stood tall against the rage.
The calm onshore was our nemesis.
How is it that little details in life can be like particles of a dust ball: cluttering our dreams..blurring our vision...disguising our goals? We allowed those bits of dust to gather until they became mountains...boundaries that should should never have existed. Walls that should not have been built.

May I now live as you may have lived?
May all of my sins be forgiven?

Breathe in. Breathe out.
Fill me with things I cannot understand, but give me hope.
20180322_172308.jpg
Your dreams are now truth. Mine are still dreams.
I only dream of truth...mine is still a world filled with uncertainty.
Yours is eternal.
I feel you laughing at me...all these years and still I'm lost

Temporarily.

Oh, we'll meet again someday in a place where nothing matters, yet every grain of sand has it's own unique presence.
Until then... I'll be missing you. 20180322_172636.jpg

Sort:  

Your work actually reminds me of my own. Except I can't not rhyme. I do also use the rhythm, but I just can't get by using it exclusively. I actually avoid posting these because ... well, as you're about to find out, these things and anything else that actually bares the soul ... these people don't care Whatsoever.

They all care for only Money. I'm so sorry that's what this world is ... don't join in on that. Stay you.

Money, um what? You mean to tell me I’m supposed to be making money on here?! Great, I’m doing it wrong.
Hey @carklevicci, but really though.... La Casita rearranges thoughts doesn’t it? That box was an old Converse box.
edit: or a cardboard box too small for shoes.

i was thinking about rocks and shit and the roadside pic this morning got me hooked I guess.

Thanks for reading. I don't think I was quite finished with it yet. I'm just here to live and learn.

This piece is deep and assume it strikes different chords for different people. I really appreciate how you’re able to find the perfect flow of words to illicit such emotion within the reader. Thanks for the loving journey. 🤙

Maybe too deep but I guess I'm just that kinda guy.I think you may know someone who can reveal some behind the scenes low down on this one.

I think it’s brilliant and really enjoy reading your posts. I think I might know someone too. Haha… good day for a margarita.

I just lost someone and this really touched my heart. I love this because it speaks of loss but also of hope and something to look forward to.

Thank you so much for reading. When all is said and done, I look forward to each day because although some may contain sadness, Each one is a blessing. Hope to see you again !

This is lovely, heartfelt and deep all at once.
"The calm onshore was our nemesis"

I can relate, everybody needs to feel life , not just live it

Congratulations @carklevicci! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81