Fridays Rock! Gold! Au

in #fridaysrock6 years ago

Now that I am back in Japan I have access to @tokyowomanslife and my gem and mineral collection. I'll be posting these every Friday thanks to @nat-expressions & @bitfiend for creating the #Fridaysrock and #Rockhound tags.

Gold!

This is a thumbnail specimen of gold in quartz I purchased 2 years ago at the Quartzite, AZ Desert Gardens, a gem & mineral show that happens every January. In fact the whole town becomes one of the world's largest gem and mineral shows, which includes about 10 - year-round rock shops and 5 shows.

Anyway, this gold specimen was one of 3 I purchased. It was also the best of the three. The specimens all came from Timmons, Ontario, Canada a gold mining town. The gentleman I purchased it from was a Canadian selling at the show. He spoke only broken English, French being his native tongue. Or maybe it was a trick to get me to pay full price!? He said that they were specimens that he had personally mined and they were too amazing to pass up. He did have many other, larger and smaller specimens but I had many other minerals to buy that day so I settled on 3. I don't recall off of the top of my head, but I think I paid $75 for this one. We just sold it the other day for about double that.

Gold is an incredible element. It is formed in the hearts of supernovas and through collisions with neutron stars, like many other complex minerals. It's one of the heaviest minerals with a specific gravity of 19.32 which is more than twice that of iron at 7.87. When you drop even a small gold picker the size of a grain of rice into your hand you can feel the weight of it. There is a saying among gold prospectors, gold rides an iron horse. What that means is often where you find iron and heavier minerals you will find gold as they travel together.

It is believed that most gold found by man was deposited fairly recently by asteroid strikes. Being that gold is so heavy it wants to travel down into the core of the earth. So the gold that impacted while the earth formed rests in the core, while recent impacts haven't given it enough time to make its way down there yet. Having said that, the Vredefort crater impact that produced South Africa's gold fields is said to be around 2 billion years old.

One of the ways gold is deposited is through a process called hydrothermal circulation. As tectonic plates move water inside is superheated under intense pressure and forced upwards. During the process it picks up various minerals along the way and deposits them in cracks and vugs(pockets) in rocks. This is also the process that forms many gems and minerals. That is why you find gold in veins of quartz and other rocks.

Thank for reading and enjoy your Friday!

https://www.acuitas.app/

Sort:  

Interesting read on the gold deposits. I used to watch gold rush and mining programmes on discovery channel. Real world mining is more interesting than crypto mining :)

Yes, real world mining is definitely more fun than crypto mining, especially in this bear market.

Geology is amazing and gold holds a special place in it.

Thanks for stopping by!

Very interesting post! Thank you for sharing both the photos and the information. And thank you for including this with #fridaysrock!!

Thanks Nat. I am a day ahead of you guys back in the States so I got a head start posting!

You are welcome to post on any day that works for you. You have some very interesting rocks!

Congratulations @rt395! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a beautiful rock! It makes me think I've thrown away many rocks that I am certain had gold specks in it...lots of iron ore here in the area too! Thanks for sharing this it's an absolute gem! @bitfiend

Thanks. It was difficult to part with it, but gold is plentiful compared to other minerals so I know I will acquire more specimens like it in the future.

You never know what is inside of quartz that is iron stained. Keep a loop handy!

so beautiful :)

One of the few things men and women can agree on I think 😂

Wonderful information! I had no idea about most of that. Beautiful photos of a fantastic specimen. Nominating to @C-Squared

Geology is pretty interesting. Kinda wish I had become one, but then maybe I would have hated it! Never stop learning!

Thanks as always Melinda.

The one person I know who became a geologist worked his entire career in the natural gas industry. Never did sound like my kind of geology! Steem is the best place for learning new things!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49