My Friday's Rock - 'exciting' limestone

in #fridaysrock6 years ago (edited)

limestone 2.JPG

Today, I'm bringing you a rock that I have had since my childhood. You're probably thinking how it looks like a pretty ordinary or even boring rock. I'm hoping you don't see the little lines or it will ruin the...

Surprise!

Back when a large sea covered much of Ontario, the sea floor became littered with the skeletons of marine organisms. Over time, this sediment, which contains both minerals and organic material, became cemented together. That's how sedimentary rock is formed.

You will often find skeletons in sedimentary rock but there isn't anything significant in this one. Something interesting about it is, as it was formed in layers, it fractured that way. I found this rock exactly as you see it, looking like it had been neatly sliced by someone. No doubt, water seeped into the layers and a winter freeze, or maybe more, expanded the water. It's difficult to believe water can cleave rock but it does.

This specimen is ordinary limestone, a type of sedimentary rock consisting of more than 50% calcium carbonate.

slices.JPG

This is my second post for #fridaysrock and the #rockhound tags. Join us!

References

Limestone
Sedimentary rock

Images

Photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

How lovely!!!
This is a really big surprise !!!
In my opinion, this is a very rare instance.
You did the right thing to save it, I think that it would be good to pass it by inheritance!

So much character for an ordinary rock! Thanks for sharing and a great backstory to go with it! @bitfiend


#rockhound is the tag for #rockhounds! Manually curated by @rockhounds / @bitfiend! Share your rocks!

I thought the lines were just part of the shape of the rock too. Thats amazing!

Thank you for joining #fridaysrock. I saw the lines, but I thought they were part of the rock. It is interesting how it slices in perfectly parallel lines without our help.

I have kept it all these years too. I have seen bigger ones with the straight cracks but never one that looked like sliced bread.

Congratulations @kansuze! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58