A BLACKOUT POEM FOR THE FRIDAY POETS POETRY EXCHANGE PRESENTED BY @prydefoltz

in #fridaypoets6 years ago

blackout.jpg

I am writing this blackout poem for entry into the FRIDAY POETS POETRY EXCHANGE. It is a new way for poets to interact with other poets in the community. Check it out.


The fiery woman in the red mask
would leave the knight for the kingdom.
Her way is life, she is quickly a slave,
a guest meant to sell.
The truth of it sharp knives,
and no cause but ill rule.
Her smile spit doubt of
a child left in sun and stars;
but a blind child now,
even the knight is power no more.


ORIGINAL BLACKED OUT PAGE



BLACKOUT POETRY is a form of word art where the poet uses an already established text and creates a new work by blacking out words till a poem is formed. Generally the subject of the original work has no connection to the subject of the poem. It is a challenging way to use your creative intuition. Give it a try and you will be amazed at what you can draw out of the words. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy creating it.

jfoff.jpg
nysteem2.jpg
jap2.jpg

Sort:  

Do I recognize Game of Thrones as the source material. A tale of warning about seeking power outside of self you have constructed. I love this form of inspiration:)

It is indeed Game Of Thrones. Nice recall on your reading material. I'll have to step up my game a bit. I'm going to start a 30 Day Blackout tomorrow and post at least one blackout poem everyday for the next 30. I'm trying to raise awareness of the style.

Can I make a suggestion ... why don't you wait until the 100 days of poetry is up and then you might get more people to join in with the challenge. I'd t join you but there is no way I could manage both. Think about it:)

This is pretty creative!👍👍👍

Thanks. I'm going to be running a thirty day blackout soon and at the end I am going to be announcing a contest based on the blackout poem. Would love to see you join in.

Sure! But I have to practice. I'm quite new at this. 😊

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord