The Art Of Waiting Like A Tree | #FreeWrite [Food To The Table]

in #freewritepoetrydigest6 years ago (edited)

As a child, I was taught to patiently wait,
For there's no other way if you want to be great;
So even how hard it will be for me,
I must master the art of waiting like a tree.



DFA36DBA-B672-4B0F-BC01-B71DE3C538F3.jpeg
source



But what they don't know I waited too much,
Much more than a child could grasp;
I waited for you every given time,
But you said ‘overtime’ is equal to additional dime.



I waited for you incessantly,
Like the first time I’d be performing in glee;
I waited for you fervently,
when you promised together we'll watch a movie.



I waited for you the other day to knock on my door,
Hoping you’ll ask why I'm bruised all over;
I waited to tell you what happened last Friday night,
For I wanted to tell you about a boy who always gives me a fright.


But you were never there...



I know you bring food to the table,
So therefore I should not grumble,
But you forgot I was alone—I am only a child,
More than food I need love and someone who'll guide.


It would be too easy to say that I feel invisible. Instead, I feel painfully visible, and entirely ignored.—David Levithan



* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Is something missing in the poem? Look likes not completed. The emotions are missing.

Thanks for your comment sir.

Unfortunately it can be that parents are so busy providing material comforts that they forget the mental support kids often crave.

It's your Wednesday prompt delivery team here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-265-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-basics

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

That's how I see it too. kids are now easily ignored.
Thank you @deirdyweirdy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16