Potbellied Jones

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago

Dear Africa,

I hear your sorrowful moans in my sleep
your scars are ones that run generations deep
in your genesis white scavengers outran your own
then dropped you at the hands of potbellied jones.

Their itchy fat greedy abusive hands
extend the violations of your colonizers' demands
as you weather undocumented raging civil wars
further decapitating your chance to finally soar.

Your deserts are run by restless ghosts
freedom fighters who fought what the west boasts
dragging their shame-tainted simple armory
yearning to come back to fight this gluttony.

I feel your black bones disturbingly cracking
under the Wakanda pressure blasting
from those who don't know your half-buried truth
as the common man pays for your stolen youth.

My enchanting vast motherland
I am whispering good things for your grab
as I beg the universe to heal your defiled soil
make spreading love an everyday spoil.

May your people find their vote
before the potbellied jones even note
you will be back in the hands of those
born to lead your resourceful masses.

africa-737977_640.jpg

Malucmw, Pixabay.

This piece was inspired by @deaconlee's today prompt hosted by the ever amazing @mariannewest of the @freewritehouse :)

PS: You guys @freewritehouse should give me a link to your freewrite house banner. Please :D

Thank you for coming.

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

And I really want you to join the Isle of Write discord and share some of your poetry there :)

I'm not much of an expert on poetry, but I really do think that one was well-done! That was very moving.

We all understand poetry... We are all poets given a chance to reflect heavily. Thank you so much for your kind words :)

Your poetry is powerful.

You humble me Kim :)

The power and pain coupled with hope in desire speak volumes, my dear. Excellent poetry. Hugs!

This love that you keep piling on me is appreciated :)

Thank you so very much beautiful!

You are an amazing poetess, my dear. The love is just what you are getting back for all you give. <3

In a word your poetry is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

Oh my... thank you so :)

You've been featured in our Freewrite Favorites post this week! Thank you for being such a great part of our writing community.

<300freewriteFavorites2-VOL.png

Your poem reminded me that even in my home country, Poland, there are quite a few successfull personalities coming from Africa. There is John Godson, two terms MP, pastor, scientist, who after many years in Poland came back to Nigeria to establish prospering agricultural company.

There is Killion Munyama, another two terms Polish MP, also professor of economics at various Polish universities, originally from Zambia.

And there is obviously Patrick Yoka, Nigerian behind one of the most successfull sitcoms in Poland in last two decades Świat według Kiepskich .

My reflections were based on their greed not where they choose to develop. Thank you for your read.

Of course!!!

<center>[![Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png](https://steemitimages.com/DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe/Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png)](https://steemit.com/@freewritehouse)
<center><sub>Click the graphic to join in the fun!</sub></center><div id="DAB4FAD8-2DD7-40BB-A1B8-4E2AA1F9FDF2"><br />
`

`

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Appreciated :)

You got a 25.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tezmel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44