5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: describe a clock

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago (edited)

freewrites.png

Tick tock describe a clock.
In the dark, to the floor you knock.

Many sizes and many shapes.
The deathly alarm you cannot shake.

No ignoring as you wish.
Thus said clock will fly like a dish.

Far away or so near, their
annoying sound the kids do fear.

You hit that snooze a dozen times.

20 minutes later, time you did waste.
You jump out of bed in due haste.

Out the door and in the car.
Rushing through traffic with breakneck speed.
One of these days, a new job you will need.

All because of a stupid clock.

..
I seem to always hit that snooze about 4-5 times before I finally crawl of out my warm bed. But, on my days off, I wake around the same time, without the alarm. How the heck does that even happen? Yet another reason I would so much rather work from home. Wake up refreshed, and less stress.

Sort:  

Can't be healthy to be startled awake every morning! :O

I'd throw mine across the room too, if I had one.

Many a good time to power up that steem you have, and convert the SBD to Steem. You can get about 52 Steem for those 49 SBD. Hopefully Steem will turn around soon, and you'll have it in steem power, ready to make more curation on your votes, plus the bit of daily interest it collects. :)

I hope in 2019 you can work from home!

I know what you mean. I work from home so the only day I need to set an alarm is Saturday when we have to be at the food market by 9am. Friday night I can never sleep. Every other night I sleep soundly.
Your Wednesday prompt delivery team here again with your challenge for today:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-328-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-screening

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Your poem is so true. I love this part.

No ignoring as you wish.
Thus said clock will fly like a dish.

I wonder how our alarm clocks still work after the beating we give them. I agree that alarms suck. : )

Yep, but what is even worse is, when you are on vacation and wake all of a sudden. You look at your clock, fly out of bed in a panic, thinking you're late for work. 5 minutes later, when you about head out the door, you realize you're on vacation. Or that its the weekend.

I can really relate... I have several alarms built into my morning routine just in case I miss or shut off the first two. LOL we just don't like to get up on alarms.

Lol, I hear ya. I use my cell phone alarm because it is so loud. My regular alarm clock I seemed to have tuned out. I reset my Fitbit, so I have that too. It scares the crud out of me to feel it buzzing on my wrist. Idk if that's actually worse than hearing an alarm, lol. Wish steem would hurry up and go back up. Makes me sad when my vote is just a penny. :(

Me too! My vote is 2 cents so I'm voting the posts of people who comment on my posts rather than have the comment vote be a dust vote!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, good idea. Yeah it sucks. At least it is still fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57954.26
ETH 3049.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27