The Old Rag (Freewrite Prompt: Washcloth)

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago

The Old Rag

Have you ever felt so worn?
soaked and barely together?
so soggy, so heavy, so tired
thrown around until you surrender?

A washcloth made to be used
filled with holes that just keep stretching
used to catch their bullets
only to be tossed on the wood they are burning?

Thrown into fire and thrown into water
this is the price I pay
but this I guess, I should be thankful for
for an old rag can simply be thrown away.


Thanks to @mariannewest for this free write prompt.


Sort:  

This has got so many levels to it... And I'm rereading it a couple of times to pull some more of the import. Great job with that freewrite!

Thank you so much!!

Amazing poem @emms, causing me into some deep thoughts.

Alright, I am delivering the next prompt to you, check it out! It is 'Sour'

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45