Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-Two

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

poetry Digest.jpg

Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-Two

Welcome back to our poetry digest brought to you by @wandrnrose7. Fall has come to Pennsylvania and with it crisp, cool air and shorter days. I am happy to see freewriters busy writing and recommending other freewriters poems and freewrites at @freewritehouse. Don't forget to drop your recommendations for the Recommend Your Favorite Poetry for the opportunity to win upvotes. @curie is also donating. Here is what we are offering.

Participants are going to win the following:

2 winners for a 100% upvote from the Freewrite House (at the time of posting ~ 0.08)

One participant will win:

7 days of one 100% upvote per day.

2 winners will get 1 SBI each sponsored by @curie.

Winners are chosen by a random drawing.

If you like what we are doing and would like to contribute to future prize(s)for this poetry initiative please leave a link below or message @mariannwest. We love rewarding great writing! Look for the contest post starting on Tuesdays.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

In honor of the advent of fall, I am sharing a bonus prompt for this week. Let's see how many poems we can write using change of seasons. It can be used in conjunction with any other freewrite prompt or alone. Just link this digest link and #freewritepoetry.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

@saulos recommends a poem using the freewrite prompt sour by @lilimacías;

An essential part of a poem is to convey a feeling, to make the reader feel a series of sensations, it should go further than the rhyme and the words chosen with great care, it most show its vocation. When I read the freewrite of @lilimacías my heart stirred and experienced the bitterness she tries to transmit, so much that it became a lump in the throat.

As I commented to her in her post, just few times a writing manages to provoke a reflection that touches the heart of the reader, what she wrote has the efficiency of a poem, even though it was not the intention according to the tags she used.

That is why I humbly ask that her post be considered in the value it has.
Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.39.35 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

@wonderwop found a gem of a poem using freewrite kitby @moofang

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.43.29 PM.png

I found this poem by @moofang on the prompt kit that got me thinking about writing. Sometimes the stories just flow through your mind, and sometimes we just stare at the screen trying to figure out where to go with the story. If they were just included in a writing kit with everything included, it would be so much easier to write. Good job @moofang.

this post is past payout, please upvote a different post.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

I am really impressed by this poem by @emms. I was hooked on the leading line:

"Have you ever felt so worn?
soaked and barely together?"

I feel the exhaustion of a spirit that has tried and tried...sometimes you just feel like the water runs through you.
The comparison of a person to a washcloth was very interesting and I believe the writer has a deep understanding of suffering and trial.
Another interesting line:

"A washcloth made to be used
filled with holes that just keep stretching"

This line is multi-layered and could denote spiritual growth through trial. The poem a was very creative use of washcloths

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.45.34 PM.png

Definitely worth reading and rereading!

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

This freewrite poem comes to us as a prompt poem using death on the table by @wonderwop. In few words the author hits home what it must feel like when we are looking at declining health. Death is inevitable for us all, but some of us are forced to experience terrible pain and isolation. Well done, Bruni.

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.46.29 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

I enjoyed the light and whimsical nature of a poem penned by @improv prompted by the word sour. True to the free flow of a freewrite it takes the reader on a fun journey exploring this prompt and making the reader think along the way and smile!

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.47.11 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

This poem created by the prompt sour hits close to home. How devastating when a relationship takes a twist from love to jealousy and unkindness. The author shares deep wisdom.
"You lost yourself just to be the one you thought he wanted.
When in reality you give up the YOU he actually opted."

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.47.51 PM.png

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

The search for a life partner can take a lifetime. @larryparra writes a poem using the prompt sour to describe the longing and hope that the perfect woman will come into his life and still that ache of the heart.

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 3.48.26 PM.png

Google Translate

I do not know yet how to find you

I do not know where to look for you yet, I do not know how to find you yet.
I wait for you everywhere, I never found you because you were not there.
I'm sure you were, but not what my beloved is.
Surely you are very close but I do not know how to locate you, I do not know where to travel to find my beloved.
To feel a desolation, when I do not find what I was looking for, is a bitter feeling when I did not find you, you were not there anymore.

I sour my awakening when I look for you and you are not, because I do not know where to place you, while I just walked alone I said when thinking where you will be my beloved
I sour my dawn in this cold bed, since I always thought, if that woman exists, one day she will be my beloved.
Walking I search, between corridors and knots, looking for every moment in the middle of a trap with only spider webs.
I sour this moment, when I always regret where my beloved will be, because not yet ...

I still have that lament, some presentiment that you are at this moment, but I do not know where I am. Lost in a long time without getting that beloved, surely she is but I do not get the way I only ask destiny to know my beloved.

Copy of 800px × 50px – Untitled Design.png

I hope you enjoyed these poems. If the poem is past payout, please find a recent post to share a vote and comment to support these lovely poets!

A vote on an expired post does go back to the reward pool and has no benefit to you or the author.

expired post.png


Please tag us with #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry so that we can find your work!! Remember to link us to the original freewrite prompt. If you see a piece of freewrite poetry of a fellow freewriter which really speaks to you, leave us a link in the comments - or better yet, save the link and enter it in the Friday Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

Happy poetic writing!

Poetry.png

Remember to recommend a fellow Freewrite Poet and Win SBI

Every Week, we have a recommend a Freewrite Poem contest at the Freewrite House. All you need to do is keep track of your favorite Freewrite poets and leave a comment with at least 50 words telling us about the poem.

We have a random drawing for SBI membership(s) - depending on how many sponsors we have - and also for several 100% upvotes.

Your comment always gets a 20% upvote - you win and win and win by participating!!

Poetry.png

We Welcome Sponsors for our Contests!!!

  • Please consider sponsoring one of our contests. We so much appreciate this and so do all the Freewriters. If you sponsor SBI - you know that you also benefit.
  • Or you can send us Steem or SBD with instructions how you would like it to be used - or leave it up to us.
  • Your name will be mentioned in many of our posts and in the Daily Prompt.
  • Our collective gratefulness will follow you around 😂

Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • AdoptMe - Monday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI - Every other Wednesday
  • Freewrite Favorites - Thursday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem - and Win SBI - Tuesday - Saturday
  • Over 20 Club - Saturday
  • Poetry Digest - Sunday

Ol53yrO.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Thank you for featuring my poem, I don't write alotta them, but hanging with my brother during his treatment, kinda inspired me.

How is your brother doing?

He's finished with his chemo and radiation, but he's not eating and drinking much because everything tastes like cardboard. So he's been having to sit through hydration weekly. 🙏

Oh - that is when the discipline comes in. I totally get it because I didn't even like coffee anymore!! and I have been in love with coffee all my life... But you have to treat food as medicine. Give him healthy stuff :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 114 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much for including my poem!! It means so much to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54