Day 40- Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> ERIS Goddess of Discord

in #freewritehousecontest6 years ago (edited)

Eris Goddess of Discord


image (8).jpg


My name is Eris, but you can call me Discordia, I am a Greek Goddess. Daughter of Nyx meaning Night. I of course, was the cause of the Trojan War, and why not? They deserved it and I have an insatiable desire for bloodshed.

Some people say I am the spirit of Strife, and I would agree. When I was not invited to the wedding of Peleus and Thetis I threw a golden apple with the words "to the fairest" inscribed on it. Three laid claim to that apple; Hedus, Aphrodite, and Athena.

Homer wrote about me in the Iliad, and typically after battle I stay and rejoicing over the chaos I created. Hesiod also wrote about me, a fine poem that gave me credit for being the mother of all of man's misfortunes. What a delight!

Virgil called me Discordia, my rightful name as I move through battlefields relishing the slaughter and causing more pain where I may go. Especially, if there is a happily married couple then I am there to cause strife and discord. How I love watching a good argument.

If there is a competition amongst men, be sure I am right there to cause the spirit of competition, anger, jealousy, and a violence. So, if you are like me and love strife then remember my name and call on me -- I will come to you in an instant.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image

Sort:  

Wow! You wrote an amazing and informative piece. I love the awesome selfie, too!

@wandrnrose7 hey thanks sooo soo much! i appreciate that a lot coming from you. :)

Hugs <3 I admire you.

@wandrnrose7 i admire you more ... you have gone through a lot in the past week. mucho hugs.

What up with that weird comment that doesn't have a reply button. So weird.
How do we keep the goddess away from us :)

edit: it is just a long comment with nothing in it. Crazy....

@mariannewest i have no idea but it freaked me out a little bit ...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Very cool art...and loved the mythology lesson.

@fetherhd hey thanks so much! i appreciate that a lot. :)

And here I was thinking that ginabot was the goddess of discord. Well I've been schooled now for sure.

@warpedpoetic hehe yeah she kinda is but more AI thank a goddess ... she secretly wants to be a goddess tho.

You have been featured in this week's Freewrite Favorites Volume #13 by @freewritehouse

THUMBfreewriteFavorites2-VOL.png

Congratulations! Keep up the great writing!

@freewritehouse wow this is sooo awesome and thank you!! woot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52