Eating in captivity: Day 11 of the Freewrite Party Contest

in #freewritecontest6 years ago

This is part 11 of my freewrite series for the 200 Day Freewrite Party Contest.


The familiarity of the scene struck me. I searched for memories but they wouldn't come. It felt like they were just out of my reach like a glass on the top shelf of the kitchen cabinet.

Experimentally I tried moving my legs more deliberately. I felt whatever force was holding them grow tighter with each movement so I stopped. Instead I looked around the rest of the room.

The wall I faced was made of glass, but beyond it was just more white walls. There was no obvious door, but I knew that someone would enter to my left - eventually.

Strangely I felt calm about being there. I knew I was in no danger, though I didn't know how I knew. I also knew I was hungry. My stomach rumbled in agreement.

Just then part of the wall to my left slid aside. A small humanoid creature entered carrying a tray with some sort of food on it.

We're happy to know you still have an appetite, I heard in my head. The creature looked up at me expectantly and held out the tray. Its eyes and tone of voice - the one in my head - were kind and caring.

I took the tray and ate.


Image is mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66