You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 49: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: mosquitos

in #freewrite7 years ago

I lived overseas twice, Tokyo and Athens.

In Tokyo, the mosquitos behaved as you'd expected them to. They bit me continually during the summer and I hated them (as a zoology graduate, I had to respect them, though).

In Athens, they were so much worse. Not in the number of attacks, I was bitten much less frequently there. It was just that my flat's mosquito nets had a few holes in them and a few too many got into my apartment at night. And when I slept, they would always attack my ears. They were fucking terrors. It would get so bad that I would wake up at night dreaming that I'd heard one flying in for a bite. And the room would be empty of them. I had great memories of both cities but boy, I know which I preferred when it came to the native mosquitoes.

Went to Mexico for a holiday this year and wore a band on both wrists. Didn't get bit once! :D

Sort:  

I live in Wisconsin, USA, and near water so I know what you are talking about!!
We go camping too and if one get's in the tent at night!!!! you never sleep!

Thank you for your great story!!! You made me smile reading it as I was right there with you as they ARE

fucking terrors.

and Mexico sounds much nicer! :D

Thank you for reading and commenting on my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51