Freewrite | Front door

in #freewrite6 years ago



📷

Dammit! It's very late, and I left my keys at home again. After a frantic search through my pockets, I don't have many options but to sit in front of my door until my roommate arrives. Here I am, the back against the wall, legs crossed, on the dirty hallway floor; staring at the wooden hurdle. Behind it, a meal and a bed await me. Fucking keys!

On the smudges, I see faces. On the carving, unpleasant figures. As my eyes wander over the imperfections of the door's wood, I remember a poem I read a long time ago. I have to admit; I had a few more beers than I should have, so rambling is to be expected. Where was I? The poem. It is about a person that goes out at night to take the trash but a current shuts the door, and he happened to have left the keys inside. What a loser, right? Just like me.

It turns out that the poor guy was a philosopher without knowing it. There, having been left out, he realizes something huge. Death must feel just like that; you're alone and helpless in the dark, with the trash in your hand, hearing the happy voices of the rest. And you can't do a fucking thing.


Era uno de esos días en que todo sale bien.
Había limpiado la casa y escrito
dos o tres poemas que me gustaban.
No pedía más.

Entonces salí al pasillo para tirar la basura
y detrás de mí, por una correntada,
la puerta se cerró.
Quedé sin llaves y a oscuras
sintiendo las voces de mis vecinos
a través de sus puertas.
Es transitorio, me dije;
pero así también podría ser la muerte:
un pasillo oscuro,
una puerta cerrada con la llave adentro
la basura en la mano.

📖 - Fabián Casas (Argentina, 1965)


Thank you, @mariannewest, for another #freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is describe your front door. To learn more and take part go here.


Sort:  

Wow, nice freewrite! You write really well. :)
Ill have to read your other writings.
I really need to get into this freewrite thing.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it and would love if you read some of my other posts. ♥ Of course you should join the freewrite thing! You'll be great at it.

Ho ho ho! Thanks for stopping by, Uncle Bruni :)

Congratulations @zoexantelamv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 comments. Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Zoe Anavid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47