The Phone Call

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

desk-hand-girl-technology-vintage-retro-816635-pxhere.com.jpg

The desk phone rang, which is weird because no one calls the desk phone. It's a landline and so many people carry mobile phones. I let it ring a few times to reminisce. Mom used to call me in college on my roommate's phone. The one we "borrowed" so we didn't have to pay the monthly bill. He hated us. Anyway, the phone rang a few more times before I picked it up.

"Hello."

"Yes, I'm trying to find Rick."

It could have been worse. It might have been a telemarketer. But, this voice sounded almost lost and scared.

"I'm afraid you must have dialed the wrong number."

"Oh, that's no good. I need to tell Rick his mom died."

"That's sad. When did she die?"

"Yesterday. She died in the hospice where I work. Cancer."

"Wow. What number are you trying to reach?"

She hesitantly read off the number. She had transposed the last two digits. Still, I could feel she needed someone to talk to.

"Did you know her long?"

"Five months. She was a real special lady."

"And Rick. How does he know her?"

"That's her son. She always spoke highly of him. She had a picture. Well, I guess now I have a picture. He has a sweet face."

"Still, tough news. When you call him back tell him something about his mom. I'm sure that will make it easier."

"She said they were apart because she didn't like his wife. But she always said he was her loving boy. He brought her flowers on her birthday. "

"That should make him smile."

"I'm sure he will be sad by this news. I will tell him how much she loved him."

I hung up the phone. I picked up the picture of me and my mom holding birthday flowers. A tear rolled down my cheek.

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Photo: Pxhere

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I enjoyed that, and now want to know if she told him??
So? ;)

It was a five-minute-freewrite, so I sort of just finished. I thought about making him Rick; but I needed more time to sort it out.

Very touching!

A moving tale indeed. Sad but heart-warming at the same time.
It’s your Wednesday prompt delivery person here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-244-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wood

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76